Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:13 PM   #1
JReynolds
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Trying to REPAIR DISK...

I'm trying to repair disk. I have my upgrade snow leopard disc in and I'm in the disk utility at the start up after holding "c"

I clicked "repair disk" and it said, "disk utility stopped repairing mac hd, could not unmount disk"

what does that mean and what do I need to do?

Thanks
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:15 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Using Disk Utility to verify or repair disks
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:29 PM   #3
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
So I read through the provided link and kind of understand the problem.. kinda.

Why is the disk unmountable and what do I do to make it mountable? Or what do I do in general to fix this?

What/How do I repair whatever is wrong with my iMac using disk utility and my UPGRADE snow leopard disc (if possible) I'm almost completely lost now...

Thanks again.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:37 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReynolds View Post
What/How do I repair whatever is wrong with my iMac using disk utility and my UPGRADE snow leopard disc (if possible) I'm almost completely lost now...
Are you running Disk Utility from the DVD, or from your Mac HD?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:39 PM   #5
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Are you running Disk Utility from the DVD, or from your Mac HD?
From the disc. I put the upgrade disc in and restart, hold c... Should I do something else?

Thank you
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:46 PM   #6
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Are you running Disk Utility from the DVD, or from your Mac HD?
I used DIsk Utility form the Mac HD and clicked verify disk. it said, "the disk needs to be repaired. Start your comp with another disc (such as your Mac OS X install disc) and then use disk util to repair the disk."

I load up using the disc by holding "c" then start disk utility and try to repair disk. Then it tells me that "Mac HD" is unmountable...?
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:56 PM   #7
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReynolds View Post
Then it tells me that "Mac HD" is unmountable...?
Are you able to boot from your Mac HD?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 03:59 PM   #8
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Are you able to boot from your Mac HD?
By "Boot from mac hd" do you mean boot up my computer without the disc? If so yes, the iMac starts up normal and operates pretty normal other than it freezes at random and it's slower.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:03 PM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReynolds View Post
By "Boot from mac hd" do you mean boot up my computer without the disc? If so yes, the iMac starts up normal and operates pretty normal other than it freezes at random and it's slower.
Try booting normally, without the DVD, then shut down. After you shut down, try the repair again, using the DVD, as you did before. See if it works.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:06 PM   #10
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Try booting normally, without the DVD, then shut down. After you shut down, try the repair again, using the DVD, as you did before. See if it works.
Will do, I'll let you know what happens.

Thank you for helping.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:15 PM   #11
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
New Problem

When I put the upgrade disc in the iMac it ejects it automatically. I've tried restarting, tried shutting down and starting up fresh and it still ejects it.

I put in a burnt DVD and the iMac has no trouble spinning up and starting it...

Any idea why it keeps ejecting the upgrade disc, and only the upgrade disc?
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:26 PM   #12
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
I restarted the iMac and held the option key. Once the startup manager popped up I inserted the upgrade disc and the iMac still spit it out.

Then I put in the burnt dvd and it stayed in... I clicked on the mac hd and started the iMac and the dvd loads fine, but the upgrade disc still auto ejects in less than 5 seconds.

Best option may be to make the long drive to the Apple Store... Or do you think you can still help?
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:33 PM   #13
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReynolds View Post
Best option may be to make the long drive to the Apple Store...
That may be your best bet, unless someone has another idea.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:38 PM   #14
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
That may be your best bet, unless someone has another idea.
Well, thanks for all your help. I'll wait around for a few other replies before I make the appt.

Thanks again
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:38 PM   #15
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReynolds View Post
I restarted the iMac and held the option key. Once the startup manager popped up I inserted the upgrade disc and the iMac still spit it out.

Then I put in the burnt dvd and it stayed in... I clicked on the mac hd and started the iMac and the dvd loads fine, but the upgrade disc still auto ejects in less than 5 seconds.

Best option may be to make the long drive to the Apple Store... Or do you think you can still help?
I doubt the burnt DVD is bootable, so thatís why it doesnít spit it out. Do you have another bootable disk?
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:39 PM   #16
walterwhite
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Central PA
Send a message via Yahoo to walterwhite
it sounds like either a bad HD or a bad SATA cable... depending on the iMac model... they have a SATA cable issue. Your issue is one I have dealt with at the Genius bar many times and it is 50/50 on which it might be.
__________________
 Mac PRO 2006  MacBook Pro(a few)  MacBook  PowerBooks  Apple TV 1st Gen  MacMini Server  Gateway PC, XP 
walterwhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:46 PM   #17
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
I doubt the burnt DVD is bootable, so that’s why it doesn’t spit it out. Do you have another bootable disk?
I don't. I was an idiot and when I sold my old macbook I gave them the snow leopard install disc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterwhite View Post
it sounds like either a bad HD or a bad SATA cable... depending on the iMac model... they have a SATA cable issue. Your issue is one I have dealt with at the Genius bar many times and it is 50/50 on which it might be.
The model identifier is iMac7,1. So would that put me in the time frame for these issues?

If it is a HD or SATA cable issue, how much does Apple charge for the fix?
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 04:57 PM   #18
walterwhite
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Central PA
Send a message via Yahoo to walterwhite
if it is under APP (Apple Care Protection Plan) its free... if not it would be $39 labor and the part (HD or Cable) the HD is overpriced at like 200-300$ and the cable is relatively cheap at like 25$. You have to have them look at it physically. They can also try to Run Apple Service Diagnostic to better figure it out. I believe yours (2.0, 20" iMac) is in that realm of bad cables.... it always seemed like we were working on those at my store for that reason in particular
__________________
 Mac PRO 2006  MacBook Pro(a few)  MacBook  PowerBooks  Apple TV 1st Gen  MacMini Server  Gateway PC, XP 
walterwhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 05:10 PM   #19
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterwhite View Post
if it is under APP (Apple Care Protection Plan) its free... if not it would be $39 labor and the part (HD or Cable) the HD is overpriced at like 200-300$ and the cable is relatively cheap at like 25$. You have to have them look at it physically. They can also try to Run Apple Service Diagnostic to better figure it out. I believe yours (2.0, 20" iMac) is in that realm of bad cables.... it always seemed like we were working on those at my store for that reason in particular
Little spendy for this guy...

Thanks for all your help. I guess I'll make an appt with Apple.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 05:22 PM   #20
JReynolds
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where the Air Force sends me
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterwhite View Post
if it is under APP (Apple Care Protection Plan) its free... if not it would be $39 labor and the part (HD or Cable) the HD is overpriced at like 200-300$ and the cable is relatively cheap at like 25$. You have to have them look at it physically. They can also try to Run Apple Service Diagnostic to better figure it out. I believe yours (2.0, 20" iMac) is in that realm of bad cables.... it always seemed like we were working on those at my store for that reason in particular
So I went through a repair using command s at startup and typed in some stuff. After a few times it said the disk was repaired and all was good. I ran it one more time and it came back with no errors. Less than 10 min later the iMac froze again like usual.

Seems like what you said is probably correct.

Thanks
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac;
Two MacBook Pros;
16GB iPad
Two iPhone 4's
JReynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repair disk GerritV OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Mar 7, 2014 11:16 AM
Problem with Disk Repair (Disk Utility) MPB11 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 May 26, 2013 04:22 PM
Use bootable disk to repair startup disk? tanventure Mac Basics and Help 2 May 15, 2013 10:50 AM
Disk Utility can't repair disk -- Help! Apple!Fre@k Mac Applications and Mac App Store 31 Mar 13, 2013 10:07 AM
External disk repair can't unmount disk / disk still in use diskwarrior musio OS X 0 Aug 16, 2012 03:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC