Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2010, 11:24 AM   #1
Keegan Lodder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
iPhone 3G iOS 4.1 running 6.15 baseband "no service" error

Hello,

My iPhone 3G is running iOS 4.1 with the baseband update 6.15
in the About section I can see it identifies Carrier: "Bell 8.0".

I've tried the three popular methods that are supposed to fix "no service"
which include,
1. installing fuzzyband
2. disabling 3G and rebooting
3. reset all setting, reset network settings

none of these methods have worked,
I did have the iPhone unlocked and working (on Bell) for somwehere around 36 hours, but it suddenly dropped the network and, although it still identifies the Bell network, it is unable to connect to it.

any ideas?
Keegan Lodder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2010, 10:59 PM   #2
SavMBP15
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keegan Lodder View Post
Hello,

My iPhone 3G is running iOS 4.1 with the baseband update 6.15
in the About section I can see it identifies Carrier: "Bell 8.0".

I've tried the three popular methods that are supposed to fix "no service"
which include,
1. installing fuzzyband
2. disabling 3G and rebooting
3. reset all setting, reset network settings

none of these methods have worked,
I did have the iPhone unlocked and working (on Bell) for somwehere around 36 hours, but it suddenly dropped the network and, although it still identifies the Bell network, it is unable to connect to it.

any ideas?
Baseband 06.15 is only if you went up to 4.2.1 I thought. Maybe I'm wrong, but that could be your problem.
SavMBP15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 01:44 AM   #3
Magnum.Handy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavMBP15 View Post
Baseband 06.15 is only if you went up to 4.2.1 I thought. Maybe I'm wrong, but that could be your problem.
Negative.... I'm on 4.1 w/ 6.15 baseband and up and running on TMobile.

However, I do have another iphone 3g with the same specs that has the "no service" issue.

Try to run redsnow again and ONLY check "update to iPad baseband".

That has worked for me before.. but (obviously) not every time.

OR

if you have fixed this already, please share your exp.

Last edited by Magnum.Handy; Dec 30, 2010 at 01:46 AM. Reason: changes
Magnum.Handy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2011, 02:04 PM   #4
cjmorry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Unhappy Carrier Bell 8.0 when using Virgin network

This may be totally irrelevant but I also have an iPhone 3G on iOS 4.1 that I (foolishly) upgraded to the 6.15 baseband in order to unlock it. Should have waited. And yes it is possible to be on 4.1 still after upgrading to the 6.15 baseband, but it does not seem to be possible to upgrade to 4.2 once you have done this. I also see Carrier Bell 8.0 though I am operating on a Virgin SIM. The phone works OK in all departments but is sluggish after the upgrade. Wish I had not done it.

Interesetingly, when you go to settings-phone and select "home" this takes you to Bell's homepage, not Virgin's. I've complained about this to Virgin. At first they said it was because the phone was originally on Bell before being unlocked -- it never was; it was on Rogers before. Now they say they don't know why it is happening or how to fix it. They never admit that it is most likely because they are all part of Ma Bell's big happy family!
cjmorry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why "no Service" then "Searching" for factory unlocked, jailbrok iPhone 3GS iOS 4.3.5 heathvc iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 29 Jun 10, 2013 04:25 AM
"No service" and "Call ended" issues on Iphone 4 6.1.3 Parisjazz iOS 6 2 Apr 23, 2013 04:49 PM
No service on iphone 3gs after updating to ios 6 baseband 6.15 lors iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Apr 15, 2013 08:24 AM
How i can fix "Wiki setting error" and "Running time error" ? Amethyst Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Sep 2, 2012 01:34 PM
iOS restoring error "not eligible for requested build" - error source is Macbook elie.fares iOS 6 2 Jun 17, 2012 05:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC