Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2010, 06:14 PM   #1
spit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vegas, baby
Need to block another user from accessing wifi

I have a problem...
Lets say i have 3 users in Mac OS and i need to block wifi on 2 of them.
So if my mac is used at home/near free wifi only the main user would be able to connect and for other two wifi would be disabled. (still i should be able to use iphone tethering from them)

I know its kind of weird request..but ive got my reasons...


Thank You,

Best Regards



UPD
Thanks everyone, but let me give you more details on my issue.

1)Im the only one using this MAC.
2)Im ebay seller with multiple acc's.
3)In order to use few acc's on 1 computer - i need to access it from different IPs and have cookies separated.
4)My primary acc is using homes wifi network with static ip, other acc's will use Iphone tethering with dynamic IP.

So basically what im trying to do is to eliminate the chance of logging into my account using same (wifi) network. Of course i can disable wifi everytime i change mac-account to secondary, but there is always 0.01% to forget that once and mess everything up.


The problem is when i just delete airport from network settings panel it apply's this change to every macbook account, instead of changing it in the one i'm logged in. Otherwise my problem would be solved.

Last edited by spit; Dec 14, 2010 at 09:00 PM.
spit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 06:20 PM   #2
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Password-protect your network and don't tell the other two users the password...?
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 07:11 PM   #3
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Password-protect your network and don't tell the other two users the password...?
Yep, and then make sure it's set not to store the password, and then in System Preferences -> Network -> Airport -> Advanced, check the box that says "Disconnect when logging out".

Now if you log out for them to log in, it will drop the connection, and they will have to enter the password to get on.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 07:30 PM   #4
bruinsrme
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
you can also restrict wireless by mac address.
If you have a lot of devices it can take some time.
I had someone accessing my wifi usually from 5pm to midnight.
Leaving the network open I captured the mac address, added it to the access list then blocked access.
bruinsrme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 07:47 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsrme View Post
you can also restrict wireless by mac address.
If you have a lot of devices it can take some time.
I had someone accessing my wifi usually from 5pm to midnight.
Leaving the network open I captured the mac address, added it to the access list then blocked access.
The OP has one device, wirelessly connecting to a router, thus only one MAC address. The OP seems to have three accounts on that device, and only one account should be able to connect to the W-LAN, the other two should not.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 07:54 PM   #6
fortunecookie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
What kind of router are you using? Bramd and model?
fortunecookie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 08:07 PM   #7
bruinsrme
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
The OP has one device, wirelessly connecting to a router, thus only one MAC address. The OP seems to have three accounts on that device, and only one account should be able to connect to the W-LAN, the other two should not.
ah yes,
Perhaps the apple airport extreme.
since it has two networks, home and guest you can make home for wired and guest for wireless.
With the wireless (guest)set it up set it up for 1 dynamic IP with an extremely short lease period.
This way if Mac1 signs on the other 2 would be blocked, if Mac 2 signs on Mac 1 and 3 would be blocked. if mace 3 signs on then mac 1 and 2 would be blocked.
For the home network just make sure you turn off wireless.
bruinsrme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 08:57 PM   #8
spit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vegas, baby
Thanks everyone, but let me give you more details on my issue.

1)Im the only one using this MAC.
2)Im ebay seller with multiple acc's.
3)In order to use few acc's on 1 computer - i need to access it from different IPs and have cookies separated.
4)My primary acc is using homes wifi network with static ip, other acc's will use Iphone tethering with dynamic IP.

So basically what im trying to do is to eliminate the chance of logging into my account using same (wifi) network. Of course i can disable wifi everytime i change mac-account to secondary, but there is always 0.01% to forget that once and mess everything up.

My router is Linksys WRT160N.

The problem is when i just delete airport from network settings panel it apply's this change to every macbook account, instead of changing it in the one i'm logged in. Otherwise my problem would be solved.
spit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 09:21 PM   #9
bmcgonag
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgonag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to bmcgonag
Quote:
Originally Posted by spit View Post
Thanks everyone, but let me give you more details on my issue.

1)Im the only one using this MAC.
2)Im ebay seller with multiple acc's.
3)In order to use few acc's on 1 computer - i need to access it from different IPs and have cookies separated.
4)My primary acc is using homes wifi network with static ip, other acc's will use Iphone tethering with dynamic IP.

So basically what im trying to do is to eliminate the chance of logging into my account using same (wifi) network. Of course i can disable wifi everytime i change mac-account to secondary, but there is always 0.01% to forget that once and mess everything up.

My router is Linksys WRT160N.

The problem is when i just delete airport from network settings panel it apply's this change to every macbook account, instead of changing it in the one i'm logged in. Otherwise my problem would be solved.
I hope I'm wrong, and I hope you'll forgive me if I am, but it sounds like you are trying to log into ebay as a different user and bid people up. Like I say, I hope that's not the issue, but I don't know why else you'd want to log in as different accounts from different ip's except to get around ebay's attempts to thwart that.
__________________
OS X Tech Tips
24" White iMac Core 2 duo, 3 GB Ram, 1 TB, Orig & 2nd Gen AppleTV, iPhone 3GS, iPad Gen 1 - 16 Gig WiFi
Innovative CR
bmcgonag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 09:34 PM   #10
spit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vegas, baby
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcgonag View Post
I hope I'm wrong, and I hope you'll forgive me if I am, but it sounds like you are trying to log into ebay as a different user and bid people up. Like I say, I hope that's not the issue, but I don't know why else you'd want to log in as different accounts from different ip's except to get around ebay's attempts to thwart that.
Fortunately You are wrong...I do this to have more seller accounts to have bigger chance of selling something. And because there are limits to sell lets say 10 items per month for new sellers..by having 10 acct's i can sell 100 items and be within limit.
You can read about that on aspkin.com ebay forum)
spit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 09:42 PM   #11
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by spit View Post
Fortunately You are wrong...I do this to have more seller accounts to have bigger chance of selling something. And because there are limits to sell lets say 10 items per month for new sellers..by having 10 acct's i can sell 100 items and be within limit.
You can read about that on aspkin.com ebay forum)
So you're still trying to break the ebay rules. meh
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 09:45 PM   #12
spit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vegas, baby
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
So you're still trying to break the ebay rules. meh
You should read ebay rules again, its not blocking use of multiple accounts. I just choose to do it from different IPs.
And please lets not start talking about what and why im doing, its not like i asked how to brake Pentagons firewall)) nothing illegal, just small tricks to be save and running...other words id rather fly under radar..
spit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 10:49 PM   #13
bmcgonag
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgonag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to bmcgonag
Quote:
Originally Posted by spit View Post
You should read ebay rules again, its not blocking use of multiple accounts. I just choose to do it from different IPs.
And please lets not start talking about what and why im doing, its not like i asked how to brake Pentagons firewall)) nothing illegal, just small tricks to be save and running...other words id rather fly under radar..
fair enough. Kind of like something the guy said in Real Genius, they made the rules, enter as often as you like, no purchase necessary...or something to that effect.
__________________
OS X Tech Tips
24" White iMac Core 2 duo, 3 GB Ram, 1 TB, Orig & 2nd Gen AppleTV, iPhone 3GS, iPad Gen 1 - 16 Gig WiFi
Innovative CR
bmcgonag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 11:45 PM   #14
spit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vegas, baby
yeah, something like that)))

It's just sometimes weird dealing with those guys like ebay or amazon...
They make it seem like their on your side and trying to let you have some business...but eventually (thats said, especially when You are honest seller as I am) they will start throwing You in all those limits/verifications or w/e just because You were logged in within same IP (sometimes evem in public place like starbucks), laptop as someone and hold You (and them) from getting income and selling...anyways thats offtopic, just FYI
spit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2010, 10:16 AM   #15
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
You do realize if you just follow the steps I outlined, you can achieve exactly what you're looking for. I spelled it all out a number of posts ago.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2010, 10:26 AM   #16
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I don't know... I have had two ebay accounts since the 90's.

I use one to buy and one to sell, mainly and have never had a problem with eBay. The only problem I had was, once, I was bidding on something and I bid against myself! I forgot to log out of my one account!

I don't think IP address means anything unless you are bidding on your own items.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is NAS worth it? if accessing mostly via wifi? drummerboy03 Mac Peripherals 5 Feb 28, 2014 12:49 PM
iPad: Ipad Air accessing locked folders over wifi Jonkad iPad 0 Feb 27, 2014 03:52 PM
Anyone else having trouble accessing their user library/cache? elderchunti OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Dec 11, 2013 08:08 PM
Need 2 block connection to neighbors wifi johndad OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Apr 12, 2013 08:23 AM
accessing documents on the go without wifi or 3g jiffry1017 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Oct 26, 2012 11:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC