Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djaeggi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 20, 2010
Hi folks,

Longtime reader, first time posting anything.

Can anyone offer a critique of this?

It's going to be printed on a 4'x8' vinyl banner to be displayed outdoors. I'm not a designer and I've looked at this thing for so long that I can't even tell what works and what doesn't. It'd be nice to get a fresh pair of eyes on it.

I'm sending this to the print shop to silkscreen several hundred of these, so any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all.

Attachments

• Banner.png
    Banner.png
    33.6 KB · Views: 147

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
First of all, since you've said that you're not a designer and that it's going to be silkscreened, have you talked to your screen printer about setting the artwork up properly? It should be a two colour job to keep costs down and should be done in either InDesign/Quark or Illustrator in spot colours. An RGB or CMYK large format bubblejet may prove more costly at that quantity at a lower quality.

The first thing I look at is type and the biggest problem you have here is the tiny size of the web address. It's simply not legible or clear at that size. Apart from that I'm not sure where to start as there's a lot going on in there. My impulse would be to simplify it, the little touches like the leaves and the mains plug, add to a sense of disorganisation. Personally, I'd start with a solid green and leave off the white swash at the bottom unless that's a critical part of the branding. Then, I'd try to stick to just one typeface; you've got some Futura and some Impact or some other black condensed sans in there... I'd stick to one typeface, one symbol of electronic waste, one leaf. Keep it simple.