Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2011, 10:17 PM   #1
bc008
macrumors 68000
 
bc008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
"New" PPC -- need to reinstall Leopard

My friend recently sold me her old ppc Powerbook G4, but it was her families old computer so I feel weird using it seeing their file names and such. I want to re install os x but they lost all of the discs.. Is there any way I can use the current ones from my iMac (snow leopard so I'm thinking no)
__________________
| iMac 21.5" - For Sale | iPhone 4 | iPad |
bc008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 10:21 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
No, as they are model specific and of course Intel only now.
You could use eBay to get a Retail version of Leopard (still expensive) or ask Apple for replacement CD/DVDs for that specific PowerBook, which might get you Mac OS X 10.3 Panther or 10.4 Tiger CD/DVDs.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 10:30 PM   #3
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
You could create a new administrator user account, then delete any others that might be on there. That will delete their files.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitioning was done wrong, now I need to reinstall Leopard hoosiergonzo Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 2, 2010 04:14 PM
Do I need to reinstall Windows if I upgrade to Snow Leopard? Boesky OS X 1 Sep 5, 2009 03:08 PM
Photo Booth application broke and I need to reinstall Leopard... chriswashere94 Mac Basics and Help 2 Aug 21, 2009 09:23 PM
Do I need to reinstall Microsoft Office 2008 when upgrading to Leopard? Hyde244 OS X 3 May 19, 2009 03:19 PM
Needing to Reinstall Leopard mynameismatt89 Mac Basics and Help 9 Nov 24, 2008 01:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC