Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2011, 01:41 PM   #1
stumptown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Need help with Airport Express to PS3 via Ethernet!!

Ok. So, I would like to setup my airport express to share internet with my PS3 via ethernet connection. My PS3 is a older 20gb model and doesn't have wifi. I have a Airport Extreme(n) transmitting my wifi through the house. My Airport Express(G) is not the new N model. I've tried setting up the Express as, " Join a wireless network" with no luck, also tried "Join a WDS network" and that was the closest I got it to work as it actually obtained an IP address. So what I'm asking for is some step by step instructions on how to setup my express AND PS3 20gb network settings to make them talk to each other. PLEASE! I have searched all over the web, I cant find step by step instructions. Thank you, I feel like such a noob right now.

My equipment: Macbook Intel 2ghz, Airport Extreme (N), Airport Express (G/B), PS3 20GB (No built in WiFi)
stumptown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 02:28 PM   #2
dXTC
macrumors 68000
 
dXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Up, up in my studio, studio
I'm not sure about the new Express, but I don't think you can do what you're wanting to do with the older Express.

The Airport Express's Ethernet port is usually a WAN port, not a LAN port; it cannot accept a wired client. The typical uses for that port on the Express: connecting an Internet modem directly and sharing the connection across wireless clients, and connecting to a router and becoming a wired bridge to wireless clients. It cannot add an Ethernet-only client to a wireless network, like a wireless Ethernet bridge can. You'll need something like the Linksys WET54G for that kind of functionality.
__________________
dXTC
A good bit of stuff: iMac 21.5" i3 MBP 17" i5 Two 5g iPod nanos and more
...geeve to me LAAAHRGE keess!
dXTC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 03:15 PM   #3
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
I've used an Airport Express-N as a wireless bridge to supply ethernet to a switch that was then connected to a PS3, SlingBox, Mac mini, and Apple TV and it worked fine. I'm pretty certain that the older model will also do that but you may need to use it in its WDS mode. You also want to make certain that you try the latest firmware updates from Apple. As far as step-by-step instructions, I'm sure that if you do a little searching with Google or on Apple's Support site you will find the answers (that's what I've done before, there is info all over the web concerning WDS and/or using the Express as a wireless bridge). Just go over to Apple's support discussions site and search the AirPort forum for WDS or repeater or bridge.
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 07:44 PM   #4
willieva
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
First, take down the MAC addresses of the airport express and airport extreme.

Using Airport Utility, put the airport extreme in Participate in a WDS network. This is under the Wireless tab.

Under the WDS tab, put the WDS mode as WDS main. Put the MAC address of the airport express in the WDS remotes section.

Update the device.

Now go into the airport express in Airport Utility. Under the Wireless tab put the Wireless Mode as Participate in a WDS network.

Under the WDS tab, set WDS mode to WDS remote.

Add the airport extreme MAC address where it says WDS main.

If you have problems, make sure the MAC addresses were copied and entered properly. In my experience getting the proper MAC addresses is the trickiest part. Being off by 1 character will make the whole process fail.
willieva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 08:31 PM   #5
mouthster
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumptown View Post
Ok. So, I would like to setup my airport express to share internet with my PS3 via ethernet connection. My PS3 is a older 20gb model and doesn't have wifi. I have a Airport Extreme(n) transmitting my wifi through the house. My Airport Express(G) is not the new N model. I've tried setting up the Express as, " Join a wireless network" with no luck, also tried "Join a WDS network" and that was the closest I got it to work as it actually obtained an IP address. So what I'm asking for is some step by step instructions on how to setup my express AND PS3 20gb network settings to make them talk to each other. PLEASE! I have searched all over the web, I cant find step by step instructions. Thank you, I feel like such a noob right now.

My equipment: Macbook Intel 2ghz, Airport Extreme (N), Airport Express (G/B), PS3 20GB (No built in WiFi)
Your Airport Express should be able to do this, and you should not have to create a WDS. You should be able to simply Join a network and then share the ethernet.

If you old Airport Express (g) can't see the newer (n) one, take a look at what kind of network you have set your (n) to transmit. Is it N only? 5ghz instead of 2.4ghz? Your older (g) won't be able to see or connect to an N 5ghz network.

I've attached a screenshot of how mine (hooked up to a ps3) is set up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wifi.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	267936  

Last edited by mouthster; Jan 18, 2011 at 08:35 PM. Reason: adding screenshot
mouthster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 08:38 PM   #6
mouthster
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieva View Post
First, take down the MAC addresses of the airport express and airport extreme.

Using Airport Utility, put the airport extreme in Participate in a WDS network. This is under the Wireless tab.

Under the WDS tab, put the WDS mode as WDS main. Put the MAC address of the airport express in the WDS remotes section.

Update the device.

Now go into the airport express in Airport Utility. Under the Wireless tab put the Wireless Mode as Participate in a WDS network.

Under the WDS tab, set WDS mode to WDS remote.

Add the airport extreme MAC address where it says WDS main.

If you have problems, make sure the MAC addresses were copied and entered properly. In my experience getting the proper MAC addresses is the trickiest part. Being off by 1 character will make the whole process fail.
It should be noted that by creating a WDS using mixed base stations (g & n) the entire network will run at g, AND each base station will have it's bandwidth cut in half.
mouthster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 08:58 PM   #7
willieva
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
My wireless g airport express does not have the allow Ethernet clients checkbox.

It's possible that the OP might have an AE that works with your method, maybe not.
willieva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 09:16 PM   #8
stumptown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieva View Post
First, take down the MAC addresses of the airport express and airport extreme.

Using Airport Utility, put the airport extreme in Participate in a WDS network. This is under the Wireless tab.

Under the WDS tab, put the WDS mode as WDS main. Put the MAC address of the airport express in the WDS remotes section.

Update the device.

Now go into the airport express in Airport Utility. Under the Wireless tab put the Wireless Mode as Participate in a WDS network.

Under the WDS tab, set WDS mode to WDS remote.

Add the airport extreme MAC address where it says WDS main.

If you have problems, make sure the MAC addresses were copied and entered properly. In my experience getting the proper MAC addresses is the trickiest part. Being off by 1 character will make the whole process fail.
Thanks man. This worked perfect!! got it up and running now. Of course everything else is now running on a G network but, whatever, it's still pretty fast. Thanks again!!
stumptown is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme/Express to Ethernet unplugme71 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Mar 13, 2014 12:04 PM
Using an AirPort Express With an Ethernet Cord Frodoinc Mac Peripherals 2 Jan 23, 2013 07:36 PM
Airport express ethernet out? BigDukeSix Mac Peripherals 7 Oct 30, 2012 04:35 PM
Airport Express over ethernet WAN port? kwk1 Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 9, 2012 04:41 AM
Airport Express Ethernet HDD Tymmz Mac Peripherals 5 Jul 3, 2012 12:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC