Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2011, 08:05 PM   #1
kappax12
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
multiply monitor connections??

MULTIPLE

im planning on ordering 2-3 dell 24" monitors, is there a way to connect not just 1 monitor up but all 2-3 up to the air??

maybe some kind of external graphic card device??

Last edited by kappax12; Jan 2, 2011 at 08:17 PM.
kappax12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 09:06 PM   #2
elwood58
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappax12 View Post
MULTIPLE

im planning on ordering 2-3 dell 24" monitors, is there a way to connect not just 1 monitor up but all 2-3 up to the air??

maybe some kind of external graphic card device??
Matrox has 2 or 3 monitor control boxes that use a combination of Display Port and USB. The challenge to using it in this mode seems to be the fact that the Matrox wants to treat the three monitors as one big monitor, and then uses an application called Matrox Powerdesk to manage the position of things. It is a very nice implimentation, but on my MBA 11, the resolution is not high enough to really make good use of all the screen real estate.
elwood58 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 03:21 AM   #3
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer...ogy/VIDU2DVIA/
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 08:40 AM   #4
kappax12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by elwood58 View Post
, but on my MBA 11, the resolution is not high enough to really make good use of all the screen real estate.
Thanks for the links, so my next question would be for this statement above, how could the resolution be increased? For better display
kappax12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 09:10 AM   #5
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappax12 View Post
Thanks for the links, so my next question would be for this statement above, how could the resolution be increased? For better display
The MBA 11" has enough power to drive 3 1920x1080 using the TripleHead2Go DP edition.

I don't know what the guy was saying that the MBA 11" doesn't have enough "resolution", it has the same graphics processor as any of the MB/MBP/iMac line-up.

The Matrox is the best solution as it uses your current graphics adapter. USB monitor connections are essentially slow USB graphics cards.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 09:38 AM   #6
kappax12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
The MBA 11" has enough power to drive 3 1920x1080 using the TripleHead2Go DP edition.

I don't know what the guy was saying that the MBA 11" doesn't have enough "resolution", it has the same graphics processor as any of the MB/MBP/iMac line-up.

The Matrox is the best solution as it uses your current graphics adapter. USB monitor connections are essentially slow USB graphics cards.
The last statement u made, "USB monitor connections are essentially slow USB graphics card", does that mean sluggest display, also since these monitors are 1080p, im assuming that since its through usb connection instead of hdmi, the display wont be to its max resolution?
kappax12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 09:45 AM   #7
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
The Matrox is the best solution as it uses your current graphics adapter. USB monitor connections are essentially slow USB graphics cards.
AFAIK the Matrox is an external GPU as well.

The USB card I linked supports 1080p so your displays would run at native res. What I've heard, they are fine for light-ish usage but don't think about gaming or watching Blu-Rays on the external. However, if you get three monitors, then USBs aren't good choice because MBA only has two USB ports (sharing one would likely cause lag)
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 10:21 AM   #8
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
AFAIK the Matrox is an external GPU as well.
480 mbps vs how much data bandwidth over Displayport/VGA/DVI-D ?

Seriously, we can't even begin to compare the bandwidth here. And isn't the matrox replacing not your GPU but the monitor circuitry to present one big monitor instead of 3 connected to your VGA port ?
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2011, 08:56 AM   #9
dmillbank
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Matrox not working with iMac and Cinema displays

I've tried the Matrox solution (TripleHead2Go Digital) with 2 23" HD Cinema Displays on a 2007 iMac. Their website say it is supposed to work, but their support is unable to help me. They said something about scalers not being built-in to my Apple displays, but it works fine with the displays on my MacBook Pro (2007), just not my iMac.

I'm talking iMac, with 2 additional 23" HD Cinema displays. This is just a heads up to anyone else trying a configuration like this.
dmillbank is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Go forth and multiply thy contacts! :D Adamsappel iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Mar 27, 2014 06:19 AM
Quote notifications multiply when multi-quote used wrldwzrd89 Site and Forum Feedback 1 Dec 9, 2013 04:00 PM
monitor connections for mac pro jgbr Mac Peripherals 1 Jan 27, 2013 04:31 PM
Anyone know what these connections are? JamesP. Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Sep 16, 2012 02:35 PM
How do I code my app to MULTIPLY the output from a DATA PICKER by a TEXT-FIELD ENTRY? tmdrbyshr iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Aug 20, 2012 03:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC