Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2011, 06:48 AM   #1
ekalb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Apple TV sending the wrong signal?

I am running it through an HDMI cable to my Pioneer Elite TV.

For some reason, whenever I switch the tv over to apple tv, it turns my tv to a zoom mode where I need to manually switch the tv back to normal screen size. I don't have any other equipment running to the tv via hdmi that does this.

Any ideas?


I just received apple tv for Christmas, so I'm guessing its the newest version...if that matters.


Thanks
ekalb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 09:47 AM   #2
jajohns8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I would open a case with Apple support. I am sure one of the first questions they will have is the make/model of your TV.

This is just pure speculation (hehe, we're on an internet message board..LOL) but I personally think that the ATV2's implementation of a particular HDMI spec is causing a range of problems across many different TV models.

I think as they gather more data on affected TV models, they will have a better chance of solving the problem.
jajohns8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 11:52 AM   #3
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You should be able to set that input of your TV to NOT auto zoom. It's looking for 4:3 content and trying to eliminate the side borders. Surely you can stop that behavior.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 12:07 PM   #4
mstrze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Send a message via AIM to mstrze
Can you specify the output on the current model ATV? On my older-gen ATV, I could specify anything from 480i to 1080p.

Maybe it's outputting that 480, like another poster suggested and this is causing your TV to think it's a letterboxed image and trying to exapnd it to fill the screen.

Regardless though, I am sure your TV has an option to turn off this autozoom.

It doesn't autozoom for your other content/boxes? DVD? BluRay? Cable or sat?
mstrze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 12:18 PM   #5
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I believe that the recent Pioneer plasma TVs will detect black side bars even when receiving 1080p. The idea would be that a cable or satellite provider is sending 4:3 content embedded within a 16:9 broadcast, and the TV would automatically zoom to fit. This could happen on an old show, commercial, etc.

I've also seen the behavior during a Blu-ray session with something old like Star Trek TOS. With autozoom enabled the TV will go ahead and fit this to the screen despite the fact that it's receiving a 1080p signal.

I can't say that I've seen the detection fail, but I honestly don't intentionally use it either.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 12:21 PM   #6
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
You should be able to set that input of your TV to NOT auto zoom. It's looking for 4:3 content and trying to eliminate the side borders. Surely you can stop that behavior.
You can set the type of signal from the ATV (I set mine to upscale to 1080p), and then make sure the TV is set to receive that same format on the ATV input. That should eliminate any autozoom problems.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail Sending from Wrong Account undertheweather OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Mar 6, 2014 05:04 PM
iPhone: Iphone sending wrong account name in emails... Flyers66 iOS 6 4 Dec 20, 2012 01:54 PM
iMessage sending to wrong person MetallicRage23 iPhone 1 Sep 12, 2012 10:46 AM
Wrong name when sending email's from @me.com address KeeleeK iCloud and Apple Services 2 Aug 14, 2012 07:53 AM
Apple sending a wrong hard drive on my Macbook Retina Zapages MacBook Pro 8 Jul 31, 2012 09:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC