Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:05 AM   #1
Mello1me
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Adding RAM After Purchase

I bought my MBA 11'' base model at Best Buy (sigh), and I asked if I could ever upgrade the RAM from 2gb to 4gb in the future. They said yes they could with no problem, but I have read a few articles that say it is next to impossible to do that. Can Best Buy or Apple add 2gb of RAM to a MBA? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks,
-Mike

UPDATE: Best Buy said sorry and they will let me return my 2gb MBA for a 4gb MBA

Last edited by Mello1me; Jan 6, 2011 at 03:54 PM. Reason: UPDATE JAN 6
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:10 AM   #2
Maven1975
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mello1me View Post
I bought my MBA 11'' base model at Best Buy (sigh), and I asked if I could ever upgrade the RAM from 2gb to 4gb in the future. They said yes they could with no problem, but I have read a few articles that say it is next to impossible to do that. Can Best Buy or Apple add 2gb of RAM to a MBA? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks,
-Mike
Cant be done. Take it back for a refund.
Maven1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:46 AM   #3
Xeperu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mello1me View Post
I bought my MBA 11'' base model at Best Buy (sigh), and I asked if I could ever upgrade the RAM from 2gb to 4gb in the future. They said yes they could with no problem, but I have read a few articles that say it is next to impossible to do that. Can Best Buy or Apple add 2gb of RAM to a MBA? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks,
-Mike
No problem.

You'll need the following.



and a handfull of

Good luck!!

(On a serious note, get a refund).
Xeperu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 03:34 AM   #4
Mello1me
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I know that i cant do it myself, but can apple?
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 03:50 AM   #5
gonnabuyamacbsh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mello1me View Post
I know that i cant do it myself, but can apple?
They could but they wont.
gonnabuyamacbsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 04:07 AM   #6
fs454
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mello1me View Post
I know that i cant do it myself, but can apple?
Never going to happen in a million years. It's next to physically impossible to add ram to these notebooks.
__________________
15" rMBP Haswell / 2.3 Quad i7 / 16GB / 512GB / 750M 2GB
Mac Pro '08 2.8ghz 8-Core / 28GB RAM / GTX470 / 240GB SSD/ 3.8TB
11" MacBook Air 1.6/4gb/128gb
iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Space Grey
fs454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 04:24 AM   #7
axu539
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
OP, I would go and exchange for a 4 GB model as soon as possible. Since Best Buy misinformed you at the time of purchase, there should be no problem doing the exchange. Even if you don't need 4 GB now, you will have peace of mind that stuff you buy in the future will work on your new computer. Also, consider that Lion might/might not need more RAM to run smoothly when it drops next year. Good luck.
axu539 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 06:02 AM   #8
Stevm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fs454 View Post
Never going to happen in a million years. It's next to physically impossible to add ram to these notebooks.
It's far from 'physically impossible'.

It'll just require far more effort than is economically viable.
Stevm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 12:27 PM   #9
Mello1me
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by axu539 View Post
OP, I would go and exchange for a 4 GB model as soon as possible. Since Best Buy misinformed you at the time of purchase, there should be no problem doing the exchange. Even if you don't need 4 GB now, you will have peace of mind that stuff you buy in the future will work on your new computer. Also, consider that Lion might/might not need more RAM to run smoothly when it drops next year. Good luck.
Thanks ill try to exchange it.
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 12:35 PM   #10
mike.coulter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cardiff
Send a message via MSN to mike.coulter
I like the way in which they lied to you, clearly not knowing what they were talking about.
__________________
21.5" iMac, Core 2 Duo 3.06ghz, 8gb RAM / i7 2600k, 8gb RAM, 6950@6970 Gaming PC / 15" iMac, G4 700mhz, 512mb RAM / 80gb iPod Video / 16gb iPod Touch
mike.coulter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 12:49 PM   #11
n1tut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Old Deer, Scotland
Never seen so much crap talked about 2GB v 4GB. I have just bought the basic 11" model, and for what I use it for, along with probably 90% of the members on here, it could hardly work any faster.

Granted I am not using Autocad 2011 or intensive Photoshop work, but you are talking about returning it for a 4GB model, and it sounds as if you are going to do that purely on reading some of the posts on here as opposed to having a problem with 2GB.

I read continual posts that 4 will make so much difference compared to 2, but IT WILL NOT in normal usage. Neither will 1.6 compared to 1.4, but obviously a 128GB SSD as opposed to 64 will do if you need the extra storage.

Work out what you are going to use it for, then start working out if you need upgrades which will cost you hundreds of dollars.

tut
n1tut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 01:06 PM   #12
cleric
macrumors 6502a
 
cleric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
If you can't afford the extra $100 you probably shouldn't be spending $1000+ on a macbook air.
__________________
MacBook Air Rev D. 1.86ghz 4gb Ram 128gb SSD
iPhone 4 16gb
cleric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 01:24 PM   #13
size100
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
Never seen so much crap talked about 2GB v 4GB. I have just bought the basic 11" model, and for what I use it for, along with probably 90% of the members on here, it could hardly work any faster.

Granted I am not using Autocad 2011 or intensive Photoshop work, but you are talking about returning it for a 4GB model, and it sounds as if you are going to do that purely on reading some of the posts on here as opposed to having a problem with 2GB.

I read continual posts that 4 will make so much difference compared to 2, but IT WILL NOT in normal usage. Neither will 1.6 compared to 1.4, but obviously a 128GB SSD as opposed to 64 will do if you need the extra storage.

Work out what you are going to use it for, then start working out if you need upgrades which will cost you hundreds of dollars.

tut
I agree. Getting 4gb isn't needed for most users.

Opening every standard application that comes with MBA along with safari with 6 or 7 intensive web pages(hulu,youtube videos) is about 2gb of ram. Not something most people will do on an 11.6" notebook.

Last edited by size100; Jan 6, 2011 at 01:30 PM.
size100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:11 PM   #14
Mello1me
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
Never seen so much crap talked about 2GB v 4GB. I have just bought the basic 11" model, and for what I use it for, along with probably 90% of the members on here, it could hardly work any faster.

Granted I am not using Autocad 2011 or intensive Photoshop work, but you are talking about returning it for a 4GB model, and it sounds as if you are going to do that purely on reading some of the posts on here as opposed to having a problem with 2GB.

I read continual posts that 4 will make so much difference compared to 2, but IT WILL NOT in normal usage. Neither will 1.6 compared to 1.4, but obviously a 128GB SSD as opposed to 64 will do if you need the extra storage.

Work out what you are going to use it for, then start working out if you need upgrades which will cost you hundreds of dollars.

tut


hmm well i am having problem with programs loading. it is my primary/only computer. that i use for all of my work/play. thanks for the input.
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:28 PM   #15
n1tut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Old Deer, Scotland
if you list the programs that you are having problems with loading, then the experienced users on here would be able to tell you whether it was a RAM shortage or something else.

I am an experienced computer user from the days of my first Spectrum, but this is my first Mac. From what I can see it makes more use of available memory than my Windows computers, which run just about anything on 2GB with Win7.

tut
n1tut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 02:42 PM   #16
size100
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
if you list the programs that you are having problems with loading, then the experienced users on here would be able to tell you whether it was a RAM shortage or something else.

I am an experienced computer user from the days of my first Spectrum, but this is my first Mac. From what I can see it makes more use of available memory than my Windows computers, which run just about anything on 2GB with Win7.

tut
Windows 7 makes very good use of extra RAM. It will pre-fetch any program it thinks you may need and put it in ram. It will leave things in ram, like most operating systems. Most people will have all over their ram utilized on their windows7 computer, if not most if it. Even if they are at 8gb. One thing windows7 does do is turn of pre-fetching programs with an SSD, or at least used to, for a few reasons. win7 will run just about everything on 2gb, at least for normal daily useage, but, when you get to more ram every program you start will end up being read mostly from ram. Any recently used program will end up being read from ram. With a windows desktop and the prices of ddr3 people may as well just pile on the RAM.

Half my ram right now in windows is 'standby' and 0-10mb free.


For a laptop like the MBA people should be more concerned about the actual memory that is in-use.




I'd like some screenshots of users activity monitors during their day-to-day tasks. (ram tab, sorted by mem usage)

Last edited by size100; Jan 6, 2011 at 02:50 PM.
size100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 03:08 PM   #17
Mello1me
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by size100 View Post
I'd like some screenshots of users activity monitors during their day-to-day tasks. (ram tab, sorted by mem usage)
is this what you are looking for?

This is day to say...Scottrader Streaming quotes

And even sometimes
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ishot-1.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	25.4 KB
ID:	266519   Click image for larger version

Name:	ishot-2.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	266520  

Last edited by Mello1me; Jan 6, 2011 at 03:11 PM. Reason: add Pic
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 03:15 PM   #18
lucashungaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Talking What is normal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
Never seen so much crap talked about 2GB v 4GB. I have just bought the basic 11" model, and for what I use it for, along with probably 90% of the members on here, it could hardly work any faster.

Granted I am not using Autocad 2011 or intensive Photoshop work, but you are talking about returning it for a 4GB model, and it sounds as if you are going to do that purely on reading some of the posts on here as opposed to having a problem with 2GB.

I read continual posts that 4 will make so much difference compared to 2, but IT WILL NOT in normal usage. Neither will 1.6 compared to 1.4, but obviously a 128GB SSD as opposed to 64 will do if you need the extra storage.

Work out what you are going to use it for, then start working out if you need upgrades which will cost you hundreds of dollars.

tut
I don't want to start a flame war, just note one thing: what's normal usage? It varies from person to person.

2GB are enough to you and I believe that. To me, 4GB makes a lot of difference. It all depends on your daily (aka "normal") usage.

Just as a reference, I'm a software developer. I write web sites and backends in Ruby and use Safari, Chrome, Vim/TextMate, MySQL (and other databases, sometimes concurrently) and a web server for local development. Add to this all the "trival" stuff I use (like Adium, Sparrow for GMail, Twitter for Mac, Dropbox, Droplr, Jumpcut, Caffeine, iTunes) and OS services like Spotlight indexing, and 4GB is a nice jump. I had a MacBook with 2GB until some time ago, it wasn't unusable of course, but it swapped all the time.

Just my 2 cents.

Update: here's my system memory stats: http://d.pr/17SL

Last edited by lucashungaro; Jan 6, 2011 at 03:35 PM. Reason: adding memory stats
lucashungaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 03:34 PM   #19
size100
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mello1me View Post
is this what you are looking for?

This is day to say...Scottrader Streaming quotes

And even sometimes
ya, but i was more looking for the full screen shot of the activity monitor window. You have low-ish page-outs, but that depends on the uptime.
size100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 04:49 PM   #20
n1tut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Old Deer, Scotland
Appreciate that Luc, but you knew before you bought what your usage would be, and that the demands from that meant that 4GB would make a difference.

I think that too many just go for the adage that 4 is automatically better, whereas if it is not required it will not be used. Understand the point of future proofing, but Windows 7 actually used memory more efficiently than XP or Vista, so I would hope that Apple would do the same.

In actuality of course it does not affect me whatever configuration a buyer purchases but here in the UK the upgrade costs £80, so as the main point of a Forum is to discuss and pass on advice, it is worth making the point.

tut
n1tut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 04:56 PM   #21
n1tut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Old Deer, Scotland
"Even if they are at 8gb......"

With the proviso that Win7 32bit will only use a max of 3.8GB memory.

tut
n1tut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 05:25 PM   #22
Mello1me
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
Appreciate that Luc, but you knew before you bought what your usage would be, and that the demands from that meant that 4GB would make a difference.

tut
Your right, you UK blokes always know whats best for us Yanks.

Last edited by Mello1me; Jan 6, 2011 at 05:53 PM. Reason: More wit needed
Mello1me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 05:52 PM   #23
lucashungaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1tut View Post
Appreciate that Luc, but you knew before you bought what your usage would be, and that the demands from that meant that 4GB would make a difference.

I think that too many just go for the adage that 4 is automatically better, whereas if it is not required it will not be used. Understand the point of future proofing, but Windows 7 actually used memory more efficiently than XP or Vista, so I would hope that Apple would do the same.

In actuality of course it does not affect me whatever configuration a buyer purchases but here in the UK the upgrade costs £80, so as the main point of a Forum is to discuss and pass on advice, it is worth making the point.

tut
Yeah, that's the point. One can't say what amount of memory will be enough for other person based on one's own day to day usage.
lucashungaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 07:01 PM   #24
dal20402
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Swapping sucks. Life's too short for swapping, even with an SSD (which makes it a bit less painful). You will swap with 2 GB unless all you do is check your email and browse the web.

For anyone running a VM, 4 GB is the absolute minimum. For my usage, 6 GB is the minimum to be reasonably sure there will be no swapping (but obviously the MBA can't take that much).
dal20402 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2011, 07:08 PM   #25
size100
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dal20402 View Post
Swapping sucks. Life's too short for swapping, even with an SSD (which makes it a bit less painful). You will swap with 2 GB unless all you do is check your email and browse the web.

For anyone running a VM, 4 GB is the absolute minimum. For my usage, 6 GB is the minimum to be reasonably sure there will be no swapping (but obviously the MBA can't take that much).
For the people using 2gb or ram on their air they have not really been swapping. You can do a lot more than reading email without swapping. Saying all you can do is check your email and browse the web is very mis-leading. It will take a heck of a lot more before you hit 2gb. Open some programs and see how long it takes for the 'active' memory to get to 1.2gb.

VM is another thing and a good reason for 4gb.

Last edited by size100; Jan 6, 2011 at 07:13 PM.
size100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
11'', best buy, ram, ram upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding/testing in-app purchase process (iTunes connect) hassoon iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Aug 26, 2013 04:07 PM
Leave In Old RAM When Adding More? benh911f iMac 3 Jan 12, 2013 03:29 PM
Will adding RAM make a difference? 2012Tony2012 iMac 37 Dec 15, 2012 04:00 PM
Adding RAM to the 27" yourself DestroVega iMac 10 Dec 14, 2012 08:18 AM
Adding SSD & RAM after Purchase - iMac 2011 LRO iMac 40 Aug 28, 2012 09:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC