Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:20 PM   #1
kienfred01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
One open application only

Hi, I am new to Mac. I bought Mac book air 11 and I enjoy using it. But why can I have only one application open at any one time? What I mean is I would like to be to browse the internet and have Skype open at the same time.

Any help appreciated
Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:23 PM   #2
Xenc
macrumors 6502a
 
Xenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, England
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

You can. Resize the windows, perhaps, so you can see them both?
__________________
Next Bus London for iPhone - 100% Live bus times on your iPhone (Featured on ShinyShiny.tv and Wired.co.uk!)
Xenc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:25 PM   #3
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
As Mac OS X only has one Menu Bar and almost all applications use that Menu Bar, you will only be able to see the menus of the active application. As Safari is selected, you will still be able to see the Skype window, if it is not hidden behind another window (Safari or Finder or ...), but you have to click the Skype window (or change to Skype via CMD+TAB or clicking the Dock icon or using Exposť via the F3 key) to see its menus.

Or can you be more elaborative what actually happens? Do you experience application shutdowns when you open other applications?

Helpful Information for Any Mac User
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:27 PM   #4
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenc View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

You can. Resize the windows, perhaps, so you can see them both?
Thank you but this is not it. Every time I open on application the other closes

Cheers,
Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:30 PM   #5
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
As Mac OS X only has one Menu Bar and almost all applications use that Menu Bar, you will only be able to see the menus of the active application. As Safari is selected, you will still be able to see the Skype window, if it is not hidden behind another window (Safari or Finder or ...), but you have to click the Skype window (or change to Skype via CMD+TAB or clicking the Dock icon or using Exposť via the F3 key) to see its menus.

Or can you be more elaborative what actually happens? Do you experience application shutdowns when you open other applications?

Helpful Information for Any Mac User
Yes, that is what it appears like. I open a new application the other disappears,click anywhere on the desktop everything disappears.

Thanks,
Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:30 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
Thank you but this is not it. Every time I open on application the other closes

Cheers,
Fred
Does that mean the little blue light under the Dock icon also vanishes? Have you tried CMD+TAB yet to see what applications are open, if the Dock does not clarify that for you?
Maybe you could record your screen and post it? It may work, if the applications do not really quit: http://www.sampletheweb.com/2009/09/...r-your-iphone/
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:33 PM   #7
Xenc
macrumors 6502a
 
Xenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, England
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Ah, ok. simsaladimbamba's explanation describes your situation. The Mac system is designed to work like this, and it is different to how Windows works. I'd suggest watching the "New to Mac" videos at www.apple.com to understand the concepts better. Enjoy your new laptop!
__________________
Next Bus London for iPhone - 100% Live bus times on your iPhone (Featured on ShinyShiny.tv and Wired.co.uk!)
Xenc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:34 PM   #8
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
Yes, that is what it appears like. I open a new application the other disappears,click anywhere on the desktop everything disappears.
There is no such thing in OS X. Check your dock for blue lights under the icons and CMD+TAB like has already been suggested. You'll find your apps there. You can also go to the Apple menu and choose Force Quit to see a list of running apps that you can force close.

Please do not respond again until you have done these things, you're not helping yourself.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:39 PM   #9
Xenc
macrumors 6502a
 
Xenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, England
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I'm pretty certain kienfred01 is referring to the menu bar items changing.
__________________
Next Bus London for iPhone - 100% Live bus times on your iPhone (Featured on ShinyShiny.tv and Wired.co.uk!)
Xenc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:43 PM   #10
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
There is no such thing in OS X. Check your dock for blue lights under the icons and CMD+TAB like has already been suggested. You'll find your apps there. You can also go to the Apple menu and choose Force Quit to see a list of running apps that you can force close.

Please do not respond again until you have done these things, you're not helping yourself.
The programs are running but I am not able to see more then 1 on the screen at any one time. I know how to see what is running. I do not know how to have more then one application visible on the screen at the same time.

Cheers,
Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:46 PM   #11
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
The programs are running but I am not able to see more then 1 on the screen at any one time. I know how to see what is running. I do not know how to have more then one application visible on the screen at the same time.

Cheers,
Fred
How do switch between them then? Via CMD+TAB? Can you be please more specific or use QT X (as mentioned before and linked to an explanation how to) to make a screen recording and either attach it here (zipped) or use DropBox and its Public Link or any file hosting service you can think of or YouTube to show it to us, as as of now, it sounds confusing. Maybe you are using Mac OS X wrong?
Btw, does this happen since you first used it?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:47 PM   #12
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
The programs are running but I am not able to see more then 1 on the screen at any one time. I know how to see what is running. I do not know how to have more then one application visible on the screen at the same time.

Cheers,
Fred
Resize the windows. Lower right corner. There you go.

Oh and stop using command+H to hide the windows.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 11:53 PM   #13
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
How do switch between them then? Via CMD+TAB? Can you be please more specific or use QT X (as mentioned before and linked to an explanation how to) to make a screen recording and either attach it here (zipped) or use DropBox and its Public Link or any file hosting service you can think of or YouTube to show it to us, as as of now, it sounds confusing. Maybe you are using Mac OS X wrong?
Btw, does this happen since you first used it?
I hope I am using it wrong! It is not that difficult. I have my window seized to cover only the left top quarter of my screen for Mail application. Now I start firefox I adjust the size to again 1 quarter of my screen and locate the same to the right hand side of my screen and now I switch between applications with CMD + TAB and I will have one or the other exactly where I placed them but I can not see both. Only one on the screen at any one time

Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:04 AM   #14
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Do you have any add ons installed, something that could set to hide other applications when switching to another one?
There is one, maybe Hyperdock or Warp or something else, but I don't remember exactly. Take a look at System Preferences > Accounts >> your account >>> Login Items and report what items are in there.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:07 AM   #15
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
As Mac OS X only has one Menu Bar and almost all applications use that Menu Bar, you will only be able to see the menus of the active application. As Safari is selected, you will still be able to see the Skype window, if it is not hidden behind another window (Safari or Finder or ...), but you have to click the Skype window (or change to Skype via CMD+TAB or clicking the Dock icon or using Exposť via the F3 key) to see its menus.

Or can you be more elaborative what actually happens? Do you experience application shutdowns when you open other applications?

Helpful Information for Any Mac User

...and this exactly what is not happening, it is not hidden behind each other but it is still not visible. It not closed I can go back and finish what I was doing. CMD+TAP and all the other will show me the running application but on the screen is only one at anyone time at any size.

Thanks heaps,
Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:09 AM   #16
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Do you have set up Spaces? Take a look at System Preferences > Exposť & Spaces >> Spaces >>> Application Assignments.

And what about using QT X to record the screen?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:13 AM   #17
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Do you have any add ons installed, something that could set to hide other applications when switching to another one?
There is one, maybe Hyperdock or Warp or something else, but I don't remember exactly. Take a look at System Preferences > Accounts >> your account >>> Login Items and report what items are in there.
That has done the it! It is called ASM and has a setting for hidding windows. Untick and now it works! Thanks heaps to you all!

Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:23 AM   #18
HLdan
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
That has done the it! It is called ASM and has a setting for hidding windows. Untick and now it works! Thanks heaps to you all!

Fred
Glad you got your issue solved. One word of advice, since you're new to Mac don't install any haxies to modify the look and feel or the behavior of the system until you really know the system well.
HLdan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:23 AM   #19
simsaladimbamba
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
That has done the it! It is called ASM and has a setting for hidding windows. Untick and now it works! Thanks heaps to you all!

Fred
What is ASM? I can only find something to do with Assemblers for Macs and such.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:31 AM   #20
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
What is ASM? I can only find something to do with Assemblers for Macs and such.
The link is below. I had to try!
http://www.vercruesse.de/software

Thanks again, I will be more careful with what I install!!!

Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:36 AM   #21
kienfred01
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
The link is below. I had to try!
http://www.vercruesse.de/software

Thanks again, I will be more careful with what I install!!!

Fred
Now it works great! I am really thrilled with this Laptop. I travel a lot and it's just perfect. Battery life, speed....best for it's purpose I ever had!

Fred
kienfred01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 08:45 AM   #22
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kienfred01 View Post
The link is below. I had to try!
http://www.vercruesse.de/software

Thanks again, I will be more careful with what I install!!!

Fred
This whole thread suddenly looks like some big elaborate publicity stunt for said software.

Especially considering that on your link they mention the "Single Application Mode" and your thread title.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't open application nocakeforyou Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jun 18, 2013 04:10 PM
is an application downloaded from the internet. Are you sure you want to open it hajime Mac Basics and Help 4 May 25, 2013 02:17 AM
cant open the application ProfilerPlus 2.3 macimux OS X 4 Mar 27, 2013 02:47 PM
Resolved: Help with registering application to open xmls waterskier2007 iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Jan 31, 2013 03:55 PM
New windows open behind current application miamirulz29 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Dec 21, 2012 02:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC