Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:09 AM   #1
dvboy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
New 5-row keyboard available for IOS4!

Just came down on Cydia,its called "5-Row Keyboard iOS4".With this keyboard it has an extra row,so an additional key is not needed to get to the numbers.

dvboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:13 AM   #2
WesCole
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Too bad no one seems to be able to make one without using Winterboard, though. It's a great idea, but I don't really want to install Winterboard just for this.
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro, Anti-Glare Hi-Res, 2.4 i5 128 GB SSD & 500GB HDD in optibay; iPhone 5 32GB; ATV3; 2011 Core i7 27" iMac 2GB VRAM; "New" iPad 32GB AT&T 4G; 2012 MacBook Air 13", i7, 8GB, 256GB
WesCole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 12:58 PM   #3
lshirase
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
works great, thanks op.
lshirase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 02:00 PM   #4
milamber
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WesCole View Post
Too bad no one seems to be able to make one without using Winterboard, though. It's a great idea, but I don't really want to install Winterboard just for this.
I totally agree. I'm looking for a keyboard replacement too but I also really don't want to install winterboard!
milamber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 02:20 PM   #5
bw1128
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i liked it too, but it makes the keys too small now. so i took it off.
__________________
MacBookPro,
iPhone4S jb 5.0.1
ipad2 5.0.1 jb
GameCenter ID: BW1128
bw1128 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 02:35 PM   #6
KentuckyHouse
macrumors 68020
 
KentuckyHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington, KY.
Send a message via ICQ to KentuckyHouse
I was thinking about grabbing this keyboard, but the one thing that put me off was the description says the auto-caps feature doesn't work with it (or any keyboard theme)? I took that to mean you'd have to capitalize every first word in a sentence if you're using this keyboard. Can anyone that's got it confirm whether that's the case?

If not, then I'll definitely give it a try.
__________________
iPhone 3GS, 4S, 5, 5S (own)>Galaxy S2, S3, S4>Galaxy Nexus>One X, X+>Atrix HD>Lumia 920, 1020>Galaxy Note II>LG OG>HTC One>Moto X (own)>LG G2 (own)>Nexus 5
KentuckyHouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 02:39 PM   #7
mikejd1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Garbage if it requires winterboard
mikejd1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 02:50 PM   #8
brendanryder
macrumors 6502a
 
brendanryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary
Send a message via AIM to brendanryder Send a message via Skype™ to brendanryder
Why is it bad if it requires winterboard?
__________________
Co Founder, EDM FLAVOR
brendanryder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 03:43 PM   #9
the diego
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
It might be due to the E=MC2 theme, but it isn't working for me.

i4, 4.0.1, jailbreakme
the diego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 04:00 PM   #10
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
This should be posted in the hacks section
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 04:20 PM   #11
Gavernty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
This should be posted in the hacks section
Lol....it is
Gavernty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 04:31 PM   #12
JohnDoe98
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2009
Indeed, what's wrong with winterboard?
JohnDoe98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 04:59 PM   #13
KentuckyHouse
macrumors 68020
 
KentuckyHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington, KY.
Send a message via ICQ to KentuckyHouse
Some people had bad experiences with Winterboard slowing their previous generation iPhones down and burning through their battery. I, however, haven't ever had those problems on my 3GS going back to 3.1.2.

Winterboard is just fine now (as I said, I never saw those problems anyway). It works great. The only recommendation I would have for improving it...I'd have it have sections. i.e. one section for lockscreen themes, one section for springboard themes, another for sliders and status bar icons, etc. Once you get a LOT of stuff in there, it just becomes one huge list and sometimes it's hard to remember what is what.
__________________
iPhone 3GS, 4S, 5, 5S (own)>Galaxy S2, S3, S4>Galaxy Nexus>One X, X+>Atrix HD>Lumia 920, 1020>Galaxy Note II>LG OG>HTC One>Moto X (own)>LG G2 (own)>Nexus 5
KentuckyHouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:22 PM   #14
onefish2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanuet, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by KentuckyHouse View Post
I was thinking about grabbing this keyboard, but the one thing that put me off was the description says the auto-caps feature doesn't work with it (or any keyboard theme)? I took that to mean you'd have to capitalize every first word in a sentence if you're using this keyboard. Can anyone that's got it confirm whether that's the case?

If not, then I'll definitely give it a try.
Yes. This is true. I purchased this the other day and enabled it. Start typing a sentence then double tap the space key to get a period to end the sentence and the first letter of the new word in the new sentence is NOT capitalized. This is very disappointing. Luckily this tweak was .99 cents.

ALL JB apps and tweaks need to come with a trial period.

The descriptions in Cydia also need to be a bit better.
__________________
-Steve
onefish2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 11:11 PM   #15
Bandolier
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WesCole View Post
Too bad no one seems to be able to make one without using Winterboard, though. It's a great idea, but I don't really want to install Winterboard just for this.
What's the difference? Just install it and leave it alone.
Bandolier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 11:54 PM   #16
Kayan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA
One time I accidentally downloaded a ringtone that had Winterboard coupled to it, and instantly following I noticed a battery drain issue with my i4. I didn't even use it! It was just on my phone, but still drained. So I am another user that seconds the anti-Winterboard movement.
Kayan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 11:58 PM   #17
murdercitydevil
macrumors 68000
 
murdercitydevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: california
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayan View Post
One time I accidentally downloaded a ringtone that had Winterboard coupled to it, and instantly following I noticed a battery drain issue with my i4. I didn't even use it! It was just on my phone, but still drained. So I am another user that seconds the anti-Winterboard movement.
Do you actually have proof that winterboard had anything to do with it? I'm betting it didn't.
__________________
15" High-Res Anti-Glare Macbook Pro, 2.66 GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, nVidia 330M 512MB, 120GB Vertex 2
iPhone 4 32GB
Please search before you PM me about Wallpapers/Icons/Themes/etc!
murdercitydevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2010, 12:09 AM   #18
CrzyIcE
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
5 row keyboard looks pretty good!

on another note, how do you know if a download in cydia will require winterboard?
do they tell you?
for example, I might be interested in purchasing HapticPro. Will this require winterboard as well?
CrzyIcE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2010, 12:16 AM   #19
KentuckyHouse
macrumors 68020
 
KentuckyHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington, KY.
Send a message via ICQ to KentuckyHouse
Usually in the description it'll say something like "for use with Winterboard". And I've got HapticPro and I'm fairly certain it doesn't require Winterboard to be used.

If you get HapticPro, and you have SBSettings, I recommend getting the toggle for it too. It makes it really easy to turn off and on if you need to.
__________________
iPhone 3GS, 4S, 5, 5S (own)>Galaxy S2, S3, S4>Galaxy Nexus>One X, X+>Atrix HD>Lumia 920, 1020>Galaxy Note II>LG OG>HTC One>Moto X (own)>LG G2 (own)>Nexus 5
KentuckyHouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2010, 09:35 AM   #20
milamber
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrzyIcE View Post
5 row keyboard looks pretty good!

on another note, how do you know if a download in cydia will require winterboard?
do they tell you?
for example, I might be interested in purchasing HapticPro. Will this require winterboard as well?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KentuckyHouse View Post
Usually in the description it'll say something like "for use with Winterboard". And I've got HapticPro and I'm fairly certain it doesn't require Winterboard to be used.

If you get HapticPro, and you have SBSettings, I recommend getting the toggle for it too. It makes it really easy to turn off and on if you need to.
I've got haptic pro and it definitely doesn't have winterboard installed.

Get haptic pro! It's awesome.
milamber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2010, 05:15 PM   #21
Grolubao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Can you configure what special characters to appear on the first row, as in per iKeyex?
Grolubao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 10:42 AM   #22
bigsexyy81
macrumors 6502a
 
bigsexyy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
No auto-capitalization of the first word of a new sentence essentially creates as much additional 'work' as the new 5-row keyboard would be saving. Damn shame, too. I'd be all over it if it worked like the stock keyboard.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro (2010)
iPhone 5 32GB
Apple TV 2nd Gen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ5TajZYW6Y
bigsexyy81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 01:18 PM   #23
jluce50
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just installed this and it's not working at all. It's enabled in Winterboard and I tried it with Summerboard enabled and disabled. What gives?
jluce50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 03:31 PM   #24
allisfair
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
it works great here. no auto cap but that's fine as i type mostly sms's and url's which generally don't need cap letters. i type numbers more than cap letters.

plus i've been using winterboard for themes and other tweaks and had no issues with it. and there is no customization like in ikeyex. it's wysiwyg.
allisfair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 04:20 PM   #25
onefish2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanuet, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by jluce50 View Post
I just installed this and it's not working at all. It's enabled in Winterboard and I tried it with Summerboard enabled and disabled. What gives?
Re-read the directions. After enabling the winterboard theme you have to go into the Keybaord settings in Settings and enable the new 5-row keyboard.
__________________
-Steve
onefish2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who determines whether brand new DVD releases are available for rent aneftp Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Oct 31, 2009 09:52 AM
New Crowded House album available for download this week (cheap, no DRM) commonpeople Music Discussion 3 Jul 5, 2007 02:45 AM
Optimus mini three keyboard available for preorder Spanky Deluxe Mac Peripherals 4 Feb 6, 2006 03:13 PM
RAID 5 -- Now available for OS X shadowfax0 General Mac Discussion 0 Nov 22, 2002 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC