Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2011, 07:30 AM   #1
SimonUK5
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Send a message via AIM to SimonUK5 Send a message via MSN to SimonUK5 Send a message via Skype™ to SimonUK5
Power Increase from 500Mhz G4 to 1.8Ghz Dual G5?

Whats the speed boost like? I can do everything i want to do on my Powermac i'm using right now which is a 500Mhz G4, 1.25 Gb RAM. It does all my web browsing and MSN etc, Spotify and Itunes, iPhoto and light Photoshop work with RAW Files from my Canon 1D Mark 1. And i use it to play AVI's and other videos via perian and Quicktime!

Looking at getting a Dual 1.8 G5 cheep to take over. How much faster will it be? Worth getting, as i'm still fine with the G4 and Tiger right now
SimonUK5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 07:35 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
About five times faster: http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/mac-benchmarks/
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 05:58 PM   #3
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
It will blow your mind.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:48 PM   #4
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
It will blow your mind.
Yeah I think it probably would!
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 06:02 AM   #5
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by raysfan81 View Post
Yeah I think it probably would!
Nearly as much as going from a G4/450 to a Quad Mac Pro 2.8 did for my mind as my editing station... *puts on mental hat*
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 04:52 PM   #6
Mac Hammer Fan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belgium
I have an old PowerMac G3 with G4 533 Mhz processor and a Dual G5 1,8 and I can confirm that the latter is much faster. OSX is much more responsive and all applications run snappier. Definitely worth to upgrade. But... my MacPro is much faster than the Dual G5 1,8.
__________________
MacPro Hex 3,33 GHz Westmere OWC Accelsior SSD 16 GB ATI 5870 Macbook Duo 2,2 GHz PowerMac G5 Dual Core 2,3 Ghz Emac 1,42 GHz IPad 16 GB iPhone 4S
Mac Hammer Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$100 for a Power Mac G4 Cube? 500Mhz davidg4781 PowerPC Macs 16 Jun 28, 2013 07:32 AM
Nanosaur2 won't play on Dual 1,8GHz, but on 1,33GHz??? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 3 Dec 21, 2012 04:45 AM
Sonnet Encore Dual 1,8GHz power consumption, is that ok what I have? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 18, 2012 06:05 PM
Resolved: Airport slot on the 1.8Ghz Power Mac Jessica Lares PowerPC Macs 9 Jul 22, 2012 03:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC