Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2011, 11:19 AM   #1
Casey McGee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Import Problem - iMovie Stops Importing at Break in 8mm/VHS Tape

Hello:

I am using iMovie 11 with a Grass Valley ADVC-300 to import old (20+ years in some cases) VHS and 8mm tapes - primarily old home movies. My problem is that whenever there is a break in the tape where the video signal ends (i.e the camera was stopped and recording started at a later point in the tape) iMovie loses the signal from the ACVC-300 and it stops importing.

The converter works very well for the tapes I have tried so far, but I would like to be able to import an entire tape without having to catch every break that occurs and avoid sitting at the computer while the tape is importing. I would like to be able to keep importing regardless of the breaks, and then edit these out as necessary when the entire tape is imported. I have no drop outs when a video signal is present.

FYI - I have iMovieHD and tried importing with it as well, with similar results. My mac is a Mac Pro (early 2008) with 8gb of RAM. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Casey McGee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 08:04 PM   #2
qimosabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Same situation

Its funny that this message was posted today as I am in exactly the same position. Grass Valley ADVC300 (Canopus) using iMovie 11. Same boat, break in tape causes iMovie to stop importing despite the tape continuing.

As a side note, I was using the same hardware (and the same VHS tape) on my Xeon 2.66 but using iMovie HD (v6) and was able to import the same tape in one pass 4.5 hours long. The downside to iMovie HD (and perhaps the newer versions is that the clips cuts at exactly 1 hour and starts a new clip.) I am now using my mac pro 2.8 and was hoping to leverage the processing power of 8 cores to stabilize and process the video. If I cant get the bug fixed using iMovie 11, I will using iMovie HD to do the import and the v11 to process it.
qimosabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 07:42 PM   #3
DaveFP56
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
A newb myself but............

You might need an external TBC
DaveFP56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 09:53 AM   #4
qimosabe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Solution

There is a dip switch underneath the avdc in group 1 at the bottom. Mine was set at PC. When I switched it to Unit, iMovie no longer stopped automatically when a break was sensed between recordings. I tested it with iMovie HD and iMovie 2011.

Also rebooting the advc after making the changes was necessary for the setting to take effect. Good luck.
qimosabe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing GB track into iMovie James Godfrey OS X 0 Feb 19, 2014 06:27 PM
iMovie import problem with old projects nlrela OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Nov 26, 2013 02:04 AM
Looking to import a ton of old 8mm tapes b166er Digital Video 26 Oct 29, 2013 04:43 PM
New to Mac, new iMac - trying to transfer VHS thru Hauppauge via iMovie Randomizer OS X 4 Dec 28, 2012 03:16 PM
Problem with importing video from Camera into Imovie...help please storypoint Digital Video 5 Aug 30, 2012 05:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC