Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2011, 05:48 PM   #1
bmcgonag
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgonag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to bmcgonag
PowerMac boot up problems

One of my clients has a PowerMac G5, dual processor system. It started getting to where when it was turned on, the screen wouldn't come up, and the fans would begin to rev up like a jet a take off.

I took it, and started trouble shooting. MOst of what I've found lead me to believe it is a RAM slot issue on the first matched pair slots.

I removed her current RAM, put in new RAM. I put in 4 x 1GB sticks, rebooted, and got the machine to come up.

I checked About this Mac and only showed 2 GB of RAM.

I did some trouble shooting, and found, by moving those four sticks to matched pairs 2 and 3, and putting my own 512 MB matched pairs in the first slots (a total of 5 GB) that it only showed 4 GB of RAM.

So, I believe that the first matched pair slots are damaged, or not making good contact.

I have found that after seating the RAM in slot 1, the machine will boot, but after a bit, it will Grey Screen on me, or on subsequent reboots will go back to not coming up completely.

Any help ona correct fix for this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Also, should I have to have the RAM in slot 1 positions for it to boot?
__________________
OS X Tech Tips
24" White iMac Core 2 duo, 3 GB Ram, 1 TB, Orig & 2nd Gen AppleTV, iPhone 3GS, iPad Gen 1 - 16 Gig WiFi
Innovative CR
bmcgonag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 06:30 PM   #2
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
well if its the machine that i have it only supports 4gb ram, i also had issues with booting when i first got it. after some googling i found that i had to disconnect it from everything and hold this button just below the ram slots on the mbo for 5 secs, that fixed it for me.

i also had ram issues and that fixed it.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 11:21 PM   #3
bmcgonag
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgonag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to bmcgonag
It's the dual core model that supports 8 GB RAM. I have tried using the SMU button as well. Actually didn't fix anything as far as the boot up. I will give that another go....but I'm pretty sure that the first position for the RAM may be disconnected from the board somehow.

RAM slots are 8 in total. 4 match pairs.

4 top, 4 bottom. Not sure that helps.

Brian
__________________
OS X Tech Tips
24" White iMac Core 2 duo, 3 GB Ram, 1 TB, Orig & 2nd Gen AppleTV, iPhone 3GS, iPad Gen 1 - 16 Gig WiFi
Innovative CR
bmcgonag is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermac G5 1.8 DP Won't Boot - Help? OChrisJonesO PowerPC Macs 3 Mar 27, 2014 12:59 AM
PowerMac G3 Boot problems ChrisFerri Apple Collectors 7 Mar 6, 2014 08:40 PM
Plz help. I screwed up the boot, powermac g4 2poniorb PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 22, 2013 09:21 AM
PowerMac G5 boot issues? Navare PowerPC Macs 19 Feb 24, 2013 01:36 PM
Powermac G4 PCI Gfx will not boot... Nameci PowerPC Macs 0 Feb 10, 2013 09:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC