Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2011, 06:01 PM   #1
RedElectro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Question PowerMac G5 2ghz DP Maximum Memory Upgrade?

Hi...
What's the maximum ram upgrade I can put in my PowerMac? Apple states it's 4gb, but I've heard that this is a conservative estimate and you might actually be able to put more in?

Is this true or just a rumor? Would it be possible say, to up the memory to 8gb with 2gb sticks x4?

Thanks in advance
__________________
iMac 27" (QuadCore i7, 16GB Ram, 2TB HDD), Macbook Pro 15", PowerMac G5, Apple Cinema Display, Ipad (3rd Gen 64GB), iPhone 5, iPod Classic x2, Apple TV
RedElectro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 06:10 PM   #2
MagicBoy
macrumors 65816
 
MagicBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
What's the model identifier in System Profiler?
__________________
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz HR-AG 512GB Crucial M4 ; Mac mini (2009) 2GHz ;
iPhone 4 32GB ; iPad 16GB Wi-Fi
MagicBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 11:10 AM   #3
RedElectro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Model Name: Power Mac G5
Model Identifier: PowerMac7,3
Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 2
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.4f1

Is this enough info? Cheers
__________________
iMac 27" (QuadCore i7, 16GB Ram, 2TB HDD), Macbook Pro 15", PowerMac G5, Apple Cinema Display, Ipad (3rd Gen 64GB), iPhone 5, iPod Classic x2, Apple TV
RedElectro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 12:14 PM   #4
Rodus
macrumors 6502a
 
Rodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midlands, UK
Everymac says it'll take 8GB but you must install it in pairs.
__________________
27" iMac i5, iPad, iPhone 4S
John Pierce: After growing wildly for years, the field of computing appears to be reaching its infancy.
Rodus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 01:26 PM   #5
RedElectro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks for that, I didn't know about the Everymac website! There are two models of the G5 2.0 DP though and looking at these stats, it seems as though it's just the PCI-X version that supports 8gb of ram. Mine (unfortunately) seems to be the standard PCI version, which would appear to limit upgrades to 4gb.

pci1432,7728:

Type: Other Network Controller
Driver Installed: Yes
Bus: PCI
Slot: SLOT-2
Vendor ID: 0x1814
Device ID: 0x0601
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1432
Subsystem ID: 0x7728
Revision ID: 0x0000


Still, I should imagine just upgrading to 4gb is going to make a difference?
__________________
iMac 27" (QuadCore i7, 16GB Ram, 2TB HDD), Macbook Pro 15", PowerMac G5, Apple Cinema Display, Ipad (3rd Gen 64GB), iPhone 5, iPod Classic x2, Apple TV
RedElectro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:58 PM   #6
Rodus
macrumors 6502a
 
Rodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midlands, UK
Yeah you're right, sorry, I looked at the PCI-X, 2GB to 4 is still a big jump though, remember that most Macs today ship with 4 and it is enough for most users.
__________________
27" iMac i5, iPad, iPhone 4S
John Pierce: After growing wildly for years, the field of computing appears to be reaching its infancy.
Rodus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 04:57 PM   #7
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Apple is right, 4gb is the max for your model. You only have 4 memory slots so 4x 1gb modules. There are 8 slot models that will take 8gb total. You need DDR memory.

The late '05 G5s used DDR2 and can take 16gb total with 2gb 8x dimms.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 11:22 AM   #8
RedElectro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Ok, Thanks for that guys. 4gb will possibly do me fine anyway!

Somewhere along the line I got the impression that even though the (official) max memory was 4gb, you could (unofficially) use 2gb sticks in the four slots to get to 8gb!! I guess it was just an unfounded rumour, so I'll just have to be happy with 4gb until I've got enough for my Mac Pro!
__________________
iMac 27" (QuadCore i7, 16GB Ram, 2TB HDD), Macbook Pro 15", PowerMac G5, Apple Cinema Display, Ipad (3rd Gen 64GB), iPhone 5, iPod Classic x2, Apple TV
RedElectro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
PSU replacement for PowerMac G5 1.8 DP 2004 >>> PM G5 2005? netsurfz PowerPC Macs 3 Sep 7, 2011 09:26 AM
17" MPB good replacement for G5 2ghz DP? MACMUSO MacBook Pro 1 Oct 30, 2006 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC