Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2010, 01:27 AM   #1
rehpotsirhc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
iMac G4 as a display/monitor?

Hey I have an old iMac G4 and I was wondering if I could just use the screen somehow since I don't need to use it as a computer? Could I use it like a TV to play xbox or something? thanks!
rehpotsirhc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 01:31 AM   #2
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Unfortunately the older iMacs cannot be used by another device as a monitor.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 02:52 AM   #3
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
This is probably about as close as you can get. http://www.screenrecycler.com/ScreenRecycler.html
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 03:48 AM   #4
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
I've got the same sort of question.
I have a MBP running Snow Leopard and a TiBook G4 running Tiger. I want to use the PB as a second display.
Would screen recycler even work?
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 08:08 AM   #5
d88co88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
I've got the same sort of question.
I have a MBP running Snow Leopard and a TiBook G4 running Tiger. I want to use the PB as a second display.
Would screen recycler even work?
Yep, it will lag a little but it would work.
__________________
A bunch of Macs, some audio equipment, and an iPhone.
d88co88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 08:27 AM   #6
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by d88co88 View Post
Yep, it will lag a little but it would work.
Doesn't seem to matter anymore as my TiBook seems to have suddenly died on me
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 11:02 AM   #7
SkippyThorson
macrumors 65816
 
SkippyThorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Utica, NY
Send a message via AIM to SkippyThorson
This looks like an interesting way to use 2 iMacs in harmony. Man, I love those displays. No G4 gets left behind. I may try it.
__________________
Skippy Thorson @ Blogspot
AT&T iPhone 5, T-Mobile iPad 4, all sorts of iPods, TV2
2.4ghz '08 Al. MacBook, 2.4ghz '10 Mac Mini, Al. 20" Cinema, iBook & iMac G4s, AEBS
SkippyThorson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
display, imac, re use, screen, xbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is the imac native display (monitor) hdcp compliant?? blue21 iMac 0 Mar 29, 2014 08:43 PM
Which monitor for mini : Playstation 3D display or LG IPS 27" display Stitch30 Mac mini 0 Nov 24, 2012 11:55 AM
Use iMac as Monitor or Sell iMac and Buy new monitor? gdeputy iMac 2 Nov 15, 2012 04:33 PM
Adding Thunderbolt to iMac for dual monitor display iloveaapl iMac 2 Oct 9, 2012 03:14 AM
Can I use an Apple Thunderbolt Display as a second monitor for an iMac 2011? Buffsteria iMac 0 Jun 14, 2012 09:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC