Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:27 PM   #1
DudeMartin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Send a message via MSN to DudeMartin
Does it meet the requirements?

Hey!

I'll get right to the point - let's say I have a 1.86GHz MacBook Air, 13" 2010 and I want to play a game that has like 2.2GHz for requirements. I am pretty certain that the MBA can run it... but according to reqs, it doesn't meet them. So would I get installation errors like "your computer does meet the requirements?"
DudeMartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:30 PM   #2
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
No, it will install. You just might drop frames (if it's a game), or it might just run slow if it doesn't have enough horsepower.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:37 PM   #3
DudeMartin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Send a message via MSN to DudeMartin
Okay, thanks.
DudeMartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:39 PM   #4
iExpensive
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
LFD2, COD4, and StarCraft can all run on the base model 13" and 11"
The flash makes up for the CPU
iExpensive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 10:05 PM   #5
DeusEx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
^Do you mean SC2?
__________________
iPad 32GB 3G+Wi-Fi
DeusEx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 10:19 PM   #6
impulse462
macrumors 65816
 
impulse462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by iExpensive View Post
LFD2, COD4, and StarCraft can all run on the base model 13" and 11"
The flash makes up for the CPU
Not really sure what you mean by the "flash will make up for the CPU"

Having the SSD only helps with loading objects, maps, etc. When the game is actually running, the GPU is the most important factor. Then the CPU, RAM..etc.

To answer the OP's question, yes the game will run, but as said, you might drop some frames due to the CPU being a bottleneck, but the SSD does not have any affect on gameplay.
__________________
13.3" MacBook Air, 1.3GHz Core i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD; 16GB Gold iPhone 5s
impulse462 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 10:55 PM   #7
2IS
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
It probably won't run very well. They are called MINIMUM requirments for a reason.

And no, the SSD does not make up for a CPU
2IS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 12:37 AM   #8
iExpensive
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2IS View Post
It probably won't run very well. They are called MINIMUM requirments for a reason.

And no, the SSD does not make up for a CPU
Then please explain to me why a computer running the same specs without the flash memory has less performance?
iExpensive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 01:19 AM   #9
2IS
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iExpensive View Post
Then please explain to me why a computer running the same specs without the flash memory has less performance?
It has less performance for anything that relies heavily on the hard drive. What that means is that while an SSD may load the game and a map quicker, once you're actually IN the game, the benefits of the SSD are gone and you're relying on your processor/video card from there on out.
2IS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 01:40 AM   #10
Cerano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
he's right. however, the 320m is surprisingly powerful anandtech claims it is essentially an integrated GT325m
Cerano is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Requirements? rossip OS X Mavericks (10.9) 55 Jun 26, 2013 09:54 AM
OS X: 2011 mbp how do i meet system requirements Tbdbuckeyeitl Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 27, 2012 09:53 PM
Migration Option for Devices that Doesn't Meet Requirements MJedi iCloud and Apple Services 0 Jun 25, 2012 07:31 PM
Does the MBA meet the requirements? evolute8 MacBook Air 6 Jun 24, 2012 02:24 AM
Requirements Scuba629 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 12, 2012 11:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC