Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Old Jan 13, 2011, 07:39 PM   #1
stu00a
macrumors member

Reselling the Verizon iPhone 4.

Hello
I am newbie here and I just wondering if I can resell the verizon's iPhone 4.
I am tied with my family plan, and I bought my Droid X back in July 2010 with one year contract, so I can get the iphone 4 with discounted price on May 2011.
But, since my family plan includes my grandparents line (two lines) which they don't actually use that much and they don't need latest features, so I saw that I can move their upgrade eligibility to mine for discounted price.
So, what I am thinking is.

1. Transfer Upgrade Eligibility to mine from grandma's
2. Pre-Order Iphone 4 on Feb. 3rd 2011 for $199
3. Sell the Iphone 4 right after I receive.
4. Transfer Upgrade Eligibility to mine from grandpa's
5. Buy Another Iphone 4 for $199
6. Sell the Iphone 4 AGAIN after I receive.
7. By the time when MY upgrade is eligible, buy the iphone 4 AGAIN.
8. Sell my Droid X.

So this is my plan.

What do you guys think?

And the big question is that should I activate and unactivate? because when I bought my Droid X, I think I saw that "If you don't activate this phone in 30days, you will have to pay the remainder of Fully Retail Price".

Please comment.
stu00a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 08:02 PM   #2
kdarling
macrumors Demi-God

I just transferred my wife's upgrade eligibility to my line so I can get the iPhone 4, so I see your plan.

Hmm. Since I don't think a data plan is required unless you use the phones, your plan might work. But I'm not sure.

I'd go ask this question either in the Verizon section of HoFo, or on the forums at Verizon's website to get some expert opinions.

Note: Googling around, it seems that when you transfer eligibility and then upgrade, the line that you transferred _from_ gets its contract extended two years. Just so you're aware that you'd be extending both grandparents.