Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

michelle89

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2010
USA/Europe
Hi everyone,

I'm a college student and I'm considering to buy the new macbook air. I've heard that a lot people criticize the macbook air for its performance and some of its features. The only things I will use/do on my laptop are: words, powerpoint, excel, STATA, picasa, skype, facebook and to listen to music on grooveshark. So I would consider myself to be a 'light' user. I also travel a lot, so the weight of my laptop is important to me. It's however not the main reason why I would want to buy a laptop. I want a durable laptop that is going to last for at least 3 years. I've never had a mac before.

Do you think the macbook air is suitable for me? And what are the issues with the wireless internet connection?

Thank you! :)

Last edited:

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Which MBA, 11" or 13"? How much storage do you need? MBA seems to be fine for you as long as you don't need more than 256GB of storage.

Some people have reported slow WiFi but that doesn't seem to be very widespread issue so I wouldn't worry about that.

michelle89

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2010
USA/Europe
I don't think I need more than 256GB and I want the 13" model. I heard that the macbook air does not have an ethernet port. Is that a major drawback?

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
I heard that the macbook air does not have an ethernet port. Is that a major drawback?

No, not at all. Or do you connect your computer to the Internet via Ethernet? At least in my opinion, it kinda kills the idea of an ultraportable if you need to connect it via cable in order to access the Internet. Besides, you can get USB to Ethernet dongle if you really need an Ethernet port but I doubt you do, nearly everyone has a router nowadays.

Pete A

macrumors member
Dec 3, 2010