Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2011, 03:11 AM   #1
Chadalac2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Smile Hackint0sh (Do not read if all you want to do is flame...)

This really does not belong here but I was not sure where to it ...
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I figure some PowerPC people might have a hackint0sh laying around.
I recently bought a Seagate 320 gb external hard drive and wanted to boot osx from it. I want to leave my laptops hdd alone. My hp laptop supports it, but I have no idea where to start at (other than double checking the specs).
I have been googling for quite awhile now and have come across so many methods. I have checked MRoogle, but I just wanted some insight while I was searching

Thanks in advance, and sorry for the noobness, lol.
Chadalac2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2011, 03:37 AM   #2
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
not to sound like a deuce bag, but if you cannot even figure out what to do (like read everything on http://www.osx86project.org/ )then you have no business or place running osx on x86 hardware.

do yourself a favor and go and buy a mac. OSX on non supported intel hardware is a nightmare, (though much less these days), and even more of a nightmare updating OSX.

Its a hassle....

pls go and read everything you can on the above website, then ask there if you are still way keen...

good luck
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2011, 03:47 AM   #3
Chadalac2
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
It may be a hassle, but its something I want to do. I did check the site before I posted and there was no good guide for an external hdd. I have my reasons for wanting to install osx on a pc.
Chadalac2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2011, 09:39 AM   #4
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Have you read everything on that link? If not, that's a great place to start. Your HP doesn't "support" OS X, though it may be compatible. If you've got one of the few non-Apple laptops that's fully OS X compatible, you're dang lucky.

Go the most legal route possible. Buy Snow Leopard (it's only $30) so that you have a legal copy, since in order to install it you have to download a patched version.

Also, this really isn't the place for a Hackintosh thread. There's a huge merged thread in the Mac OS X sub-forum, have you looked through that? I wouldn't be surprised if this gets merged with that one eventually.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 12:52 AM   #5
macgeek18
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Murrieta,CA
Hahaha, it says my CoreDuo Thinkpad T61 is compatible with 10.6.5. Hehehe I may have fun with this...
__________________
MacBook Pro 13";2.5Ghz Core i5;8GB DDR3;480GBSSD;OSX 10.9.2 Mavericks
iPhone 5c, 16GB, White, Verizon 4G LTE.
macgeek18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 12:55 AM   #6
Dalton63841
macrumors 65816
 
Dalton63841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SEMO, USA
Check out insanelymac.com also. Lots over there. Also, unless you have one of the ones with weird USB quirks, then just install it the same as if the drive were internal. Mac isn't picky like that.
Dalton63841 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 08:01 AM   #7
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
I got a hackintosh notebook pc and it is working very well up until now. Updated to 10.6.6, "Snow Leopard" retail install. Got Mac App Store on it, and it's been running pretty well, maybe for a couple of years now, I have leopard on it before. It could boot on an external USB drive but it would be slow.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 08:36 AM   #8
Creative One
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
This is a Mac forum, for true mac owners. This is not a forum to talk about illegally installing Mac OS X on inferior hardware. Also, how do you even think the PowerPC forum is the best for OSX86?
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Creative One is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 09:01 AM   #9
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webers View Post
This is a Mac forum, for true mac owners. This is not a forum to talk about illegally installing Mac OS X on inferior hardware. Also, how do you even think the PowerPC forum is the best for OSX86?
Its not illegal and there's lots of threads here MR talking about hackintoshes. This is the wrong forum and I suggest the OP search/mroogle them.

The success/failure of doing a hackintosh boils down to compatible hardware and the forums over at insanelymac should be quite helpful.

As for the crack about inferior hardware, my hackintosh is actually superior hardware. I have to notch components that exceed what apple provides. I'm running a Core i7 930 processor with a better case, memory, power supply and GPU then what apple provides. In fact my machine is compariable to the Mac Pro but was built for only 1,000 where as the MacPro costs 2,500.

If you want to pay for apple products, fine, but don't blindly and ignorantly claim non apple components are inferior. [/rant]
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 09:25 AM   #10
secondhandloser
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wash, DC/ HSV, AL
^sick.


+ 1 to reading up on osx86project and insanely mac-- it's good to be familiar with the sites before you run into issues.
secondhandloser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 09:27 AM   #11
ZilogZ80
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webers View Post
This is a Mac forum, for true mac owners. This is not a forum to talk about illegally installing Mac OS X on inferior hardware. Also, how do you even think the PowerPC forum is the best for OSX86?
not illegal (in the criminal sense).
not necessarily inferior hardware.
definitely correct about it being the wrong forum though!
ZilogZ80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 09:49 AM   #12
KadMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
As for the crack about inferior hardware, my hackintosh is actually superior hardware. I have to notch components that exceed what apple provides. I'm running a Core i7 930 processor with a better case, memory, power supply and GPU then what apple provides. In fact my machine is compariable to the Mac Pro but was built for only 1,000 where as the MacPro costs 2,500.
Not to be a jerk, but what case did you use? I have been looking for a good case to use as well and wanted to find a good quality case.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad 3rd Generation
13" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4 C2D - 6GB DDR3 - 128 GB SSD SATA III HD - GeForce 320M
KadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 10:17 AM   #13
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I purchased the Silverstone Fortress FT02b (black) case.

This is one of the best cases for air cooled setups
Thumb resize.

Between the monster Noctua NH-D14 cpu cooler and this case, I have the Core i7 2.8GHz overclocked to 3.5GHz and my temps are constant under 34c.

The case has a great minimalistic industrial look like the MacPro, the positive air flow design moves some serious air across the components and surprisingly its not loud. I've had louder cases, in fact this replaced an antec 300 case which was much louder.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:37 AM   #14
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
The case has a great minimalistic industrial look like the MacPro, the positive air flow design moves some serious air across the components and surprisingly its not loud.
Interesting design. So any cables you attach to expansion cards plug in to the top?!?

The mini ATX version (FT03) is interesting too, but will only take a slimline ODD.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:40 AM   #15
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
There's cut outs on the case to route all cabling behind the mother board pan. This makes cable management much cleaner and keeps the air flow unimpeded.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 12:42 PM   #16
KadMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
The case has a great minimalistic industrial look like the MacPro, the positive air flow design moves some serious air across the components and surprisingly its not loud. I've had louder cases, in fact this replaced an antec 300 case which was much louder.
This really does look like a great case. So you find the quality of the case compares to the Mac Pro? I have seen some PC cases where it just feels like a big metal box.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad 3rd Generation
13" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4 C2D - 6GB DDR3 - 128 GB SSD SATA III HD - GeForce 320M
KadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 01:08 PM   #17
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by KadMac View Post
I have seen some PC cases where it just feels like a big metal box.
And the Mac Pro isn't

Seriously cases from Fortress, Corsair, LIAN LI and others have been pushing the envelope on design, looks and quality for a while now.

The great thing about building your own rig is you get to choose the components, I opted for an aggressive cooling path with a great case and the best CPU cooler out there.

If you do your home work before spending a dime, you'll have a great time building the computer.

I can see my core i7 lasting me many years because of the components I selected.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 01:46 PM   #18
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
And the Mac Pro isn't

Seriously cases from Fortress, Corsair, LIAN LI and others have been pushing the envelope on design, looks and quality for a while now.

The great thing about building your own rig is you get to choose the components, I opted for an aggressive cooling path with a great case and the best CPU cooler out there.

If you do your home work before spending a dime, you'll have a great time building the computer.

I can see my core i7 lasting me many years because of the components I selected.
The Mac Pro is much more than a box - it has handles!
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 02:30 PM   #19
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismacguy View Post
The Mac Pro is much more than a box - it has handles!
It needs handles because how else will the fork lift be able to grab on to it

Seriously, my current case is great with one exception. the absence of said handles. This makes moving it a bit difficult. While the need to move a tower case is rare, there are times that you need too.

For instance I need access to the filters to clean them out (yes this case includes filters to keep the inside case dust free).
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 03:16 PM   #20
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
It needs handles because how else will the fork lift be able to grab on to it

Seriously, my current case is great with one exception. the absence of said handles. This makes moving it a bit difficult. While the need to move a tower case is rare, there are times that you need too.

For instance I need access to the filters to clean them out (yes this case includes filters to keep the inside case dust free).
Your forgetting the most vital use of said handles - when using your Mac Pro as a foot-rest, it stops your feet falling off the end....or maybe thats just me.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 10:49 PM   #21
Creative One
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Its not illegal and there's lots of threads here MR talking about hackintoshes. This is the wrong forum and I suggest the OP search/mroogle them.

The success/failure of doing a hackintosh boils down to compatible hardware and the forums over at insanelymac should be quite helpful.

As for the crack about inferior hardware, my hackintosh is actually superior hardware. I have to notch components that exceed what apple provides. I'm running a Core i7 930 processor with a better case, memory, power supply and GPU then what apple provides. In fact my machine is compariable to the Mac Pro but was built for only 1,000 where as the MacPro costs 2,500.

If you want to pay for apple products, fine, but don't blindly and ignorantly claim non apple components are inferior. [/rant]
I am sorry if that came across as rather blind and ignorant. I will say there are many nicer PC's then Macs but, the majority of the OSX86 base (blind statement) many people running OSX86 do it because they cannot afford a real Mac. It is a hassle to do it (at least way back before I got a mac it was, from what I understand now it's a lot easier), and even myself, am going to get a PC in the spring just for the 3D capabilities Nvidia cards are offering. But all in all MOST Macs are better built, internally and most certainly externally then the average Dell/HP PC today.

Sorry for that off track/un-grammasized (new word) post, i've had a few.
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Creative One is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 02:18 AM   #22
KadMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
It needs handles because how else will the fork lift be able to grab on to it

Seriously, my current case is great with one exception. the absence of said handles. This makes moving it a bit difficult. While the need to move a tower case is rare, there are times that you need too.

For instance I need access to the filters to clean them out (yes this case includes filters to keep the inside case dust free).
Can you list the exact hardware you used for your hackintosh in regards to the motherboard, ect?
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad 3rd Generation
13" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4 C2D - 6GB DDR3 - 128 GB SSD SATA III HD - GeForce 320M
KadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:43 PM   #23
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Sure, here you go.

the only thing I think I could have improved upon was the motherboard. In my initial research I was under the mistaken understanding that the P6T would be an easy MB to load OSX on. There's two other P6T motherboards, an SE version and a deluxe. These are the ones that are better. Gigabyte motherboards are generally more compatible as well, but I perfer ASUS so I went with the P6T. My advise and search out insanelymac,com, there's a number of guides based on motherboards and you can see which ones have the features you want and how easy/hard loading OSX is on. You have to be careful about which GPU you choose because apple only uses a small number of video cards so you need to get one that's compatible.


CPU..............Intel Core i7-930
CPU Cooler.......Noctua NH-D14
MotherBoard......ASUS P6T
Case.............SILVERSTONE Fortress Series FT02B
PSU..............EarthWatts 650 Watt ATX 12V Power Supply
Ram..............Gold XTC 6GB DDR3-1600
Video............GeForce GTX 260
HD...............WD Caviar Black 500gb
HD...............WD Caviar Black 1,000gb
Optical..........LG DVD burner
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 02:12 AM   #24
KadMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Sure, here you go.

the only thing I think I could have improved upon was the motherboard. In my initial research I was under the mistaken understanding that the P6T would be an easy MB to load OSX on. There's two other P6T motherboards, an SE version and a deluxe. These are the ones that are better. Gigabyte motherboards are generally more compatible as well, but I perfer ASUS so I went with the P6T. My advise and search out insanelymac,com, there's a number of guides based on motherboards and you can see which ones have the features you want and how easy/hard loading OSX is on. You have to be careful about which GPU you choose because apple only uses a small number of video cards so you need to get one that's compatible.


CPU..............Intel Core i7-930
CPU Cooler.......Noctua NH-D14
MotherBoard......ASUS P6T
Case.............SILVERSTONE Fortress Series FT02B
PSU..............EarthWatts 650 Watt ATX 12V Power Supply
Ram..............Gold XTC 6GB DDR3-1600
Video............GeForce GTX 260
HD...............WD Caviar Black 500gb
HD...............WD Caviar Black 1,000gb
Optical..........LG DVD burner
This looks great, maflynn! Thanks.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad 3rd Generation
13" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4 C2D - 6GB DDR3 - 128 GB SSD SATA III HD - GeForce 320M
KadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 03:01 AM   #25
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
i did want something small and because my iBook 1.42 which i bought for the garden in summer just exploded last year ,so i bought a hackintosh netbooK the MSI wind running snow leopard back then 10.6.5 , performance was about in between the original MacBook air 1.66 and my iBook 1.42 ,but closer to the air

installing OSX was as easy as installing OSX on any Mac , some minor problems like getting a external display to work and such , but manageable without much knowledge and just like the real thing , looks like a small sister of the white MacBook for only a quarter of the price and lighter then a eMac to carry 3 floors down in the garden ,the main reason i bought it had been the still way overpriced iBooks available ,some ask as much for a iBook ,as i payed for the iMac core duo , but with not working batteries and other small things like not working usb/firewire a , so i thought better a full working refurb MSI wind netbook with warranty for 200 then a faulty 5 -6 year old iBook for 300...even if the faults are minor
downside the british summer always came when i was at work , so the hackbook did not get much use , at the end i sold it ,

would i spend money on a hackintosh again ...it depends for the reason above small netbook hackintoshed as second or third machine yes of course

but building a hackintosh as main computer from scratch sourcing all the hardware together to get something that might fail after the next update of osx ...no , then i would rather buy a PowerMac g5 dualcore 2.3 again , fast, reliable and runs osx without problem and without the fear "will the next update of OSX work "
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Jan 16, 2011 at 03:21 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Were PowerPC Macs really as slow as they are now? (No Flame!) LOLZpersonok PowerPC Macs 77 Feb 15, 2013 01:55 PM
Sand Flame: Vengeance! tracyzhang iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Jan 14, 2013 01:13 AM
Sand Flame: Vengeance! tracyzhang iPad Apps 0 Dec 18, 2012 10:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC