Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2011, 08:39 PM   #1
jw3571
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Can't Click with mouse

All of a sudden i can't click anything with my mouse. I can move the cursor around but can't click anything. What's going on? How can I restart the machine without clicking anything?
jw3571 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2011, 08:47 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
You could try disconnecting the mouse and reconnecting it (Bluetooth or USB?) or you could use the trackpad built into the MBA or you could use the power button and press it and select Restart from the following dialog or you could hold down the power button to shut down the MBA and press it again to start it up.

Btw, what MBA and Mac OS X version and what mouse are you using?
Maybe you need to clean your mouse between the button(s) and the body?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2011, 09:01 PM   #3
jw3571
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Sorry, by mouse I meant trackpad. So I can't anything.
jw3571 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2011, 09:05 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jw3571 View Post
Sorry, by mouse I meant trackpad. So I can't anything.
You can still do the restart via the power button method. Or if that does not work, you can run down the battery completely.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2011, 09:06 PM   #5
fyrefly
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
You can force a shutdown by holding the Power Button until the machine turns off.

You can also use the Shortcut keys for a shutdown w/o prompts:

CTRL+OPTION+CMD+EJECT (hold them all down at once and that should prompt a shutdown).
__________________
13" rMBP, 13" 2012 MBA, 27" i5 iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 5 32GB
fyrefly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 01:21 AM   #6
louden
macrumors 65816
 
louden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Try to log on as a guest user - that way you'll know if it's something you did on your account or if it's the machine.

I once accidentally changed the alpha/contrast on my laptop from Universal Access. Didn't know how it happened - but the guest user was fine, so I figured it was something I had done...
__________________

Dell Pentium 2 with 500 MB HD Windows 95
Compaq iPaq w/ 64MB of Ram
louden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 11:46 PM   #7
jw3571
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Restart cleared it up. Thanks.
jw3571 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM
iMac won't right click with ANY mouse (secondary click IS set) J.C iMac 9 Dec 9, 2012 11:47 AM
Right mouse Click help needed? 2012Tony2012 iMac 5 Dec 6, 2012 05:18 PM
Chrome - middle mouse click, mouse 4, mouse 5 theaero OS X 1 Nov 16, 2012 08:01 AM
Mouse only reacts after second click Macindows iMac 3 Oct 4, 2012 07:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC