Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2010, 07:25 PM   #1
edoras
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaysia
Need Feedback - Can Logitech C310 HD Webcam use for Facetime?

I just purchased a Mac Mini but not sure which webcam works best for Facetime or Skype or Photo Booth etc.
I only managed to read one person (Mark from Amazon review) regarding his experience with C310. However, I am unable to read any other reviews regarding its compatibility with Mac OS X.

Anyone else have experience using the Mac with this Logitech C310? Thanks.
__________________
|Tips on Apple Gadgets - My Gadget Blog|
|Facebook "Digital Native"|
Macbook Pro 2012 Retina, 8GB RAM 500GB SSD 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7/ iPhone 4S
edoras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 10:02 AM   #2
swirlybee
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I don't see why it wouldn't work. I have the C510 and I have no problems using Facetime, Skype or Photobooth. (I use Facetime and Skype regularly but I've only used Photobooth to see if it would work with the webcam).
swirlybee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 06:07 PM   #3
edoras
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by swirlybee View Post
I don't see why it wouldn't work. I have the C510 and I have no problems using Facetime, Skype or Photobooth. (I use Facetime and Skype regularly but I've only used Photobooth to see if it would work with the webcam).
Awesome!
I think I will get the C510 since its only $10 more than C310 and its 8MP...!
Thanks!
__________________
|Tips on Apple Gadgets - My Gadget Blog|
|Facebook "Digital Native"|
Macbook Pro 2012 Retina, 8GB RAM 500GB SSD 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7/ iPhone 4S
edoras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 06:23 PM   #4
BigDukeSix
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 34.6700N 118.1590W
Quote:
Originally Posted by edoras View Post
Awesome!
I think I will get the C510 since its only $10 more than C310 and its 8MP...!
Thanks!
Please come back and let us know how you like it. Thx.
__________________
MacBook 2.26 Ghz IMac IPad 1,3, Mini 2 IPhone 5
Mac Mini 2.4 Ghz ATV3
PowerMac G5 PowerBook G3 5 Ipods 2 Airport Extremes
BigDukeSix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 06:53 PM   #5
edoras
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDukeSix View Post
Please come back and let us know how you like it. Thx.
The weird thing is that it seems the Logitech HD Webcams have not arrived in any of our electronic shops. They said its coming quite soon...
I will keep this thread updated soon! Cheers!
__________________
|Tips on Apple Gadgets - My Gadget Blog|
|Facebook "Digital Native"|
Macbook Pro 2012 Retina, 8GB RAM 500GB SSD 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7/ iPhone 4S
edoras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 08:55 AM   #6
feeth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
If you can't get your webcam to work, install manycam. That is what I ended up doing on our mini.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4GHz i7, 12GB, 256SSD iMac 27", 2.8GHz i7, 8GB, 1TB 13 MBA 4GB/128GB/1.86GHz 32GB wi-fi iPad 32GB wi-fi iPad 2 AE iP5 white 16gb
feeth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 06:03 PM   #7
edoras
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by feeth View Post
If you can't get your webcam to work, install manycam. That is what I ended up doing on our mini.
Finally I purchased C510 and it works perfectly without any installation of drivers.
__________________
|Tips on Apple Gadgets - My Gadget Blog|
|Facebook "Digital Native"|
Macbook Pro 2012 Retina, 8GB RAM 500GB SSD 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7/ iPhone 4S
edoras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 12:32 PM   #8
MBov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Logitech C310 Webcam with Mac

I received the Logitech C310 Webcam as a gift. I've read mixed things on whether this can even be used with a Mac. I'm having a hard time getting it to work. Has anyone else used this model with the Mac?
MBov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 12:42 PM   #9
BigDukeSix
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 34.6700N 118.1590W
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBov View Post
I received the Logitech C310 Webcam as a gift. I've read mixed things on whether this can even be used with a Mac. I'm having a hard time getting it to work. Has anyone else used this model with the Mac?
It should work. What sort of issues are you having and what type of Mac are you trying to use it on?

http://www.mac-compatible-web-cam.com/
__________________
MacBook 2.26 Ghz IMac IPad 1,3, Mini 2 IPhone 5
Mac Mini 2.4 Ghz ATV3
PowerMac G5 PowerBook G3 5 Ipods 2 Airport Extremes
BigDukeSix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 12:57 PM   #10
MBov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I'm trying to use it on a Mac Mini. It doesn't recognize the hardware when I plug in the USB and the installation disk comes up on the desktop, but can't figure out what to do..
MBov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 01:11 PM   #11
BigDukeSix
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 34.6700N 118.1590W
Well, the install disk that probably came with it if for a PC, so that won't work. And, you will have to open an application like PhotoBooth, Skype or Facetime to select that camera as a video source. When you do, it should work. It won't just show up on the desktop.
__________________
MacBook 2.26 Ghz IMac IPad 1,3, Mini 2 IPhone 5
Mac Mini 2.4 Ghz ATV3
PowerMac G5 PowerBook G3 5 Ipods 2 Airport Extremes
BigDukeSix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2011, 02:07 PM   #12
MTI
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Anyone using the Creative Labs Live! 1080 HD camera on their Mini for Facetime?
__________________
15" Powerbook Ti DVI 20" iMac G5 17" Early 2006 iMac Core Duo 20" Mid 2007 Intel iMac Rev C Mac Mini Core Duo 2.0
MTI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2011, 04:54 PM   #13
iPhisch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indiana
i have the Microsoft Lifecam HD-5000
works great (except that it won't do HD FaceTime like the macbook pros do)
iPhisch is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech HD Webcam C 270 on 10.9.2 brimurray Mac Peripherals 0 Mar 6, 2014 04:12 PM
Logitech C270 webcam and OS X TartanNeil Mac Peripherals 2 Jan 29, 2013 04:15 AM
Logitech Webcam Help Lyons00 iMac 7 Aug 26, 2012 08:57 AM
Can't get 720p FaceTime Webcam to work? iChaseH Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 24, 2012 07:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC