Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2010, 09:11 PM   #1
lucaspkm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Printopia

Hi guys,

Wanted to check with you guys will printopia works with xserve OS 10.6.5, I have try open up ports and sharing on the server it seems the same can't print any idea to solve the issue and make it work on servers?
lucaspkm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2010, 10:30 PM   #2
bigbearf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Printopia and Mac Mini Server Works

I have a 2009 MMS and Printopia works just fine. It found my wireless HP printer and scanner and works like a charm. Just installed it and enabled the settings under System Preferences.
bigbearf
bigbearf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 12:04 AM   #3
lucaspkm
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbearf View Post
I have a 2009 MMS and Printopia works just fine. It found my wireless HP printer and scanner and works like a charm. Just installed it and enabled the settings under System Preferences.
bigbearf
you mean it work with snow leopard server edition OS
lucaspkm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 11:41 AM   #4
etchtech09
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I just tried to use Printopia here on my network (running G5 10.5 Server) but I ran into an issue where my wireless network and wired network are on different subnets and bonjour doesn't play nicely over subnets.

I have also had issues with different wireless routers that don't allow bonjour to have communication between wired devices and wireless devices, even on the same subnet.

Either of these two problems could be ailing you, at least worth checking out.
etchtech09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 01:29 AM   #5
lucaspkm
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by etchtech09 View Post
I just tried to use Printopia here on my network (running G5 10.5 Server) but I ran into an issue where my wireless network and wired network are on different subnets and bonjour doesn't play nicely over subnets.

I have also had issues with different wireless routers that don't allow bonjour to have communication between wired devices and wireless devices, even on the same subnet.

Either of these two problems could be ailing you, at least worth checking out.
well i allow all the ports and our subnet is the same wired nor wireless and still unable to print with printopia through the servers, however is able to work with a normal mac system which runs on 10.6.5 with printopia installed. just trying to make the server host that service but no matter how hard i try just can't seem to make it work.
lucaspkm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Printopia work with Lion? wolfpackfan Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Jun 26, 2011 02:17 PM
Printopia...will it be obsolete? thibaulthalpern iPad Apps 6 May 5, 2011 05:12 PM
Ipad doesn't recognize my printer still (with printopia installed) jlyanks85 iPad 13 Nov 25, 2010 01:31 PM
MacBook pro taking long to sleep after installing Printopia. fel10 MacBook Pro 1 Nov 23, 2010 05:32 AM
Printopia issue and iPad Richard8655 iPad 7 Nov 22, 2010 10:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC