Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

What should I do?

• MacBook pro 2010 13"

Votes: 4 13.3%
  • MacBook pro 2011 13"

Votes: 3 10.0%
  • MacBook air 13"

Votes: 16 53.3%
  • MacBook 13"

Votes: 10 33.3%

• Total voters

Jdstew1234

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 24, 2010
Should I purchase a MacBook air 13"? I currently have a 24" 2.66 core 2 duo iMac, a 16 gigabyte iPad and cannot decide between the MacBook Air or MacBook Pro. I am a high school student and can go as high as $1499. I would use the laptop for Photoshop, programming, video watching, ilife suite usage, abelton, Microsoft office. Since I am a student weight is an option. What is your opinion? (I would wait for the updated mbp )

bestestever

macrumors newbie
Nov 22, 2010
Macbook is the most durable for a high school student, i am a H.s student, i take mine everywhere.. Plastic holds up better, doesnt dent or ding..

verity

macrumors member
Aug 1, 2007
MBA holds up the best. Macbook plastic scratches and cracks and discolors. MBA tossed in between a bunch of books won't develop any keyboard impressions on the screen (possibility with a macbook), and will be the lightest least noticeable addition to your bag. Well worth it, IMO. No need to wait, make it a Christmas gift :)

silverblack

macrumors 68030
Nov 27, 2007
Aluminum can easily dents and dings, and scratches to give those deep grooves. It's much less durable than the white polycarbonate in my opinion. Also being thinner, I'm not surprised if the whole thing warp when tossed around with books.

ReallyBigFeet

macrumors 68030
Apr 15, 2010
I wish I had that kind of money when I was in HS. I remember working my ass off all summer long so I could afford to buy an Atari 800 (yeah, this was a looooong time ago).