Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2010, 02:14 PM   #1
hamzab
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Exclamation iPhone 4 Browsing Internet/FaceBook etc over 3G very slow

Hi guys,

I've been using my new iPhone 4 for about 3 days now and thought I would test out the 3G today (been using WiFi which also tends to get slow, I've read some discussions on the Apple discussion forum stating that 4.2.1 is to blame but for now those problems have gone away)

Anyhow, whilst connect via 3G the Internet is quite slow, rarely it's quite fast loading up pages quickly however just now I was trying to load macrumors.com and it took a good 2-3 minutes, sometimes its blazing fast and sometimes it fails to load with the Safari message stating that it coudlnt find a server. This is the same for quite a few websites I visit (news.bbc.co.uk, thestudentroom.com, ebay.co.uk)

It is the same with FaceBook and Youtube. Both can be very intermittent. Sometimes I do not receive any FaceBook notifcations, last night my YouTube videos kept stopping.

I've also read a few discussions again on the Apple discussion forum however these seem to be quite dated, from around June/July 2010.

I've had a case since day one and am using one right now. The iPhone is on a wooden table and all i press is go.

Is this a faulty unit?

Thanks
hamzab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 02:24 PM   #2
Lukeyy19
macrumors 6502a
 
Lukeyy19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: England, UK
i would suggest check with your network provider, before assuming its a faulty device.
__________________
iMac 27" Quad Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 32GB WiFi (3rd Generation)
iPhone 5 32GB
TV
Lukeyy19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 02:25 PM   #3
hamzab
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeyy19 View Post
i would suggest check with your network provider, before assuming its a faulty device.
How should I? Should I perhaps get another iPhone on the same network as me (O2) and test them side by side?
hamzab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 02:27 PM   #4
Lukeyy19
macrumors 6502a
 
Lukeyy19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: England, UK
i would call O2 and explain the problem to them, they may be able to diagnose the issue, it may be that your account is not set up correctly for the iPhone Data or something.
__________________
iMac 27" Quad Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 32GB WiFi (3rd Generation)
iPhone 5 32GB
TV
Lukeyy19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 03:22 PM   #5
hamzab
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Update

Just got off the Phone too O2. According to them, everything is ok with my account etc. Ran multiple tests, turning of 3G, resetting phone/network settings etc however this was to no avail.

Any other ideas? Anyone else experience this????
hamzab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 03:24 PM   #6
Lukeyy19
macrumors 6502a
 
Lukeyy19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: England, UK
did you not get the phone through O2 then?
__________________
iMac 27" Quad Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 32GB WiFi (3rd Generation)
iPhone 5 32GB
TV
Lukeyy19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 03:27 PM   #7
hamzab
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeyy19 View Post
did you not get the phone through O2 then?
Nope. I already have an O2 contract so I got a MicroSim. The phone is from the Apple Store.
hamzab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 03:38 PM   #8
Lukeyy19
macrumors 6502a
 
Lukeyy19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: England, UK
well if there was nothing O2 could do, then maybe you do have a faulty unit.

personally though i would wait 24 hours and keep checking it, you never know, there may be something in your area that happens to be interfering with the signal at the moment, if you have the ability, maybe you should try what you suggested earlier, of trying a different sim/phone on the same network and if possible different networks, that way you may be able to determine if this is true before replacing it and finding out you're getting the same problem.

good luck
__________________
iMac 27" Quad Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 32GB WiFi (3rd Generation)
iPhone 5 32GB
TV
Lukeyy19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 03:41 PM   #9
hamzab
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeyy19 View Post
well if there was nothing O2 could do, then maybe you do have a faulty unit.

personally though i would wait 24 hours and keep checking it, you never know, there may be something in your area that happens to be interfering with the signal at the moment, if you have the ability, maybe you should try what you suggested earlier, of trying a different sim/phone on the same network and if possible different networks, that way you may be able to determine if this is true before replacing it and finding out you're getting the same problem.

good luck
Will do. I shall provide an update tomorrow. Thanks for your help!
hamzab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 12:35 PM   #10
MyRomeo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Change your cellular data apn to these:

APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
Username: bypass
Password: leave it the same (password).

this is assuming your o2 Uk an pay monthly... Their idata apn is awful slow, I can get up to 5.5mb/s on the above settings and it's noticeably faster. O2 won't tell you about this tho!

Ps, yes this apn is covered by your free data as it's an official o2 access point, it's just not the iPhone specific one
MyRomeo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 12:45 PM   #11
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Would it be possible to get some numbers? Download the Speed Test app or something?

This is very hard to diagnose without any data to go off of.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 01:46 AM   #12
MyRomeo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Swc, o2 by default put all their mobile data thru their proxy server which has a big effect on speed, the details I give above simply bypass this proxy giving you direct access and much quicker speeds
MyRomeo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 04:26 AM   #13
itsourjan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thumbs up THANK YOU MyRomeo

Thank you MyRomeo, your advice has worked a charm. Whoopieeeeeeeee! I've been struggling with 3G ever since getting my iPhone 4 (which by the way I absolutely LOVE to bits) but due to not being able to use my phone from work I never really needed 3G as I always connected to the Internet via my home wi-fi.

Anyway enough of my waffle, for those like myself who didn't know where to change of APN settings on the iPhone 4 here's the route:

From the main screen of your iPhone tap Settings > General > Network

Tap Mobile Data Network

For Pay & Go customers.
Tap APN and change idata.o2.co.uk and enter payandgo.o2.co.uk (Please note that "o2" needs to be written with a letter "o" and not a zero)

For Pay Monthly customers.
Tap APN and change idata.o2.co.uk and enter mobile.o2.co.uk (Please note that "o2" needs to be written with a letter "o" and not a zero)

You don't need to change your username and password

If you're not using an iPhone ignore the Visual Voicemail APN box - it's not available to Pay & Go customers or Pay Monthly customers (with a non iPhone tariff)

Under MMS

For Pay & Go customers.
Tap APN and change idata.o2.co.uk and enter payandgo.o2.co.uk (Please note that o2 needs to be written with a letter o and not a zero)

For Pay Monthly customers.
Tap APN and change idata.o2.co.uk and enter wap.o2.co.uk (Please note that o2 needs to be written with a letter o and not a zero)

You don't need to change your username and password

Turn your iPhone off and on again

These are the iPhone 4 iOS 4.2.1 updated settings

Last edited by itsourjan; Jan 29, 2011 at 04:49 AM. Reason: forgot to mention
itsourjan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is Facebook, both the mobile site and app so slow on the iPhone? TH55 iPhone 8 Nov 6, 2013 02:16 PM
How to export your iPhone 5S slow motion videos to YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, etc. skylarbrenden iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Oct 19, 2013 05:15 PM
iPhone 5 slow app downloads via wifi, internet browsing fine ToddsterAU iPhone 2 Nov 13, 2012 03:34 AM
Has anyone noticed when browsing pictures in Facebook in desktop format clicking TH55 iPhone 4 Aug 18, 2012 12:34 PM
Safari keep crashes when browsing facebook in desktop version kenreaves iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 3, 2012 12:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC