Can the 3G iPad use GPS without 3G data? - Page 2 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2012, 09:38 AM   #26
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerman98 View Post
I have actually heard that if you use a Pocket WiFi hotspot system it will actually connect to the GPS and the function will work. This feature will also work with the personal hotspot feature on the iPhone and iPad 3G.
Sorry, I'm not clear on what you're saying exactly. You mean you can have it access wifi for map programs that need data connections, but still use the GPS? Yep, that should work.

But what's awesome is you DON'T need a data connection to use GPS on the iPad.

I've been using TomTom's software for half a year now (or more) and really love it. It's well done, actually works, and of course doesn't need data (it does provide map updates when you're connected, but the rest of the time no data is needed).

In fact, I've NEVER signed up for data on my iPad, but would never buy one without the cell phone connection just for GPS! It's a really cool feature.
Wolfpup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 10:44 AM   #27
Beezzy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I have the At&t LTE iPad and Ive used it without the data active. One of the main reasons I got a 4G model was for GPS. Me and my friends are always going somewhere new (We get bored with doing the same things) but we are horrible with directions, so alot of the time, when we carpool, on person holds my ipad and uses it as a GPS, I love the feature.
__________________
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB HD, AMD HD6770 w/1GB VRAM
VZW iPhone 5 64GB Black/Slate
iPad 4 32GB Black Apple TV3
Beezzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 12:21 AM   #28
Gamerman98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Post Hotspots Continued....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfpup View Post
Sorry, I'm not clear on what you're saying exactly. You mean you can have it access wifi for map programs that need data connections, but still use the GPS? Yep, that should work.

But what's awesome is you DON'T need a data connection to use GPS on the iPad.

I've been using TomTom's software for half a year now (or more) and really love it. It's well done, actually works, and of course doesn't need data (it does provide map updates when you're connected, but the rest of the time no data is needed).

In fact, I've NEVER signed up for data on my iPad, but would never buy one without the cell phone connection just for GPS! It's a really cool feature.
I think that the Pocket will use cell tower location and send that through the WiFi to the iPad. For the iPhone, it's GPS information wil also be sent through its hotspot to the iPad.
Gamerman98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 08:38 AM   #29
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerman98 View Post
I think that the Pocket will use cell tower location and send that through the WiFi to the iPad. For the iPhone, it's GPS information wil also be sent through its hotspot to the iPad.
Has anyone tried that? I wouldn't think that would work, but of course the iPad with GPS doesn't need GPS data from anything else (or a data connection at all).
Wolfpup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 04:06 PM   #30
Gamerman98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfpup View Post
Has anyone tried that? I wouldn't think that would work, but of course the iPad with GPS doesn't need GPS data from anything else (or a data connection at all).
I think this might help:
http://www.tuaw.com/2011/03/18/does-...fi-only-ipads/
Gamerman98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 04:45 PM   #31
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerman98 View Post
That's very cool that these cell phone hot spots pass GPS data, but it's worth noting that it's FAR FAR FAR FAR cheaper to use get an iPad that already has GPS if you're not already paying for a hotspot for some other reason.
Wolfpup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:10 PM   #32
Sandoons
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Try Waze it's a great GPS and it's free. Cheers!
Sandoons is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using GPS Track Data in Aperture NightFox Digital Photography 1 Aug 4, 2013 06:51 PM
GPS APP that does not use a lot of data precator iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Oct 13, 2012 06:26 AM
Anyone have a sense of how much data GPS uses? sixxmum iOS 6 5 Oct 9, 2012 08:30 AM
Does using maps for GPS use data in iOS6? Captainobvvious iOS 6 11 Sep 15, 2012 01:59 PM
Where's the GPS data located in your Pictures? Dizzy714 iPhone 3 Sep 9, 2012 07:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC