Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2011, 04:39 AM   #1
Grayburn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
iTunes Installed On Work PC But Not Working As It Should.

I recently got a friend in IT to install iTunes 10.0.1.22 on my work PC as it is blocked and can't be installed by us mere mortals.
Now, it finds my iPhone 4 but i cant edit anything on it such as the info of a track/s or the album art.Nor can i add any music to it.

I have authorized the phone to work with the PC but am now stumped and not sure what i can do next

Any help will be appreciated.
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Grayburn
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
It also doesn't back up or sync
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2011, 04:58 PM   #3
JamesMB
macrumors 65816
 
JamesMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
I'm pretty sure that is has to do with that PC being locked. There are multiple applications installed with iTunes, and most of them get loaded at startup. I bet that it has something to do with permissions, but that is just a guess.
__________________
Search with: MRoogle
15" MBP 2.66 I7, with 4GB...iPhone 4 16GB
JamesMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 02:48 AM   #4
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
What's wrong with your personal computer? As JamesMB wrote, it's probably a permissions issue. I don't know why you want to load your personal info, music, photos, etc onto your work computer, but this is a bad idea. This is the sort of thing people can get fired over.
If you don't own a computer, get a cheap netbook and bring it to work to sync with instead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayburn View Post
I recently got a friend in IT to install iTunes 10.0.1.22 on my work PC as it is blocked and can't be installed by us mere mortals.
Now, it finds my iPhone 4 but i cant edit anything on it such as the info of a track/s or the album art.Nor can i add any music to it.

I have authorized the phone to work with the PC but am now stumped and not sure what i can do next

Any help will be appreciated.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:32 AM   #5
Grayburn
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastercat View Post
What's wrong with your personal computer? As JamesMB wrote, it's probably a permissions issue. I don't know why you want to load your personal info, music, photos, etc onto your work computer, but this is a bad idea. This is the sort of thing people can get fired over.
If you don't own a computer, get a cheap netbook and bring it to work to sync with instead.
Nothings wrong with my PC at home i just want to be able to add and manage my music on my work PC.
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:21 AM   #6
JamesMB
macrumors 65816
 
JamesMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayburn View Post
Nothings wrong with my PC at home i just want to be able to add and manage my music on my work PC.
FWIW...Even if you do get it to work, just remember that if the machine is networked, other people will have access to your data.
__________________
Search with: MRoogle
15" MBP 2.66 I7, with 4GB...iPhone 4 16GB
JamesMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:26 AM   #7
fortunecookie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Maybe your work pc has a group policy that disables certain services needed by itunes. Best to consult your IT guy/girl.
fortunecookie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:53 AM   #8
Grayburn
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMB View Post
FWIW...Even if you do get it to work, just remember that if the machine is networked, other people will have access to your data.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fortunecookie View Post
Maybe your work pc has a group policy that disables certain services needed by itunes. Best to consult your IT guy/girl.
Very good points.
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:10 AM   #9
JamesMB
macrumors 65816
 
JamesMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
I forgot to mention, and you might already know this, but there is software that will "open" an iTunes backup, and as soon as you sync your phone to that machine, a lot more is available than just a few photos and some tunes.
__________________
Search with: MRoogle
15" MBP 2.66 I7, with 4GB...iPhone 4 16GB
JamesMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:26 AM   #10
Grayburn
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Nice to know but not needed at the moment.

Could you post or PM the details?
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:42 AM   #11
JamesMB
macrumors 65816
 
JamesMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayburn View Post
Nice to know but not needed at the moment.
Whether you need it is not the point that I was trying to make. The point is that other people would have complete access to any data that you currently have on your phone, that was synced to a networked computer.
http://www.icopybot.com/itunes-backup-manager.htm
__________________
Search with: MRoogle
15" MBP 2.66 I7, with 4GB...iPhone 4 16GB
JamesMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 10:13 AM   #12
Grayburn
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London/Essex, UK
Okay point taken, nothing has been backed up so i'm alright there.

And thanks the link, i'll check that out soon...cheers.
__________________
iPhne 5S 64GB
Follow me on Twitter
Grayburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Mavericks now one Thumb drive not working? Felix711 iMac 3 May 15, 2014 02:16 PM
Help! Installed new hard drive and it won't work chrisk1967 Mac mini 9 May 4, 2014 11:07 PM
Just installed HD in Mac Pro and it doesn't work mikewebberross OS X 3 Apr 6, 2014 09:56 AM
Silverlight doesn't work but is installed bwiggin OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Dec 21, 2012 12:43 PM
Does the iPhone5 work at all with no SIM installed ? drsox iPhone 2 Oct 4, 2012 09:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC