Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2010, 12:12 PM   #1
uvsj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
How to turn off / disable quicklook

Just got a new imac with 10.6. Our folder system has a lot of folders that the name starts with a space. To get around I used to just start typing the name of the folder starting with a space instead of scrolling through our long file list. Not the best system but we have thousands of folders with linked files and we are not going to change the names. Is there a way to turn off or disable quicklook so that I can use the space bar then type to find the folder?
uvsj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 01:15 PM   #2
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
As far as I know it's not possible to disable Quicklook.

As a suggestion, you might try using command-space instead and typing your folder name into Spotlight. I know that's not exactly what you want, but it should work OK.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 06:04 PM   #3
John T
macrumors 68020
 
John T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK.
Right click on the Quicklook ikon. Go to "Customize Keyboard" and drag iKon.
John T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 06:32 PM   #4
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
QuickLook icon? Where is that?
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 06:41 PM   #5
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg2 View Post
QuickLook icon? Where is that?
This one (attached). My right-click menu shows "Customize Toolbar" not "Customize Keyboard."
Attached Images
 
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 03:57 AM   #6
John T
macrumors 68020
 
John T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
My right-click menu shows "Customize Toolbar" not "Customize Keyboard."
You're right!! What on earth made me type "Keyboard" when it should have been "Toolbar"?
John T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 04:15 AM   #7
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by John T View Post
Right click on the Quicklook ikon. Go to "Customize Keyboard" and drag iKon.
Can just command+drag the icon off the Finder toolbar. But this doesn't disable Quick Look.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 12:32 PM   #8
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by John T View Post
Right click on the Quicklook ikon. Go to "Customize Keyboard" and drag iKon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
This one (attached).
Ok, well, that won't disable it. I thought it was a reference to an application icon, not a tool icon. (or is the latter supposed to be "ikon"?)
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 07:19 AM   #9
psound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg2 View Post
Ok, well, that won't disable it. I thought it was a reference to an application icon, not a tool icon. (or is the latter supposed to be "ikon"?)
Really bloody annoying that you can't disable this feature.
psound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 10:06 AM   #10
Jagardn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Mac was designed to use Spotlight, it works better in my opinion. Why try to navigate 10 folders deep when you can hit command + space, start typing and your files are right in front of you. You are just used to having things the way they did in another OS, I as a Mac user get pissed when I use my work laptop on windows and it is more difficult to navigate. It's not even that I am used to a Mac, I just started 6 months ago. I used Windows for over 10 years and Linux for 5, to each his own.
Jagardn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 11:00 AM   #11
John T
macrumors 68020
 
John T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by psound View Post
Really bloody annoying that you can't disable this feature.
Why? You don't have to use it!
John T is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disable sleep but turn off the display using command or script? appleluck iMac 10 Dec 30, 2013 09:14 AM
Disable Turn on WiFi for Location Accuracy ma1nstr3am iOS 7 3 Aug 11, 2013 05:46 PM
QuickLook always on top? bizdata OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 31, 2012 07:12 AM
Disable Siri Turn-by-Turn in Maps metallikop iOS 6 8 Jun 15, 2012 02:38 AM
Disable Resume (I mean REALLY disable it) (not a solution, i ask a question) /V\acpower Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Jun 13, 2012 10:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC