Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2010, 04:42 AM   #1
jerrduford
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
jailbroken iphone 3G - cant get to work with tmobile

I recently purchased a used jailbroken iphone 3rd generation.

i have tmobile service and was told switching the phone from att to tmobile would be an easy process. It has turned out to be everything but.

i put my tmobile sim card in the iphone and reconfigged several different ways as are shown on various credible websites. Ive tried changing the network config apn from internet2.voicestream.com, epc.tmobile.com, and wap.voicestream.com multiple times. Each time i change all 3 apns. Ive tried changing just one, used all 3 codes, disabled wifi/3g, and on each power on i get that no network is found. I always make sure to leave data roaming turned on.

the phone is in fact jailbroken. It has a black background, jailbreak software, etc. Is the phone possibly not unlocked? Im not sure what my issue is, but any constructive input would be greatly appreciated.
jerrduford is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 07:14 AM   #2
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
tmobile 3g isn't supported it's on a different frequency the att you can only use edge on tmobile.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 08:41 AM   #3
jerrduford
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman View Post
tmobile 3g isn't supported it's on a different frequency the att you can only use edge on tmobile.
What's edge and how do i use that rather than the alternative?
jerrduford is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 09:06 AM   #4
Ivan P
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
No offense, but if you don't even know what EDGE is then maybe you shouldn't be trying to hack and unlock your phone...
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 09:10 AM   #5
djvic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can you make a call with t-mobile sim? If so, the phone is unlocked.

As for the data (EDGE), you will need to have data plan with t-mobile. Mine is the $9.99 unlimited data and uses internet2.voicestream.com APN. Remenber to have 3G and Data Roaming both OFF.

Hope this helps!
djvic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New AT&T iPhone 5s work with tmobile? K1ngkev1n1 iPhone 8 Apr 11, 2014 05:05 PM
Does iPhone 3GS work with Tmobile in the US? robrichards iPhone 1 May 20, 2013 01:31 AM
iPhone 5 with tmobile 30$ plan. Port num to google voice or tmobile? K1ngkev1n1 iPhone 11 May 14, 2013 05:49 PM
Switched to Tmobile and now iPhone 4 won’t work babybuuutch iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Mar 22, 2013 11:39 PM
If iPhone 5 on AT&T can work with tMobile, why not Verizon? Myiphone7 iPhone 3 Oct 25, 2012 01:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC