Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daysleeper33

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 27, 2005
Hi everyone,

I have been a PC user for years and have always noticed macs from afar and wondered what they would be like. This summer I got to work on one with the new (to me) OS X something and really enjoy the new interface and look over the old 9 something. Ever since then I have been nothing but impressed with some of macs programs such as imove idvd and such, in fact the entire Ilife software package is pulling me towards buying one of these macs among other things.

I'm a high end amateur photographer who lives in Photoshop CS and do make use of my digital slrs raw files rather frequently. I do batch processing about once a week of about say 50 or so images.
I have recently started doing some documentaries and have really enjoyed it and would like to use a mac to create these because it just seems easier on mac then pc. For my price range video editing is just for fun not professional in any way so I can't afford the higher end programs such as Premier or Final Cut I just want to enjoy myself with my documentaries about friends and history. I digress, I will never play computer games because I see them as a waste of time and something that could potential crash my computer, anyways I'm a card player not a video gamer.

So in summary
I need something that can
Do lots of work in Photoshop
Do video editing
Burn DVDs for those videos

Here is the computer i currently have
Notebook Emachine
AMD Athlon™ XP-M 2400+ / 1.8GHz
512MB DDR Ram
40GB Hard Drive
ATI Mobility RADEON IGP 320M Video
CD-RW / DVD-ROM Combo Drive

My major gripe is to small a hard drive, not enough ram and no dvd burner.