Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2010, 04:20 PM   #1
macpluslaptop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
non-apple monitor for powermac G5?

I was just given an older powermac G5 at work (long story, but it's better than my 8-year old imac snow globe). They gave me an ancient dinky apple monitor from storage somewhere.

I'd like to get a 24" or so external monitor for it - non-Apple. Does anything still work with a powermac G5? Any recommendations? Thanks!
macpluslaptop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2010, 06:45 PM   #2
Eric5h5
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
It depends on the graphics card, and what connectors it has. Use an adapter if necessary.

--Eric
Eric5h5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2010, 07:54 PM   #3
holmesf
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpluslaptop View Post
I was just given an older powermac G5 at work (long story, but it's better than my 8-year old imac snow globe). They gave me an ancient dinky apple monitor from storage somewhere.

I'd like to get a 24" or so external monitor for it - non-Apple. Does anything still work with a powermac G5? Any recommendations? Thanks!
Even the lowest end video card that shipped with the PowerMac G5 should be able to handle most 24" display at full resolution. Tech specs say that it supports up to 1920x1200, and virtually all 24" displays are either 1920x1200 or 1920x1080.

http://support.apple.com/kb/sp96

I think that the video cards that shipped with the PowerMac G5 have DVI ports, the connector present on basically all monitors these days, but not sure. You may require an adapter.
holmesf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 03:57 PM   #4
pink tree
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: london
HP monitors and Power Mac G5

Glad to know I'm not the only person still working pre-intel.

I too traded in my old 'easel' Apple screen for a HP LP2475w. Plug and play, even on a Mac, the guy said. Well, yes... except I have all sorts of colour calibration problems that I can't fix and the HP software that comes on a cd doesn't work.

It's great for some things but the intense red that won't respond to calibration with Huey Pro is driving me to the edge.

For instance: image looks good in Photoshop jpg srb BUT viewed in browser looks luridly wrong.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks.
pink tree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 06:21 PM   #5
wacomme
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I had to get an upgraded graphics card to run my NEC 30" monitor.
wacomme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2011, 03:14 AM   #6
pink tree
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: london
Thanks for your reply, Wacomme.

did your 30" work at all before you upgraded the card (ie did it distort colours etc?) or did it just not work at all?

and what card did you get?
pink tree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2011, 09:49 AM   #7
wacomme
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I needed a better than standard graphics card to make my dual-link 30" monitor to work. If I had a smaller monitor, the standard graphics card would have been just fine. In fact, last summer, my graphics card died on me and I had to find a replacement - about $300 for a old card. I think it's an ATI Radeon X800XT. Works great now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pink tree View Post
Thanks for your reply, Wacomme.

did your 30" work at all before you upgraded the card (ie did it distort colours etc?) or did it just not work at all?

and what card did you get?
wacomme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2011, 02:52 PM   #8
toxic
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pink tree View Post
Glad to know I'm not the only person still working pre-intel.

I too traded in my old 'easel' Apple screen – for a HP LP2475w. Plug and play, even on a Mac, the guy said. Well, yes... except I have all sorts of colour calibration problems that I can't fix and the HP software that comes on a cd doesn't work.

It's great for some things but the intense red that won't respond to calibration with Huey Pro is driving me to the edge.

For instance: image looks good in Photoshop jpg srb BUT viewed in browser looks luridly wrong.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks.
easy solution: swap the LP2475w for a ZR24w.

otherwise, what browser are you using? you might also have to buy a new colorimeter that's compatible with wide gamut.
toxic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
PSU replacement for PowerMac G5 1.8 DP 2004 >>> PM G5 2005? netsurfz PowerPC Macs 3 Sep 7, 2011 09:26 AM
Best video card upgrade for PCI-E G5? ozziesironman PowerPC Macs 16 Aug 1, 2011 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC