Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:37 PM   #1
determined09
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Cable TV service in Houston Area

I'm thinking about get cable TV soon. I was wondering if anyone here can recommend a good cable TV service provider. We've already tried to sign up with Att U-Verse but no luck with that installation( we tried four different times) One of my co-workers have recommended Comcast but, I'm see a lot of bad reviews for this company. The problem is the OTA channels are so sensitive to any movement in the house.

Thank you,
__________________
Verizon IPhone 5 16GB 15" MBP 2009
determined09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:41 PM   #2
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by determined09 View Post
I'm thinking about get cable TV soon. I was wondering if anyone here can recommend a good cable TV service provider. We've already tried to sign up with Att U-Verse but no luck with that installation( we tried four different times) One of my co-workers have recommended Comcast but, I'm see a lot of bad reviews for this company. The problem is the OTA channels are so sensitive to any movement in the house.

Thank you,
Before everybody jumps in and tells you that no one uses cable any more (), if you can get Verizon FIOS in your area, I would recommend it. Fiber optic cable to your home, great picture, pretty reliable.

I know FIOS isn't everywhere, but if you can get it...it's good cable service.
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:20 PM   #3
determined09
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks. But I just looked it up. It's not available in my area.
determined09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 10:02 PM   #4
Moyank24
macrumors 68040
 
Moyank24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: in a New York State of mind
Quote:
Originally Posted by determined09 View Post
Thanks. But I just looked it up. It's not available in my area.
I have comcast/xfinity and have had it for all 8 years I've been here (internet and cable). I have never had an issue with their service and I've never experienced the issues with the OTA channels that you've read about. Also, if you're a Rockets or Astros fan, Comcast is the only provider right now that has CSN. Maybe something with change before the NBA season, but right now it's Comcast or Bust.

My only complaint really is that I have to watch my bills. They have so many promotions from one month to the next that my bill has gone up $40 or $50 a shot. I just call and get it reduced but it's a huge PITA.
Moyank24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 10:16 PM   #5
MacNut
macrumors P6
 
MacNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyank24 View Post
I have comcast/xfinity and have had it for all 8 years I've been here (internet and cable). I have never had an issue with their service and I've never experienced the issues with the OTA channels that you've read about. Also, if you're a Rockets or Astros fan, Comcast is the only provider right now that has CSN. Maybe something with change before the NBA season, but right now it's Comcast or Bust.

My only complaint really is that I have to watch my bills. They have so many promotions from one month to the next that my bill has gone up $40 or $50 a shot. I just call and get it reduced but it's a huge PITA.
Comcast is in the process of encoding their channels. Over the air is becoming a thing of the past.

The OP really doesn't have a choice if Comcast is the only game in town that is what you are stuck with.
__________________
The thoughts in my head are rated TV-MA. Viewer discretion is advised.
Now batting, Number 2 Derek Jeter, Number 2
MacNut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 10:30 PM   #6
Moyank24
macrumors 68040
 
Moyank24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: in a New York State of mind
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNut View Post
Comcast is in the process of encoding their channels. Over the air is becoming a thing of the past.

The OP really doesn't have a choice if Comcast is the only game in town that is what you are stuck with.
It depends on the area he's in. Where I am, I have a choice of u-verse, comcast, and a few smaller companies (like Suddenlink). Also, there's Dish and DirecTV of course. I have friends who have U-Verse and they lose service intermittently for no reason (not weather or power related), which I've never experienced with Comcast, which is why I still have it all of these years later.
Moyank24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 10:36 PM   #7
MacNut
macrumors P6
 
MacNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyank24 View Post
It depends on the area he's in. Where I am, I have a choice of u-verse, comcast, and a few smaller companies (like Suddenlink). Also, there's Dish and DirecTV of course. I have friends who have U-Verse and they lose service intermittently for no reason (not weather or power related), which I've never experienced with Comcast, which is why I still have it all of these years later.
I have neighbors who have U-Verse and love it. Comcast is becoming evil with their practices in forcing you to buy a digital box for everything. Satellite has it's own issues. Sometimes I think a big c band dish is the way to go. There really is no good choice, someone has you by the balls who ever you chose.
__________________
The thoughts in my head are rated TV-MA. Viewer discretion is advised.
Now batting, Number 2 Derek Jeter, Number 2
MacNut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:02 PM   #8
determined09
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNut View Post
Comcast is in the process of encoding their channels. Over the air is becoming a thing of the past.

The OP really doesn't have a choice if Comcast is the only game in town that is what you are stuck with.
If you get their cable services, are you required to get their internet services also?

thank you,
__________________
Verizon IPhone 5 16GB 15" MBP 2009
determined09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:29 PM   #9
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
I'm in Houston with Suddenlink, and I've have two issues:

Cost of service: my monthly bill runs $230 a month- Cable, 2 Prem Channels, internet, phone service, and monitored security.

Ongoing problems with internet falling off line a couple times a day for 5-10 minutes usually. Honestly I'm not sure what the deal is there and I can't say everyone experiences this, so I am not using this as a reason to avoid them. I'm considering making them supply me with a new cable modem.

Their TIVO box works well and actually produces a better picture than the old box they supply for DVR. I have yet to find someone who is really happy with any dish service. My impression is that the draw is highly discounted service for the first year, but then it pops up pretty close to cable price. Some friends had cable, switched to Dish Network, then back to cable due to issues. Most complaints I've heard have to due with poor reception during weather events.

I thought many years ago, that a law was passed to allow different cable companies to compete in the same neighborhood? Whatever happened with that?

However, I realize that one company will supply neighborhood network to the houses, similar to how the electric service works here. You can sign up with anyone you want, but Centerpoint owns the lines to the houses. When you sign on with another provider, they are throwing electricity into the grid and technically it is being purchased from whomever you have service with. Not sure how that would related to Cable service. In fact having multiple services on one line going to a house seems like that might cause issues. Don't know, just thinking out loud.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Aug 17, 2014 at 01:35 PM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:23 PM   #10
MacNut
macrumors P6
 
MacNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by determined09 View Post
If you get their cable services, are you required to get their internet services also?

thank you,
No. Bundles are cheaper upfront but not needed.
MacNut is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Carrier in Houston Area cristovao iPhone 6 Sep 27, 2013 09:19 PM
Discounted 13" rMBP in Houston Area ?? Tobster3 MacBook Pro 3 May 8, 2013 09:26 PM
iPhone says no service even when I re-enter a service area. Any fix for this? BrandonZ iOS 6 7 Mar 27, 2013 10:59 AM
Post your LTE speeds in the Houston area determined09 iPhone 2 Nov 22, 2012 07:57 AM
AT&T or Verizon for Houston Area? syedrizvi21 iPhone 4 Sep 16, 2012 12:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC