Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2011, 04:50 PM   #1
exilekiller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Help me get my Powerbook Working, OF problem

Ok, picked up a powerbook g4 a1106 a month ago bought some new parts for it and went to boot her up.

Now I had a spare dmg image of leopard on an external hard drive I was going to try since I lost or misplaced the original disk somewhere.

I boot it up and nothing happens. Just a white screen. So i tried the apple option O F at start up and it wont go into Open firmware.

It just keeps giving me a white screen. I even tried resetting the PRAM.

Please help me get this puppy working.

Thanks
exilekiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 06:27 PM   #2
mgartner0622
macrumors 65816
 
mgartner0622's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to mgartner0622
When you say you had a spare DMG, do you mean just the DMG file?
You can't restore from a DMG. You have to restore the DMG to a hard drive via disk utility or similar, then boot off of that image.
__________________
15" Late '11 2.5GHz MacBook Pro, Mac Mini Server 2.6GHz , Thunderbolt Display x2, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4S 64GB, Lenovo ThinkPad X240
mgartner0622 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 06:56 PM   #3
exilekiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
how do i get to disk utility, I cant get into open firmware or anything
exilekiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 07:03 PM   #4
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by exilekiller View Post
how do i get to disk utility, I cant get into open firmware or anything
You need to take the .DMG file and use Disk Utility on another Mac to create a Boot Disk for your Mac.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 07:21 PM   #5
exilekiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
ok if i was to get that bootable image would it just come up?

I cant even get into open firmware, thats my main problem I think
exilekiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 07:33 PM   #6
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by exilekiller View Post
ok if i was to get that bootable image would it just come up?

I cant even get into open firmware, thats my main problem I think
Once youve created an install DVD, hold C and it should "just come up" as long as the Mac is ok inside (This is the first step to a diagnosis if it is a hardware fault, which I doubt since its likely just the software thats missing).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 07:49 PM   #7
exilekiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismacguy View Post
Once youve created an install DVD, hold C and it should "just come up" as long as the Mac is ok inside (This is the first step to a diagnosis if it is a hardware fault, which I doubt since its likely just the software thats missing).

I hope, if theres no software it is normal for it just be a white screen and no open firmware?

Last edited by exilekiller; Jan 31, 2011 at 08:06 PM.
exilekiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 03:35 AM   #8
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by exilekiller View Post
I hope, if theres no software it is normal for it just be a white screen and no open firmware?
No, Its normal to go to a question mark on a grey screen, however what youre describing could also be achieved through a bodged OS X installation (At least the white screen) - although Open Firmwares background is white... so it may be half entering that instead, hence the need to get an OS X disc and try and get OS X working as it will show us where its bust/if its even working at all.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 11:28 AM   #9
exilekiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
alright, a friend is shipping me his disk of leopard, guess I will see and revive this thread in a few days
exilekiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 problem Intelligent PowerPC Macs 3 Jan 14, 2014 01:30 PM
G3 Powerbook DVD drive not working G4OS753 Apple Collectors 11 Aug 17, 2013 01:35 AM
Powerbook G4 Battery not working properly Faves Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 11, 2013 07:18 PM
Powerbook G4 Battery not working properly Faves PowerPC Macs 10 Aug 11, 2013 05:12 PM
Looking for working PowerBook Duo 280c jaydoza Apple Collectors 6 Dec 16, 2012 01:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC