Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2011, 03:41 PM   #1
applegeek13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Arrow Dilemma with my G4

I have a PowerMac G4 FW800 model, the dual 1.25. It also has a 23" Cinema display hooked up to it. MY problem is, it's becoming a money pit. It's not very stable anymore and it's requiring a lot of work to keep it going. It does run quickly, though, and does what I ask it to. My main question to you is this: Should I sell it? It's no longer my main computer, but it might have been if it weren't so darn buggy. (Safari never works, nor Firefox, nor Camino) I would like to keep using a PowerMac, or Mac Pro, but this one has become such a hassle, having to un-set it up, open it, fix something, put it back, test, repeat. IF I were to sell it, how much could I ask, what could I do to get the most money possible for it, and what can I buy that is newer but still in the Pro series? I already have a laptop, so I would love to have a reliable powerhouse on my desk. Also, what might make it more stable? Thank you in advance!
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 03:50 PM   #2
d88co88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MN
Well, what do you mean that Safari, Firefox, and Camino "don't work?"
__________________
A bunch of Macs, some audio equipment, and an iPhone.
d88co88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 04:05 PM   #3
applegeek13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
They sit and load and load, and nothing ever shows up. Sometimes if I restart it, and refresh enough, the page will load. I'm fairly certain it's the browsers, seeing as they once worked, then one by one died.
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 04:11 PM   #4
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by applegeek13 View Post
They sit and load and load, and nothing ever shows up. Sometimes if I restart it, and refresh enough, the page will load. I'm fairly certain it's the browsers, seeing as they once worked, then one by one died.
Have you tried an OS X Reinstall? If its a software issue that oughta cure it.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 04:26 PM   #5
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
If you are interested and happen to be in the US and if your 23" apple cinema display is the one acryllic/clear plastic then I am more than willing to buy it...



Yes, try reinstalling the OS first, we mean a real clean install.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 04:41 PM   #6
applegeek13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I'll try reinstalling Leopard sometime. I only clicked the "Upgrade" button when I upgraded from Tiger. That may fix some things. And yes, it is the Acrylic Cinema Display, the biggest they made of this sort.
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 05:07 PM   #7
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
when all else fails, that i wish do not. I am very much honored to be a foster owner of your 23" cinema display...



sorry for the OoT.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 05:37 PM   #8
applegeek13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
when all else fails, that i wish do not.

sorry for the OoT.
I'm sorry, I'm confused. What do you mean?
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 05:42 PM   #9
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
When all the advises fails that I wish it will not for you. OOT is out of topic, i am sorry for that.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 07:47 PM   #10
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by applegeek13 View Post
I'll try reinstalling Leopard sometime. I only clicked the "Upgrade" button when I upgraded from Tiger. That may fix some things. And yes, it is the Acrylic Cinema Display, the biggest they made of this sort.
One day I will have to find a way of creating an Acryllic housing for a 30" Panel to sit next to a highly-upgraded G4 - why? No reason, other than it would look cool...
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 09:31 AM   #11
Tyroler
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by applegeek13 View Post
They sit and load and load, and nothing ever shows up. Sometimes if I restart it, and refresh enough, the page will load. I'm fairly certain it's the browsers, seeing as they once worked, then one by one died.
I bought me "Clean my Mac " software from internet and now its working very well
It recovered 14.4 Gb in just 3 Month
Tyroler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 09:36 AM   #12
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyroler View Post
I bought me "Clean my Mac " software from internet and now its working very well
It recovered 14.4 Gb in just 3 Month
Totally unnecessary, and judging by your other posts it could well be causing you massive amounts of problems, OP stay away, it wont sort out your problem and is likely to introduce corruption.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dilemma with my MBP order...Should I return it? hovitos-way MacBook Pro 14 Aug 11, 2010 10:15 PM
Will there be a dilemma with my 3Gs delivery [read for more info]? Cjr605 iPhone 1 Jun 18, 2009 04:27 PM
Need a driver to make my awesome Canon BJC 250 work with my G4 Raynee Mac Peripherals 2 May 10, 2009 10:51 AM
Is a dual G4 1,42GHz daughter card compatible with my G4 MDD 2003 single 1,25GHz? McIntosh PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 17, 2008 02:04 PM
How can I get my TRENDnet wireless card to work with my G4 PowerBook? omgwut PowerPC Macs 0 Jan 19, 2007 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC