Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Arfus

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 11, 2010
How do ig et into coding? i have never done any coding before

uberamd

macrumors 68030
May 26, 2009
Minnesota
Loaded question. Grab a good book, sit down for a weekend or two, read it and go through the examples, then try a project on your own.

Sander

macrumors 6502a
Apr 24, 2008
Witout giving any background, it's going to be hard to suggest a good book to you. It depends on what your goals are, what type of learning fits you, etcetera.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
What are your goals? Why do you want to do this? Have you heard it is cool and a fun way to spend your spare time? Do you want to make a career change to programming/software engineering? Do you want to build iOS apps in your spare time for your friends or to sell on the app store to make money on the side? Do you have some tasks that you want to automate on your own machine? Do you have piles of meteorological data that you want to process in an interesting way?

How much money to you want to spend learning this? Do you have time to take classes? Do you have money for a bootcamp-style course? Can you afford books?

What level of proficiency do you wish to reach? Do you want to be able to get things to sort of work for personal projects or be able to teach others about programming and write rock solid code?

We really need a lot more information before we can give you any worthwhile recommendations. Based on what you've given, open terminal and enter:
echo "#include <stdio.h>
int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
printf(\"Hello, World.\\n\");
return 0;
}" > myHello.c
gcc myHello.c
./a.out

Now you're into coding.

-Lee

Mactrillionaire

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2010