Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 5, 2010, 09:12 PM   #1
ry60003333
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Send a message via Skype™ to ry60003333
Increase RAID 1 Size

I currently have two 1 TB hard drives attached to a Mac running Leopard Server, and I just purchased two 2 TB hard drives. The 1 TB drives are currently in a mirrored RAID 1 array, and I would like to increase the size to 2 TB. What is the best way to do this with the least amount of downtime, as there are a lot of files on these drives that need to be accessible.
ry60003333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 06:52 AM   #2
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
I don't know which server you exactly have, but I figure you're running the drives externally.

So keep the current 1TB RAID set, create the new 2TB set and simply copy the data over (via CCC for example). When you're done, erase the 1TB set.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 07:43 AM   #3
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
I don't know which server you exactly have, but I figure you're running the drives externally.

So keep the current 1TB RAID set, create the new 2TB set and simply copy the data over (via CCC for example). When you're done, erase the 1TB set.
Not sure if CCC would do this, but I'd check out rsync or one of its derivatives. This way, you can sync the entire volume, and then sync only the changes made when you are ready to cut over. For that matter, you can sync several times a day and only new changes will be copied, not the entire volume.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 08:43 AM   #4
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
1. Configure new 2TB array.
2. Restore from backup. (You're a good server admin and make backups, right?)
3. Boot from new array.
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 10:25 AM   #5
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by belvdr View Post
Not sure if CCC would do this, but I'd check out rsync or one of its derivatives. This way, you can sync the entire volume, and then sync only the changes made when you are ready to cut over. For that matter, you can sync several times a day and only new changes will be copied, not the entire volume.
That's exactly what CCC does!

It uses the rsync process and support both full and incremental syncs/backups.

I've been using CCC for years now with my machines for cloning drives and backups and it never disappointed me. Great piece of software!
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 10:39 AM   #6
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
That's exactly what CCC does!

It uses the rsync process and support both full and incremental syncs/backups.

I've been using CCC for years now with my machines for cloning drives and backups and it never disappointed me. Great piece of software!
That's good to know. I used CCC once I believe. Thanks!

Use the process Transporteur detailed above. You can have both arrays online and get a perfect duplicate.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple RAID Frustrations and Request for Advice Ledgem OS X 5 Apr 17, 2013 08:03 PM
RAID Questions - 5400 vs 7200 RPM? deknk12 Mac Peripherals 4 Apr 16, 2011 12:29 PM
I'm accidentally increasing the font size / icon size? mrout MacBook Pro 4 Jan 13, 2010 03:08 PM
Increasing Mouse Pointer Size in Panther micvog Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 2 Sep 20, 2004 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC