Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:15 AM   #1
Boston007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
No MacbookAir HDD icon on the desktop?

Got my new 13" MBA on Tuesday. I noticed after going through the setup menus and once it got to the desktop there is no HDD icon on the desktop. Is this standard on the MBAs? It doesn't bother me but I was just curious.

Thanks everyone
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/10GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; Samsung iPhone 5S 32GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:42 AM   #2
jace88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
It should be there... no different to any other Mac.
__________________
Macbook Air 11" OSX(SL) + Win7 (BC+Parallels 6) | Macbook 13" OSX(SL) + WXP(BC) | Alum. iMac 20"
iPhone 4S 16gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Mini | iPod 4G | iPod 5G | Shuffle 2G | Touch 1G | Shuffle 3G
jace88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:45 AM   #3
FourCandles
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England
If you want to put it back:

Finder>Preferences>General>Show these items on the desktop
FourCandles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:46 AM   #4
defender
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Click on the desktop and then go to the menubar Finder > Preferences, then tick Hard Disks under the general tab at Show These Items on the Desktop.
__________________
Giant Chicken
defender is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:52 AM   #5
Boston007
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks everyone. I know how to get it back LOL.

I was just wondering why it wasn't there when I first powered on for the very first time.
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/10GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; Samsung iPhone 5S 32GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 03:13 PM   #6
akis-k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Greece
Same here! There was no HDD icon on desktop after the setup process. I have the 11.6 MBA (1.4gh-4gb ram-128gb ssd), and i was curious as well if that is the case with all MBA's...
akis-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 03:22 PM   #7
Rooskibar03
macrumors 65816
 
Rooskibar03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: State of Denial
Mine was the same way, no HD icon.

Actually I've got used to it and left it off. I kinda like nothing on the desktop on this machine.
__________________
If I listed all my Apple related toys here my wife would kill me.
Rooskibar03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 04:22 PM   #8
Appleind
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Never really bothered
__________________
13" MacbBook Pro, 2.4GHz 4GB RAM, 11" Macbook Air 1.6Ghz 4GB Ram, 16GB iPhone 4, Apple TV, iPad 2 white 64GB wifi
Appleind is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 06:21 PM   #9
Boston007
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
thanks

Thanks guys!
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/10GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; Samsung iPhone 5S 32GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 06:25 PM   #10
MagicBoy
macrumors 65816
 
MagicBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
No HDD icon is the default in Snow Leopard.

No idea why.

Those who upgrade keep their existing settings.
__________________
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz HR-AG 512GB Crucial M4 ; Mac mini (2009) 2GHz ;
iPhone 4 32GB ; iPad 16GB Wi-Fi
MagicBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 07:44 AM   #11
Boston007
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicBoy View Post
No HDD icon is the default in Snow Leopard.

No idea why.

Those who upgrade keep their existing settings.
Very interesting. Thanks Magic!
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/10GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; Samsung iPhone 5S 32GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 08:34 AM   #12
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
I think it was to keep the desktop clean. The finder icon on the Doc can do the same thing.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Application Launch Failure on my ibook G4-cant see icons on the desktop or open Word smccormick7 Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 29, 2010 03:26 PM
How to get rid of the "iDisk" icon on the desktop? Imola Ghost OS X 3 Aug 30, 2009 05:34 PM
Changing the Appearence of the Dock and Icons on the Desktop, Xander562 OS X 2 Jul 8, 2006 05:15 PM
Can I Hide the Disk icon on the desktop? SRSound OS X 4 Aug 2, 2005 09:14 PM
Is there a way to mount cell phones as icons on the desktop in OSX? taeclee99 General Mac Discussion 3 Oct 20, 2004 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC