Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2011, 10:38 AM   #1
princealfie
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
Smile Let's Get the Verizon iPhone Flashed to Cricket or MetroPCS!

This is the official thread now for getting the CDMA version of the iPhone 4 over to Cricket or MetroPCS. Let's do it!

CDMA Workshop here we come! ;p
__________________
albertfallickwang.artcat.com
late 2006 iMac 17" (Intel Core Duo 2) with 4 GB and 4 TB internal hard drive; Mac OS X 10.6, iPhone 3GS on T-Mobile + a few Android phones (HTC Amaze, etc.)
princealfie is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 01:43 PM   #2
locobans
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by princealfie View Post
This is the official thread now for getting the CDMA version of the iPhone 4 over to Cricket or MetroPCS. Let's do it!

CDMA Workshop here we come! ;p
To MetroPCS this is going to be something challenging
locobans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:09 PM   #3
e˛Studios
macrumors 68020
 
e˛Studios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Why would Apple even waste their time on making their phone work on a sub-prime network like GhettoPCS?

Sprint while being a longshot might be the next provider we see it on, I think T-Mobile is more likely though.
__________________
"Shine Get!"
e˛Studios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:10 PM   #4
blackberrypilot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
lol..
blackberrypilot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:13 PM   #5
kidwithdimples
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
LOL @ MetroPCS

Do people even still that b.s service?
kidwithdimples is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:15 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Lol
Why not use strings and cans?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:20 PM   #7
e˛Studios
macrumors 68020
 
e˛Studios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidwithdimples View Post
LOL @ MetroPCS

Do people even still that b.s service?
It's marketed quiet a bit to those with sub par credit that can't get a contract with a real provider.
__________________
"Shine Get!"
e˛Studios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:22 PM   #8
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Lol
Why not use strings and cans?
They are carrier locked to the air carrier. You have to find a way to jailbreak and unlock.
old-wiz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:27 PM   #9
LIVEFRMNYC
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by princealfie View Post
This is the official thread now for getting the CDMA version of the iPhone 4 over to Cricket or MetroPCS. Let's do it!

CDMA Workshop here we come! ;p
Please refrain from using the words "official" and "MetroPCS" in the same sentence.
LIVEFRMNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:45 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
They are carrier locked to the air carrier. You have to find a way to jailbreak and unlock.
Does that depend on the baseband of the can used and is the string tethered?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:47 PM   #11
alejovh1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Cricket will benefit from all those lost/stolen iphones from verizon
alejovh1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:48 PM   #12
Rodimus Prime
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by e˛Studios View Post
Why would Apple even waste their time on making their phone work on a sub-prime network like GhettoPCS?

Sprint while being a longshot might be the next provider we see it on, I think T-Mobile is more likely though.
what what would Apple have to do to make those phones work on those networks..

Oh wait nothing....
Rodimus Prime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 04:52 PM   #13
Bandolier
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
God, you people are disgusting. It's never good enough for you.
Bandolier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 05:09 PM   #14
Rodimus Prime
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandolier View Post
God, you people are disgusting. It's never good enough for you.
NO want they want is the career strangle hold to be broken and phones be complete indented of the careers which means any phone any network.

It is not to much to ask.
Rodimus Prime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 05:10 PM   #15
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
My nana wants a smartphone. Think we'll see the iPhone on Jitterbug anytime soon?
__________________
"Ignorance is not an excuse."- Goodell to Saints GM on Bountygate
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 05:15 PM   #16
kalex
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by e˛Studios View Post
Why would Apple even waste their time on making their phone work on a sub-prime network like GhettoPCS?

Sprint while being a longshot might be the next provider we see it on, I think T-Mobile is more likely though.
Same reason they gave it to ATT. same sub-prime network yet it has iphone
kalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 05:16 PM   #17
JoeG4
macrumors 68020
 
JoeG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Send a message via ICQ to JoeG4 Send a message via AIM to JoeG4
Whoa!

I like this idea. MetroPCS was $50 a month for smartphones and it trickles down to 35/mo if you pay on time for 18 months.

I.. like this idea.
JoeG4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 12:24 AM   #18
princealfie
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
Whoa!

I like this idea. MetroPCS was $50 a month for smartphones and it trickles down to 35/mo if you pay on time for 18 months.

I.. like this idea.
Love the phone but not the Verizon or AT&T plans.
__________________
albertfallickwang.artcat.com
late 2006 iMac 17" (Intel Core Duo 2) with 4 GB and 4 TB internal hard drive; Mac OS X 10.6, iPhone 3GS on T-Mobile + a few Android phones (HTC Amaze, etc.)
princealfie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 05:58 AM   #19
LIVEFRMNYC
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG4 View Post
Whoa!

I like this idea. MetroPCS was $50 a month for smartphones and it trickles down to 35/mo if you pay on time for 18 months.

I.. like this idea.
You pay for what you get. Coverage is complete crap unless you plan on staying in the same zip code all the time.

Is MetroPCS still using wap?
LIVEFRMNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 06:41 AM   #20
zenntench_oni
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Send a message via AIM to zenntench_oni
My friend is currently using a motorola DROID on MobiPCS over here at Hawaii, he's planning to buy the iPhone 4 and flash it to use it on MobiPCS.. sigh...
__________________
*[2/7/2008] iPhone 16GB 2.0 ; *[7/11/2008 ; 8:40am] White 16GB iPhone 3G ; *16gb iPhone 3G S⃣ ; *[5/??/2010] iPad 3G 32GB ; *[6/24/2010 - 7:05am] iPhone 4 Black 16GB
zenntench_oni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:58 PM   #21
princealfie
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
I plan to buy the iPhone 4 CDMA remix just to see whether I can flash this sucker to the Cricket network. And the service isn't so bad.

The question is: how easy?
__________________
albertfallickwang.artcat.com
late 2006 iMac 17" (Intel Core Duo 2) with 4 GB and 4 TB internal hard drive; Mac OS X 10.6, iPhone 3GS on T-Mobile + a few Android phones (HTC Amaze, etc.)
princealfie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 01:39 PM   #22
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
You do know that Metro PCS wants to implement extra data charges for using netflix and other video services that aren't youtube? Even if you managed to get the phone on Metro PCS, do you want to do business with a company that wants to charge you extra for using netflix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by princealfie View Post
Love the phone but not the Verizon or AT&T plans.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:47 PM   #23
Chaos123x
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Probably have to buy a verizon iPhone and a cheap sprint phone that uses data. Then some sort of baseband hack to make the iPhone show up with a sprint ESN that you got off the cheap phone.
Chaos123x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 09:42 PM   #24
trekkie604
macrumors 65816
 
trekkie604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by e˛Studios View Post
It's marketed quiet a bit to those with sub par credit that can't get a contract with a real provider.
people with sub-par credit shouldn't be increasing their debt load by subscribing to an iPhone plan.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13.3" | iPhone 5s 32GB | iPad Mini Retina LTE 32GB | Windows 7 | Photos on my flickr
trekkie604 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 11:40 PM   #25
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekkie604 View Post
people with sub-par credit shouldn't be increasing their debt load by subscribing to an iPhone plan.
True, they basicly got no choice than going to either Metro, prepaid or find a sucker to put their credit on the line
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Mobile 'Very Interested' in Adding iPhone to MetroPCS Prepaid Brand MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 16 May 6, 2014 12:48 PM
[FREE] Cricket T20 Alerts 2014 - World Cup and IPL Cricket Notifications for FREE novelaspect iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 May 3, 2014 08:07 AM
iPhone on MetroPCS Not Imminent After T-Mobile Merger MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 18 Sep 22, 2013 09:56 AM
Cricket iPhone 5 on Verizon? Blinny83 iPhone 1 Sep 15, 2012 03:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC