Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:24 PM   #1
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
PowerLogix Dual G4 Upgrades

PowerLogix is releasing two new processor upgrade cards:

PowerForce Dual G4 Series 100 - Dual G4-7450 or G4-7455, Speeds up to 1GHz
PowerForce Dual G4 Series 133 - Dual G4-7450 or G4-7455, Speeds up to 1GHz

Speeds range from 800MHz to 1GHz... with faster models available later.

All PowerForce Dual models include 2MB of L3 cache, which is twice what Apple includes on their newest Dual 867 MHz and Dual 1 GHz models. This means an older PowerMac will outperform the latest Apple models, when comparing equivalent clock speeds.

Pricing for the low end model (Dual 800 or Dual 867 depending on the model) is $799.
Pricing for the high end model (Dual 1GHz) is $1199.
arn is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:27 PM   #2
vniow
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: I accidentally my whole location.
YES! DUAL 800 IN MY (future) CUBE! WOHOOO!
vniow is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:31 PM   #3
daRAT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by edvniow
YES! DUAL 800 IN MY (future) CUBE! WOHOOO!

You got right! Heck, thats what credit cards are for
daRAT is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:37 PM   #4
rice_web
macrumors 6502a
 
rice_web's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Oh, if only finding a Cube was easier.

Oh well, I can always upgrade my Sawtooth to a nice dual-1GHz setup.
rice_web is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:51 PM   #5
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Ha, this is fantastic - a dual 1 GHz in my Sawtooth!

But for you cube guys, notice the fan that comes on the heatsink?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:57 PM   #6
daRAT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
Ha, this is fantastic - a dual 1 GHz in my Sawtooth!

But for you cube guys, notice the fan that comes on the heatsink?

D
Yup, so? *grin* Noise as a trade off for speed isn't a problem. I'll never hear it over my firewire drive vibrating on the table
daRAT is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:01 PM   #7
vniow
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: I accidentally my whole location.
Well Powerlogix says it's Cube-compatible, so I would assume that the giant heatsink in the middle of the cube plus a small, powerful fan at the bottom might do the trick. WOHOOO!! anywayz

Last edited by vniow; Sep 3, 2002 at 10:04 PM.
vniow is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:06 PM   #8
bond2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ohio
Send a message via AIM to bond2
Worth the extra $400 for the 1ghz???

What do you guys think, is it worth an extra $400 for the dual 1ghz card?? Will we really see that big of a performance gain?? I can't wait to see some benchmarks. Man Apple is not gonna be happy!! They better get their ass in gear and get some fast IBM chips in the powermacs or something.
__________________
Jeff
bond2 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:25 PM   #9
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
The reason for this is that there might be a whole new chip in the works anyway (IBM) so why would Apple care. A dual anything would be much faster than what I've got now and extend the working life of my machine by a couple of years - well worth the invetstment. That and a new graphics card.

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:52 PM   #10
gizmovision
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA, EARTH
Exclamation

this is good news hopfully I canceled my single 1000 mhz upgrade in time...

please oh please Mac GODS, and Larry!!
[from OWC]
gizmovision is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:55 PM   #11
GBskate
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CALIFORNIA BABY!!!
Talking

YES!!! IM GOING DUAL BABY!!!! OOHHHHH YA!!!!! ANYBODY KNOW WHENIT WILL BE UP FOR SALE?
GBskate is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:59 PM   #12
e-coli
macrumors 68000
 
e-coli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
WORD!!!!!!!

I've been holding out to buy a new machine for 2 years. Now for $1200, I can have one that's FASTER than the apple-branded DDR hack?????

WOOOOOO-HOOOOOO!!!!!!

Last edited by e-coli; Sep 3, 2002 at 11:07 PM.
e-coli is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:11 PM   #13
seven5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Pricey?

is it me or is this kind of pricey?

you could sell your g4 500mhz and put the upgrade money towards a nice NEW tower, with much newer features (probably firewire b and bluetooth in jan).

This just seems a litte expensive, when you combine that price with what you could get for selling your old one. And i own an 800mhz, and this is no deal to me.
seven5 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:15 PM   #14
treellama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Caution, Sawtooth owners

Sawtooth owners, make sure you check if your machine can support dual CPU's before you order! My G4/400 doesn't, so it's a single G4/800 for me

http://www.powerlogix.com/support2/notices/pfdualg4100/
treellama is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:27 PM   #15
gelbin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
do i really have to run system profiler in 9 - and am i screwed....

i ran it in 10.2 and this is what i see:

Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics) (version = 2.8)



am i out of luck??!?!?
__________________
right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant.
gelbin is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:43 PM   #16
Choppaface
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFBA
where exacly does it go in the cube? O_o

and what is with their benchmarks???? they show a wallstreet beating a lombard WTF?
Choppaface is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 01:04 AM   #17
daveg5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
$1200 Ouch!!!

Lets see dual 867 $1600-1699, 10.2 Hard drive cd/rw warranty, video card, ddr 2GB max., dual optical and new box. or
$799 for the dual 867. {what no trade in discount}
About $800 less than a new computer
Dual 1ghz $1999 Apple store or left over, Super drive, 80GB hard drive, 512 Ram, warranty, video card, 10.2 for $19.99 and a new box or
$1199 for dual 1GHZ. {what no trade up for old processor}
About $800 less than a new computer
About $1300 less than the new ddr 1GHZ
Is it worth it? yes and no.

Heres hoping Sonnet will join the fray and make these prices fall.
and what about the biege and blue and white G3's and Yikes G4.
Even the 7300-9600 series pci models have an 800MHZ processor available.

I was told by a benchmarking site about 4 weeks ago about these dual processor upgrades except for the price and manufactor and release dates.
The first round of benchmarks are done and will most likely be posted by nextweek.
daveg5 is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 02:15 AM   #18
GetSome681
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Re: Caution, Sawtooth owners

Quote:
Originally posted by treellama
Sawtooth owners, make sure you check if your machine can support dual CPU's before you order! My G4/400 doesn't, so it's a single G4/800 for me

http://www.powerlogix.com/support2/notices/pfdualg4100/
Yup, I had this same problem when I tried buying the Sonnet dual 500 upgrade! !@##%^%^&%^*#@$!@#$!@#$%$& DARN!@! Would have loved dualies!!!!
GetSome681 is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 02:35 AM   #19
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally posted by e-coli
WORD!!!!!!!

I've been holding out to buy a new machine for 2 years. Now for $1200, I can have one that's FASTER than the apple-branded DDR hack?????

WOOOOOO-HOOOOOO!!!!!!
I think you are mistaken about it being faster. There is no way any older system with a Dual Gig upgrade will ever show consistent across the board speed advantages over the new DDR machines. It is incorrect to call the current implementation of DDR a hack seeing how the PCI bus, 3 ATA Busses, and firewire/usb can all read and write to the ram at the full DDR capability. This gives Graphics cards a tremendous advantage in that they can access the DDR ram on the board at nearly the same speed as they're on board ram. Besides all the tests I've seen with DDR fully implemented on any computer with a capable bus shows very little increase in speed. This is because the access latency of DDR is on average no faster than SDR and sometimes even slower. This allows little to no speed increase on small bunches of files and only are large blocks. So you get no were calling it a hack because the biggest advantage Apple or any computer company can get with DDR has already been provided to us in the use of Direct Memory Access.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 02:40 AM   #20
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
The Dual/Ghz upgrade card is a joke. For $1,699 you can get a new Dual 867Mhz machine with 4 open pci slots and AGP 4x slot that will take or has a much faster graphics card then you can put in any older machine. It also has 4 DDR 266 Ram Slots and an ATA 100, 66, and 33 busses all built in.

If anyone out there is willing to pay a $1,000 for a dual/Ghz upgrade over the Dual 867 let me be the first one to say they are completely Nucking Futz.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 03:28 AM   #21
theaz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by MacBandit
The Dual/Ghz upgrade card is a joke. For $1,699 you can get a new Dual 867Mhz machine with 4 open pci slots and AGP 4x slot that will take or has a much faster graphics card then you can put in any older machine. It also has 4 DDR 266 Ram Slots and an ATA 100, 66, and 33 busses all built in.

If anyone out there is willing to pay a $1,000 for a dual/Ghz upgrade over the Dual 867 let me be the first one to say they are completely Nucking Futz.
It all depends what you want. For me, with a cube, this would rock: i would rather upgrade my cube rather than replace it. sighhh. i think i am in love...
theaz is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 03:35 AM   #22
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally posted by theaz


It all depends what you want. For me, with a cube, this would rock: i would rather upgrade my cube rather than replace it. sighhh. i think i am in love...
Don't forget it adds a fan. A big part of the cube is it's silence. It will no longer be silent. Though you can add a single processor 1Ghz upgrade with no fan.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 03:47 AM   #23
groovebuster
macrumors 65816
 
groovebuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 3rd rock from the sun...
It's worse than that... It will cost 1,200$

Well, that is a ****-load of money for just a processor card! Are there really people who gonna buy that? 800$ would have been the max I would have been willing to pay... Just all the other components in a new PM (DP867MHz) are worth way more than the 400$ price difference!

You still can get good money for a used G4 PowerMac (between 500-1,000$). Plus the money for the upgrade card you'll have the funds to get a brand new DP PowerMac.

Oh, well...

groovebuster
__________________
Look & Feel of Windows: "I LOOK at the product and I FEEL that it doesn't solve my problem."
groovebuster is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 03:52 AM   #24
gotohamish
macrumors 65816
 
gotohamish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BKLN
Can I?

I have a G4-500 and 10.2's APS says it's (... AGP 2.9)
Anyone know if I'm eligible?

Also...

My thought: I'm not in the market for a new Mac yet, and by the time I feel I can afford a new one/need a new one, this ol' G4's not gonna look too exciting on the second hand market. As one of those people that would rather keep it that get $500 when that day comes, the dual-upgrades will start getting replaced and the price will have dropped. So I can keep the old horse going THEN, not neccessarily straight away when the finance doesn't seem to great.

My 2p.

H
gotohamish is offline   0
Old Sep 4, 2002, 07:57 AM   #25
gizmovision
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA, EARTH
Question 10.2 ASP report

mine says Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics) (version = 2.7)

I havn't been able to boot an OS 9 disc in a long whlile to even check, the drive spits them out, must taste bad!
I'll have to ask PowerLogix or OWC's Larry...
gizmovision is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerlogix powerforce 7447A 1.8ghz Skaredmask PowerPC Macs 3 Mar 4, 2014 10:11 PM
Barefeats tests Dual X5690 Maxed Out Mac Pro, with Dual D700s...check it out MacVidCards Mac Pro 4 Oct 30, 2013 04:48 PM
How to overclock a PowerLogix CPU upgrade macuser453787 PowerPC Macs 1 Jul 19, 2012 12:11 AM
Dual thunderbolt ports with adapters = dual gigabit NIC? ohkuipo MacBook Pro 1 Jun 12, 2012 03:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC