Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2010, 06:14 PM   #1
MuseumVisitor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
How to Create A Closed Network (SSID)?

Hi All,

I'm trying to set up my new Apple TV.

In my Airport Utility I have assigned Apple TV's MAC address and I have unchecked "Create A Closed Network" (SSID Broadcast) so that my privileged Apple TV can be recognize by my router. After I see that everything seems to be working fine, I have deselected "Create a closed network" option, but then my Apple TV is not able to recognize my hidden network anymore.

This is not the case with any of my other devices iPhone, iPad or MacPower Book. Even if I take my iPhone out, of course it looses the connection, but when I get back home it automatically sees and signs me into my not broadcasted wifi.

Am I doing something wrong or its impossible to have Apple TV to work with a hidden network?

Thanks in advance
MuseumVisitor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 10:03 AM   #2
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
does it reconnect if you unhide?

I've read in a few places that hidden networks really don't give you that much, anyone one that could possibly hack your network, would just as easily be able to find a hidden one.

as long as you have a secure WPA password (WEP is easily broken, and don't use a password like "password") You're about as safe as you can be with wireless.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 10:06 AM   #3
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
all its doing is not broadcasting your SSID, as long as you type in the name of the network to join and the correct passphrase, it should work.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 11:53 AM   #4
MuseumVisitor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks guys for trying.

I do have WPA2 encryption applied. Yes, it does reconnect if the network is not hidden.

But, once I turn the SSID off, my ATV2 is not seeing the network anymore.
This is not the case with other Apple devices which are all seeing my closed network.

Why is this different with Apple TV?
MuseumVisitor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 12:09 PM   #5
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuseumVisitor View Post
Thanks guys for trying.

I do have WPA2 encryption applied. Yes, it does reconnect if the network is not hidden.

But, once I turn the SSID off, my ATV2 is not seeing the network anymore.
This is not the case with other Apple devices which are all seeing my closed network.

Why is this different with Apple TV?

weird, I dont broadcast my SSID and dont have a problem with my ATV1's or ATV2's


it does have to be typed EXACTLY as its setup as in apple tv.

not broadcasting it really offers no security except for the fact that if someone is just looking to use wifi, they will go to the neighbors house and use theirs if the fruit is hanging low enough so to speak. wpa can also be cracked in a very short time with the right tools, so just something to keep in the back of your head...
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 12:47 PM   #6
MuseumVisitor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Maybe its just psychological with me, but I feel better when my signal is not broadcasted (although it protects from those who are not so swift with breaking in).

I have entered exactly the same info into my ATV2, but once the broadcasting is closed, it does not see it anymore. If I turn the broadcasting on, it sees it. As soon as its off again, its not recognizing it....

If anyone had the same problem, please let me know how you resolved it.
MuseumVisitor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Tags
appletv, broadcast, closed, network, ssid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown Network SSID showing theslaz Mac Peripherals 6 Dec 22, 2013 08:17 AM
How do I create a wireless network? MacNoobGuy Mac Basics and Help 10 Aug 28, 2013 11:03 AM
All devices switch to another network's router but remain on my SSID pullman Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Dec 28, 2012 09:37 PM
Browsing Public Wi-Fi network: Saffari suddenly closed; everything all right? doxavita iPod touch 3 Sep 29, 2012 08:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC