Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2010, 03:59 PM   #1
kiddk1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
can I format/restore my ipod touch 3rd gen without itunes

I just sold my ipod 3rd gen but dont have my laptop that it is synced to, I am trying to restore it to factory condition in order to ship it, can I do this manyually? thanks
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 04:01 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
No, you need iTunes, but it doesn't have to be your iTunes, any will work.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 04:06 PM   #3
kiddk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.j.s View Post
No, you need iTunes, but it doesn't have to be your iTunes, any will work.
thanks, I do have access to other pc's
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 05:32 PM   #4
noahcombs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MI
There is a way to do it without iTunes. You have to format it to fat32 and then load the firmware.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2011 | iPhone 4 16GB (Verizon) | 1G iPod Touch 16GB | 5G iPod Video 30GB
noahcombs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 05:42 PM   #5
L I G H T I N G
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahcombs View Post
There is a way to do it without iTunes. You have to format it to fat32 and then load the firmware.
Why would you bump a 7 month old thread?
L I G H T I N G is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 05:44 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahcombs View Post
There is a way to do it without iTunes. You have to format it to fat32 and then load the firmware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by L I G H T I N G View Post
Why would you bump a 7 month old thread?
And bump it with incorrect information.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:54 PM   #7
Tech Elementz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
And bump it with incorrect information.
It's really funny how he used "FAT32"...
Tech Elementz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod touch 2nd gen digitizer in 3rd gen? jrsx iPod touch 3 May 26, 2014 02:16 PM
What do you use your iPod touch 3rd gen for Jordan246 iPod touch 4 May 14, 2014 09:23 AM
How much is my 3rd gen 64 GB iPod Touch worth? Confused4977 iPod touch 1 Oct 8, 2012 08:14 PM
Ipod Touch 3rd gen or 4th gen...? MCPL iPod touch 2 Sep 9, 2012 08:44 PM
iPod touch 3rd Gen elpmas iPod touch 2 Aug 21, 2012 07:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC