Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2011, 03:28 PM   #1
Ste-ve
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Handbrake, aTV2 & Blurays

Hi,

When converting Blu rays to the aTV2, Do you guys just use the Apple TV Preset? I want to get 720p and I'm not sure if I need to set Anamorphic to None and then enter a custom resolution of 1280x720?
Ste-ve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 03:53 PM   #2
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste-ve View Post
Hi,

When converting Blu rays to the aTV2, Do you guys just use the Apple TV Preset? I want to get 720p and I'm not sure if I need to set Anamorphic to None and then enter a custom resolution of 1280x720?
Yes, you should set anamorphic to custom 1280 x 720. See here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...9&postcount=23
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 04:21 PM   #3
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste-ve View Post
Hi,

When converting Blu rays to the aTV2, Do you guys just use the Apple TV Preset? I want to get 720p and I'm not sure if I need to set Anamorphic to None and then enter a custom resolution of 1280x720?
Don't worry about setting anything. Just make sure you have the latest (0.9.5) version of Handbrake and use the new ATV2 preset.
newagemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 05:21 PM   #4
Ste-ve
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thanks Guys, ill go with setting it manually as the atv2 preset isn't 720 it's alot lower
Ste-ve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 07:32 PM   #5
Omne666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Actually, the ATV2 preset is best. Remember, the standard is 1280 x 720....but a lot of movies are like 1280 x 544 (technically still 720 setting)....the ATV2 preset is also guided by the 1280 of the 1280x720 standard.

At least thats how I read it.
Omne666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 07:54 PM   #6
tommylotto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
A 1280x720 encode with a custom anamorphic setting keeping the aspect ratio the same will play fine on the ATV2. However, you will not get as much bang for your buck as you would get playing the same file on the original ATV or on a Mac. Those devices can output 1080p and can take advantage of the extra resolution.

The ATV2 is limited to 720p output. So even if you have 720 horizontal lines on a wide screen movie the ATV2 is going to have to scale it back down to 555p or whatever to maintain the aspect ratio. So, it can play the 720 line encode just fine, it just cannot take advantage of the extra resolution yet.

Assuming ATV2 is never capable of ever outputting 1080p and is always limited to 720p, and you never plan on viewing the same encode on any other higher resolution device, the there might be an advantage in using the preset in that the lower resolution can result in smaller files sizes and save HD space.

However, that is a big assumption. The original ATV could not output 1080p initially, but that feature was added latter through a software upgrade. The ATV2 is even more capable hardware, and same thing could happen with 1080p being added by a software upgrade.

I use the 1280x720p custom anamorphic setting because I still have an original ATV that I use regularly. The files play fine on both versions and the higher resolution is definitely visible with the original ATV.
tommylotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 08:58 PM   #7
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste-ve View Post
Thanks Guys, ill go with setting it manually as the atv2 preset isn't 720 it's alot lower
Put the disk in. That movie might technically be HD but the aspect ratio requires black bars at the top and bottom and you'll see that. What I understand the ATV2 preset does is not encode the black bars which is why it isn't reporting 720 in handbrake. Without attempting to go into technical details, basically you get the same result.

If you have a movie that does follow the aspect ratio of 16:9 TVs (the ones that fill up your HDTV without black bars at top and bottom) then you will see Handbrake reporting it as 1280x720 with the ATV2 preset.

Moral of the story, just use the ATV2 preset and forget about it. Trust me, the Handbrake developers know what they are doing. Far more than you or I.
newagemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 10:40 PM   #8
tommylotto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by newagemac View Post
Trust me, the Handbrake developers know what they are doing. Far more than you or I.
Actually, they make trade offs between quality and file size. Furthermore, as discussed above, it might make sense to deviate from the pre-set if you plan to view the encode on other devices including the original ATV or a Mac Mini HTPC. The pre-set will definitely get you acceptable results, but depending on your situation, you can do better. That is why handbrake gives you all the tools to tweak your encodes and is such a cool program.
tommylotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATV2 & ATV3 picture quality w/ HandBrake xxbrankxx Apple TV and Home Theater 1 May 12, 2014 07:32 PM
Handbrake Defaults for ATV2 & iPhone 4S godslabrat Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Oct 27, 2012 09:31 PM
Handbrake/ATV2 and 5.1 settings...ARG! emaja Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Sep 8, 2012 08:20 PM
Handbrake and Apple TV3 preset on an ATV2 themoffster Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Aug 26, 2012 05:39 PM
Handbrake preset ATV2 ATV3 Skika Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Aug 22, 2012 05:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC