Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2005, 06:31 AM   #1
northen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
PowerMac G5 drive install without screws?

Is there any way to install a S-ATA drive in a PowerMac G5 computer without using screws? There are none in the bay, and I can't find them on Apple's site (they are probably real expensive anyway)

So, is it possible?
__________________
PM G5| Dual 2GHz, 4 GB RAM, 76 GB WD Raptor, 250 GB Maxtor, Radeon 9600 XT
iBook G4 | 1.0 GHz, 12", 768 MB RAM
northen is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 07:26 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I thought that it used drive rails. There should be a spare set cunningly hidden in the spare drive bay...
robbieduncan is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 07:34 AM   #3
Jo-Kun
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Antwerp-Belgium
I just checked, the 4 spare screws are next to the fan behind the optical drive (so on the left when you look straight at the harddrivebays...)

if you don't have them hmmz was your mac build on a mondaymorning or fridayevening?? because normally the come with them

if you go to a toolshop they probably can give you 4 screws for it (just take one from the original drive to find the right ones)

probably you can just put it in there without screws, the latch will hold it on its place I guess but it will be sitting on the plastic, so see if your drive don't get too hot

its not portable so there should be no problem puting it loose in there, with screws its more secure off course...

J
__________________
G5 2x1.8Ghz,CrapBook CoreDuo,Macmini 1.5G4;iPod 3g 30GB,Shuffle 1GB,Nano 8GB;iPod Touch 2nd gen 8GB; iPad 16GB;AirPort Extreme-Nhttp://www.jovdm.be

Last edited by Jo-Kun; Jan 15, 2005 at 07:38 AM.
Jo-Kun is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 07:53 AM   #4
northen
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Yeah, found them. All the stores are closed now, but i'll be able to buy one on monday and then install it Thanks
__________________
PM G5| Dual 2GHz, 4 GB RAM, 76 GB WD Raptor, 250 GB Maxtor, Radeon 9600 XT
iBook G4 | 1.0 GHz, 12", 768 MB RAM
northen is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 07:57 AM   #5
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by northen
Yeah, found them. All the stores are closed now, but i'll be able to buy one on monday and then install it Thanks
All the stores are closed on a Saturday? It's been ages since I was in Denmark, but is this normal?
robbieduncan is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 08:04 AM   #6
northen
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan
All the stores are closed on a Saturday? It's been ages since I was in Denmark, but is this normal?
Most smaller data/hw stores close at 13 (on saturdays mind you). Larger stores at 16, but larger stores typically sell only PATA drives :/ I could buy a splitter cable, so I get a PATA drive, but... meh :P
__________________
PM G5| Dual 2GHz, 4 GB RAM, 76 GB WD Raptor, 250 GB Maxtor, Radeon 9600 XT
iBook G4 | 1.0 GHz, 12", 768 MB RAM
northen is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 08:08 AM   #7
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I'm glad you found the sliders. Installing the 2nd drive on a PowerMac G5 is the easiest part install I've ever done on a computer, ever. As easy or easier than any RAM installation I've done, and much less potential for problems. Apple did an fantastic engineering job on the case.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:33 AM   #8
3Memos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by northen
Is there any way to install a S-ATA drive in a PowerMac G5 computer without using screws? There are none in the bay, and I can't find them on Apple's site (they are probably real expensive anyway)

So, is it possible?
Yes, I believe you don't need screws to install the SATA HD. Just slide it in, and turn down a lever to hold it in place. You would need to install the rubber feet on the side of the harddrive so you can slide it in. It also acts as a rubber mount to isolate noise and vibration.
3Memos is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:58 AM   #9
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Memos
Yes, I believe you don't need screws to install the SATA HD. Just slide it in, and turn down a lever to hold it in place. You would need to install the rubber feet on the side of the harddrive so you can slide it in. It also acts as a rubber mount to isolate noise and vibration.
Exactly. No tools required. Two minutes.

Edit: useful link here.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How essential are the hard drive screws? (SSD installation) SteelBlueTJ Mac mini 14 Oct 9, 2013 02:08 AM
How can I install ubuntu on PowerMac G5 spudtatoe Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Sep 21, 2013 04:56 AM
Anybody know what length these screws are? (inside near hard drive) rob5 MacBook Pro 0 Apr 10, 2013 05:26 PM
MAC PRO drive bays - screws included ? joecool99 Mac Pro 3 Mar 27, 2013 12:51 AM
Powermac G5 processor install Navare PowerPC Macs 2 Feb 11, 2013 05:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC