Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2011, 04:10 PM   #1
Orange™
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Question Using 2009 27' iMac as a monitor Power Mac G4?

Is this possible? Could it achieve the native resolution of the monitor? What dongles would I need?

Here is a picture of my Power Mac G4 and a picture of the ports in back to help identify if it's possible. I believe this machine is from 2000 (a whopping 11 years ago and it still works. )

Thumb resize.

Any links would be appreciated also. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Orange™; Feb 1, 2011 at 04:57 PM.
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 04:17 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
http://www.atlona.com/Atlona-Dual-Li...B-Powered.html if the GPU is capable of 2560 x 1440 pixel.

It might be cheaper to get a MDP capable GPU though, but I don't know of any for the G4 PowerMac.

Btw, please use TIMG instead of IMG tags to prevent horizontal scrolling.
To edit your posts, use the button.
And the first image of the G4 PowerMac is redundant, as most people here know what it looks like.

Have you tried MRoogle yet?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 05:52 PM   #3
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
http://www.atlona.com/Atlona-Dual-Li...B-Powered.html if the GPU is capable of 2560 x 1440 pixel.

It might be cheaper to get a MDP capable GPU though, but I don't know of any for the G4 PowerMac.

Btw, please use TIMG instead of IMG tags to prevent horizontal scrolling.
To edit your posts, use the button.
And the first image of the G4 PowerMac is redundant, as most people here know what it looks like.

Have you tried MRoogle yet?
As far as Im aware there isnt a single graphics card compatible with that G4 that could handle 2560*1440 pixels (23" was the largest LCD Apple shipped with the G4s and it ran at 1920*1200) - you need a Mac compatible AGP 2x/4x card with enough power to push 2560*1440, which AFAIK dont exist.
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 05:57 PM   #4
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
What are those connectors on the card in pci slot 3? And 4 would be SCSI right?
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2011, 06:13 PM   #5
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
yes, that is a SCSI port for externals...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a 2009 27" iMac as external monitor with a 2011 Air maccauni MacBook Air 8 Sep 2, 2011 02:16 AM
Using a G4 iMac hard disk in a Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 5 Aug 6, 2011 02:58 AM
USB or FireWire booting a Power Mac G4 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 7 Jul 8, 2011 12:58 PM
Can I use my Intel iMac as a monitor for dual screen for a notebook? dangertrevor iMac 8 Apr 5, 2009 08:58 PM
using a classic iMac as a monitor scem0 Mac Help/Tips 3 Oct 30, 2002 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC