Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2011, 05:04 PM   #1
jasontrucks76
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Incode problem.

Hey all,

I have exhausted myself reading here about Handbreak and ATV2 issues looking for a solution for this and maybe I read it but I am just not grasping this and need some help.

I have used HB several times and have been ok with the picture quality but last night I tried to take my sons "Cars" movie and run it through HB so we could watch it in the big screen...
Based on what I have read here I started using the ATV2 preset on HB and the picture was in great quality but the movie did not fill the screen on both sides. I had like 6 or 8 inches of black on left and right side of the big screen.

Is there a setting that I need to adjust or use a different one rather than the ATV2 setting?

I would seem the ATV2 setting would have worked???

Im sure there is something I am doing wrong but I need some help figuring it out.

Thanks,

JT
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 05:24 PM   #2
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68030
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Maybe a stupid question is the Cars DVD the wide screen version or the full screen version.

I have done over 500 DVD's including Cars and have yet to have this issue.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPhone 6 Plus 128gb Silver, iPad 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 05:31 PM   #3
jasontrucks76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by From A Buick 8 View Post
Maybe a stupid question is the Cars DVD the wide screen version or the full screen version.

I have done over 500 DVD's including Cars and have yet to have this issue.
I am not for sure but I think it is the full screen version. I can play the DVD from the DVD player and the picture takes up the entire screen though.
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 05:42 PM   #4
jasontrucks76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
0
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 06:23 PM   #5
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasontrucks76 View Post
I am not for sure but I think it is the full screen version. I can play the DVD from the DVD player and the picture takes up the entire screen though.
You won't be able to get a full screen version to fully fill the screen unless you crop off a section of the top and bottom of the movie. If it's filling the screen when playing the DVD, it's likely because the DVD player or TV is set to either stretch the picture or zoom in--cutting off part of the picture on the top and bottom.
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 06:57 PM   #6
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
You might also have the input that your DVD is on set to do the zoom or stretch mode while the input your ATV2 is on is set to display as normal. My TV allows me to set a different mode for each input. If the DVD is actually a widescreen version, in my experience Handbrake will create a file that handles it correctly.
newagemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:23 AM   #7
jasontrucks76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Ok. Thank you to all for responding! This is driving me nuts...

I have used HB to convert a few DVD's and this is the first one that has givin me this trouble but it is also the first on I have done since I upgraded HB and used the ATV2 setting so I was sure I did something wrong...

The TV does let me pick the aspect ratio but I have not had to mess with it before. I thing I have it set to 16:9 or something like that...
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:52 AM   #8
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Look at the back of the DVD box and it will tell you what the aspect ratio is eg.

16:9 Anamorphic Widescreen
2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
4:3 Full Frame

For it to have black bars at the sides it must be a 4:3 aspect ratio or it's been encoded wrong.

16:9 aspect ratio would fill the entire screen, with no black bars at all. 2.35:1 and 1.85:1 aspect ratio are widescreen and would show black bars at the top and bottom of the image.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 11:01 AM   #9
jasontrucks76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Ill check that out tonight!

Thanks!
jasontrucks76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes DRM problem? Or, HD Versions of Movie on ATV1 Problem? Aqueous Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Feb 9, 2014 07:54 AM
iPhone: Gmail App problem or Jailbreak Problem? ARSkemp Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 9, 2013 11:43 PM
MacBook Pro Problem! Booting up problem! Legolasas MacBook Pro 2 Jan 21, 2013 09:54 AM
Help, unexplainable problem (for me) [Intermittent slowdown problem] LittleBig MacBook Pro 5 Nov 5, 2012 05:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC