Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2011, 10:04 PM   #1
pjny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Remapping shortcut not working in Adobe Lightroom!

Hi,

I followed the shortcut guide below to change the three-button EXPORT command in Adobe Lightroom but I couldn't get it to work. Can anyone help?
The menu title in Lightroom shows up as "Export..." so I typed that in to the panel.

"Open up System Preferences and then choose Keyboard. Click the Keyboard Shortcuts tab and then the plus sign. This will provide you with a little panel that will let you override a keyboard shortcut for a specific application or all applications. All you have to do is type in the exact menu title of the command in the panel and the new keyboard shortcut you want to assign to it. When you're done, click add, and it'll immediately be the active keyboard shortcut for the command you specified.

Keep in mind that you can take the same basic steps to create a new keyboard shortcut in any application, so it's not just about remapping current shortcuts."
pjny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 10:11 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Like described in here?
http://www.computer-darkroom.com/lr2...m-keyboard.htm

What is wrong with Cmd+Shift+E then?

Btw, no need to make more than one thread, especially if the second one is in the MBP sub forum.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:12 PM   #3
pjny
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I am often processing images on a short deadline. I use mouse to scroll through selected images and export specific. Having to move my hand from mouse to export images with three finger command is inefficient.

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Like described in here?
http://www.computer-darkroom.com/lr2...m-keyboard.htm

What is wrong with Cmd+Shift+E then?

Btw, no need to make more than one thread, especially if the second one is in the MBP sub forum.
pjny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:15 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjny View Post
I am often processing images on a short deadline. I use mouse to scroll through selected images and export specific. Having to move my hand from mouse to export images with three finger command is inefficient.
You're a leftie then I suppose?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:51 PM   #5
pjny
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
No. Single key command of a much-used function is more efficient. I had the export key remmapped to "E" using Timothy Armes "Keyboard Tamer" plugin but it stopped working after Lightroom 3.2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You're a leftie then I suppose?
pjny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:54 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjny View Post
No. Single key command of a much-used function is more efficient. I had the export key remmapped to "E" using Timothy Armes "Keyboard Tamer" plugin but it stopped working after Lightroom 3.2.
I know that pressing a key command with two fingers does not take as long as with three fingers, but the difference should be in the deciseconds.
I use my left hand for CMD+SHIFT+E, the thumb for CMD, the little finger for SHIFT and the index finger for E.

But I know, that changing shortcuts for Adobe products is a pain in the arse, especially if you don't have a tilde key on your board and use AE.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 11:28 PM   #7
pjny
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
There should be no reason why one can't be allowed to use an app-specific command such as "E" to export instead of contorting your fingers for several hours a day exporting images.

My question asked for a solution to a particular workflow issue, not to stir a debate about which method is quicker or marginally less convenient. If you have no problem contorting your
hand hundreds of times a week, good for you. I have to process several hundred images a week and need something more efficient.



Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I know that pressing a key command with two fingers does not take as long as with three fingers, but the difference should be in the deciseconds.
I use my left hand for CMD+SHIFT+E, the thumb for CMD, the little finger for SHIFT and the index finger for E.

But I know, that changing shortcuts for Adobe products is a pain in the arse, especially if you don't have a tilde key on your board and use AE.
pjny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 01:46 AM   #8
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
My answer was meant condescending, but as you may have already found out during your own research, it seems to be not possible.

The only "solution" I found: http://www.rpgkeys.com/product.php?productID=45

Though it includes no dedicated EXPORT button.

Maybe contact Adobe about that issue and see if they could help you.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 12:45 PM   #9
RPGKEYS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
My answer was meant condescending, but as you may have already found out during your own research, it seems to be not possible.

The only "solution" I found: http://www.rpgkeys.com/product.php?productID=45

Though it includes no dedicated EXPORT button.

Maybe contact Adobe about that issue and see if they could help you.

Tim here from RPG KEYS....
Just a quick correction....
The keys DO INCLUDE an export button.

Our application includes 2,700 Lightroom specific functions that you can put onto the keys to fit your own editing style.


Cheers
Tim
RPGKEYS is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: YouTube not working on Safari? deannnnn OS X 40 Dec 5, 2013 03:25 PM
Youtube not working in Safari? Hyde244 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Nov 16, 2011 11:12 PM
iTunes shortcuts not working in shuffle? eddcunningham Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Sep 4, 2010 10:45 AM
Mail custom keyboard shortcuts not working in SL? mcdj OS X 0 Oct 4, 2009 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC