Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2011, 11:19 AM   #1
Casey McGee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Import Problem - iMovie Stops Importing at Break in 8mm/VHS Tape

Hello:

I am using iMovie 11 with a Grass Valley ADVC-300 to import old (20+ years in some cases) VHS and 8mm tapes - primarily old home movies. My problem is that whenever there is a break in the tape where the video signal ends (i.e the camera was stopped and recording started at a later point in the tape) iMovie loses the signal from the ACVC-300 and it stops importing.

The converter works very well for the tapes I have tried so far, but I would like to be able to import an entire tape without having to catch every break that occurs and avoid sitting at the computer while the tape is importing. I would like to be able to keep importing regardless of the breaks, and then edit these out as necessary when the entire tape is imported. I have no drop outs when a video signal is present.

FYI - I have iMovieHD and tried importing with it as well, with similar results. My mac is a Mac Pro (early 2008) with 8gb of RAM. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Casey McGee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 08:04 PM   #2
qimosabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Same situation

Its funny that this message was posted today as I am in exactly the same position. Grass Valley ADVC300 (Canopus) using iMovie 11. Same boat, break in tape causes iMovie to stop importing despite the tape continuing.

As a side note, I was using the same hardware (and the same VHS tape) on my Xeon 2.66 but using iMovie HD (v6) and was able to import the same tape in one pass 4.5 hours long. The downside to iMovie HD (and perhaps the newer versions is that the clips cuts at exactly 1 hour and starts a new clip.) I am now using my mac pro 2.8 and was hoping to leverage the processing power of 8 cores to stabilize and process the video. If I cant get the bug fixed using iMovie 11, I will using iMovie HD to do the import and the v11 to process it.
qimosabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 07:42 PM   #3
DaveFP56
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
A newb myself but............

You might need an external TBC
DaveFP56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 09:53 AM   #4
qimosabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Solution

There is a dip switch underneath the avdc in group 1 at the bottom. Mine was set at PC. When I switched it to Unit, iMovie no longer stopped automatically when a break was sensed between recordings. I tested it with iMovie HD and iMovie 2011.

Also rebooting the advc after making the changes was necessary for the setting to take effect. Good luck.
qimosabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can iMovie 11 import and export 1080i HD video? jasmine84 Digital Video 6 Jul 31, 2012 02:20 PM
iMovie '09, import and new project franium Digital Video 2 Feb 8, 2011 01:04 PM
iMovie Importing Problems - Help Me Please!!! mrpeepers Digital Video 0 Jan 5, 2008 01:04 PM
iMovie Importing Problems - Help Me Please!!! mrpeepers Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 5, 2008 12:56 PM
iPhoto Import Problem - edit: problem solved wagg34 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 5, 2008 12:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC