Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2010, 07:55 PM   #1
tuna9720
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Using "mark up" and "annotate" tools in Preview

Those options are not selectable and I can't make it to work.




What should I do, any ideas?
tuna9720 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 07:59 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Press Shift + Command + A to enable the Annotation Tool, then you can use those items.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 08:02 PM   #3
tuna9720
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks man , but there seems nothing assigned to that shortcut.
Still nothing happens.
tuna9720 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 08:06 PM   #4
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna9720 View Post
Thanks man , but there seems nothing assigned to that shortcut.
Still nothing happens.
You have Mac OS X 10.5.x Leopard I guess?

I just tried it on an older Mac OS X 10.5.5 MP with a PDF and it seems you have to select the text first to actually use the Mark tool. But the Annotate tools were not greyed out on that Mac though.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 08:13 PM   #5
tuna9720
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Yeah I'm on a 10.5 Leopard.

I found this on another website; you have to open "Customize Toolbar" from the "View" menu at the top. And then add the "Annotate" icon to the menu bar. From there I can use that tool now.

It's still grayed out when I manually try to open it from the "Tool" menu though.

Anyway; it's working now.

Thank you again..
tuna9720 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 08:16 PM   #6
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna9720 View Post
Yeah I'm on a 10.5 Leopard.

I found this on another website; you have to open "Customize Toolbar" from the "View" menu at the top. And then add the "Annotate" icon to the menu bar. From there I can use that tool now.

It's still grayed out when I manually try to open it from the "Tool" menu though.

Anyway; it's working now.

Thank you again..
Yeah, I forgot about the customisation option, as I instinctively seem to put that icon there after a fresh installation, though I think the icon is standard in Snow Leopard, as I don't remember putting it there last week (fresh, clean install on new SSD).

Not glad it worked though, wanted you to talk into upgrading your OS or deleting some files or using Terminal or whatever I can not think of.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot "Save As" in Preview (10.7) theelysium Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 72 Apr 4, 2014 12:37 AM
How to print black and white/ grayscale in Preview iCe Cube Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 May 16, 2013 06:14 PM
switching between media types in preview top bar in Apple TV 2 ringonbob Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jul 14, 2011 05:17 PM
Any Beat Makers Using Fruity Loops And Pro Tools Users?? shauna1983 MacBook Pro 14 Dec 29, 2007 08:00 AM
Cache wiping and privacy tools in general scoot Product Recommendations/Reviews 3 Jul 24, 2004 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC