Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2011, 08:18 AM   #1
my4k9s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
4th Generation Ipod Touch hook up to TV?

Can anyone kindly tell me in SIMPLE terms if I can hook up the 4th generation touch to a tv? I want to play my itunes music video library while on the treadmill. If I can, what kind of inputs/outputs (and that's as technical as I get) does the tv need? And do I have to have cable tv to do this? Any suggestions on what kind of tv to buy. Thank for ANY help.
my4k9s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:26 AM   #2
Drucifer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by my4k9s View Post
Can anyone kindly tell me in SIMPLE terms if I can hook up the 4th generation touch to a tv? I want to play my itunes music video library while on the treadmill. If I can, what kind of inputs/outputs (and that's as technical as I get) does the tv need? And do I have to have cable tv to do this? Any suggestions on what kind of tv to buy. Thank for ANY help.
To answer your question, yes.

What you need is a cable to connect the iPod Touch to the TV. You can purchase composite or component cables directly from Apple. Most TVs now will at least have composite inputs where you have 3 plugs that connect to the TV (one for video and two for audio, one left and one right). The component cables have 5 different plugs (3 video for a better picture quality and 2 for the left and right audio) to connect to the TV. Component inputs are generally found on new TVs and usually only on the HD models. The first TV I ever purchased that had component inputs was a 32" flat screen Toshiba.

Also no cable TV required as you are just using the TV as a means to display the content on your device. It is no different then connecting a DVD player up to your TV which also wouldn't require Cable TV.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by Drucifer; Jan 12, 2011 at 10:34 AM.
Drucifer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:48 AM   #3
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Apple sells both a composite and a component cable that will do what you want. The composite cable is standard-definition and will work on nearly any TV. The component cable is high-definition and will only work with an HDTV with component inputs.

Composite cable:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC...co=MTM3NTAxNDc

Component cable:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC...co=MTM3NDk4NTk

These cables also come with a charger, keeping your iPod charged while watching videos.

(Heh... sorry Drucifer! I should know better than to leave forum topics open in tabs without refreshing before posting...)
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 05:20 PM   #4
4DThinker
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
All it takes is money. Lots of it. Apple tax.

Just so you'll know, the Archos 43 has an mini-HDMI output and will display its entire UI and any apps it runs (including videos) on any HDTV with HDMI input, all for a $5 cable.
__________________
Visit my blog!
4DThinker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th Generation iPod Touch is very slow Scott549 iPod touch 11 Aug 16, 2014 05:27 AM
iPod touch 4th generation sweetp iPod touch 7 Jan 18, 2014 06:53 PM
iPod Touch: iPod Touch 4th generation issue Space Marine Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 14 Jul 21, 2013 11:07 AM
Siri on the 4th Generation iPod Touch? Irishman iPod touch 8 Sep 22, 2012 11:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC