Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2010, 09:01 AM   #1
johnlo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Problem Jailbreaking my iphone 3G w/ 4.2.1 firmware

The last time I jailbreaked was when I had the 1st generation iTouch. yes i know its a LONG time. hahaha. when I purchased the iphone 3G, I didnt bother since I didnt really need to. But now I am because I want to use MyWi. well not having any luck doing it, hopefully someone can help me or know what's wrong and give me some tips and idea to try....

I have the iPhone 3G w/ 4.2.1 firmware. I want to Jailbreak my phone w/ Cydia installed. (not looking to unlock the iphone or installing the baseband...) Main reason for jailbreaking the iphone is to install MyWi. anyway, I followed the instruction from iClarified http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12949. I have tried over and over and over again, It would sit on this screen (below pic) for a long time.



I tried again and again, and was still doing the same thing.. either at one blue bar, or two.. at one point, It was half way... My Iphone does have the HardDrive Pic with the word starting with... "Downloading...." (sorry forgot what the rest said).

I did restore my iphone as suggested and put all my stuf back into my iphone (from backup copy).

any help or tips will be deeply appreciated. TIA

johnlo
__________________
-----
website: www.johnlophotography.com
blog: www.john-lo.com
johnlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 09:19 AM   #2
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
You are not getting any errors or anything to actually give you any intelligent guess of what is going wrong. All i can tell you is do the "normal" step to clean up.

Try another machine,
Try Another USB cable
Try a different USB port
reboot the Computer, and the phone
Try removing the IPSW and re-downloading
Make sure you got the right IPSW for your phone (3G)
Make sure you got the lastest itunes
DFU restore of the phone, set as new (do not restore from backup)
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 09:40 AM   #3
johnlo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
You are not getting any errors or anything to actually give you any intelligent guess of what is going wrong. All i can tell you is do the "normal" step to clean up.

Try another machine,
Try Another USB cable
Try a different USB port
reboot the Computer, and the phone
Try removing the IPSW and re-downloading
Make sure you got the right IPSW for your phone (3G)
Make sure you got the lastest itunes
DFU restore of the phone, set as new (do not restore from backup)
Thx for responsing. no error messages at all. it just sit on that screen.. i will give wat you mention a try tonight. actually thought about doing what you said too, but it was getting late last night, didnt want to spend all night working on it.

when i was restoring from backup, it was in the begnining, before i executable the redsn0w application. and yes I did Run as Admin (using win7 64Bit).
__________________
-----
website: www.johnlophotography.com
blog: www.john-lo.com
johnlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 03:26 PM   #4
MaxBurn
macrumors 65816
 
MaxBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I had the same problem yesterday, fixed when I restored as new and tried redsn0w again. Something in the data backup was breaking the jailbreak.

Also it redsn0w is up to beta 6 now which is not even mentioned on the dev team blog, the link to download in the middle of that wall of text mentions beta5 but you download and get 6 with the link. Can't hurt to have the latest.
MaxBurn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 03:31 PM   #5
No ice please
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Don't restore from a backup, and also make sure just Cydia is going to install. I would always get errors when I would tick enable backgrounds, multi tasking, or battery percentage.
__________________
Stuff I bought goes here.
No ice please is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 03:44 PM   #6
johnlo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Ah ok. thx guys. I wont restore the back-up, just create a new then. now after I jailbreaked, can i use the back-up? or better start fresh from the beginning?
__________________
-----
website: www.johnlophotography.com
blog: www.john-lo.com
johnlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 03:46 PM   #7
johnlo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by No ice please View Post
Don't restore from a backup, and also make sure just Cydia is going to install. I would always get errors when I would tick enable backgrounds, multi tasking, or battery percentage.

am only installing Cydia. not interested all the other feature. 3G model is slow enough.. dont need it any slower. thx!~!!!
__________________
-----
website: www.johnlophotography.com
blog: www.john-lo.com
johnlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2010, 06:14 PM   #8
MaxBurn
macrumors 65816
 
MaxBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Can't do anything with that backup that I am aware of.

If you were synching your apps you do keep all your apps, just select them and they will be sent to the iphone again.

If you were synching contacts to outlook they just show back up too. I assume there is a Mac equivalent.

Doesn't take long to redo all your settings outside of that though, actually can be good with a fresh start once in a while.
MaxBurn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2010, 07:35 PM   #9
johnlo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
ok. finally got it all jailbreak. the problem still continue after trying everything you all said. did a quick search after playing with my son and here's my result.

running redsn0w open up task manager set affinity and uncheck cpu 0, cpu 2, cpu 3. only checked of cpu 1

so for those that might have the same problem i do.. this is what i did.

i'm using win7 64 bit
__________________
-----
website: www.johnlophotography.com
blog: www.john-lo.com
johnlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Tags
4.2.1, iclarified, iphone 3g, jailbreak, mywi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV: Problem Jailbreaking ATV2 ynots Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 May 8, 2014 01:48 PM
iPhone: Unlocking/jailbreaking iphone without knowing firmware or Baseband number twinbee Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 8, 2013 11:54 AM
Iphone 3GS running ios 5.1.1 on firmware 05.16.05 Problem! luckyeight iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Nov 25, 2012 11:54 AM
iPhone: Getting problem after jailbreaking zolf Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Oct 30, 2012 02:00 AM
Problem jailbreaking slayer666 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Jun 11, 2012 07:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC