Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2011, 04:38 PM   #1
guitardude87
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
came across some trouble installing a new airport extreme card...

I was trying to install an airport extreme card on my old powerbook g4. When I tried to put it in, it wouldn't budge all the way like it should. I took the case apart and took out the interface cable and I noticed that there's some hard gunk on half of the pins and it won't come out with anything I can try. Does anyone know where I can buy this cable by itself? I've searched several dealers but can't find anything =/


guitardude87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 05:07 PM   #2
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Uh... what powerbook model is it

12
15
17 inch?

And what CPU speed or model

1.0
1.33
1.5
1.67

I ask this because you simply cannot be asking about how to put an Airport Extreme card into a Powerbook G4 Titanium, as opposed to aluminum, correct? They don't take Extreme cards, they take the old Airport card

All to say, we are in the dark
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 05:22 PM   #3
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Search by part number printed on cable (821-0301-A): http://cgi.ebay.ie/Apple-PowerBook-G...-/330403691566
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 05:31 PM   #4
guitardude87
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
it's a 15" aluminum 1GHz model. I did manage to come across a site called "mac recycling" and ordered the ribbon cable from there since it was only five bucks. i hope this is the only thing needed to get the wifi working
guitardude87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 06:54 PM   #5
occams razor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Looks like it's hot glue. Should be able to get it out with a dental pick
__________________
I like to drunk post from my iPhone 3GS!
occams razor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 09:20 PM   #6
guitardude87
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by occams razor View Post
Looks like it's hot glue. Should be able to get it out with a dental pick
tried it...wasn't coming off
guitardude87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is There an AC Airport Extreme Card For a Mac Pro? SIRmisterD Mac Pro 45 May 24, 2014 03:30 PM
Airport Extreme without Runway card pm7300 PowerPC Macs 0 Dec 12, 2013 12:08 PM
Installing airport card in mac pro brianmacc50 Mac Pro 7 Sep 9, 2013 12:31 PM
Trouble with airport extreme ethernet connections drlwb Mac Peripherals 5 Apr 16, 2013 10:59 AM
Airport Extreme - Need a card? davewill2010 Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 13, 2013 11:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC